Elite RC8Te

Reply

Old 12-10-2009, 10:59 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Default Elite RC8Te

Recently found out about these sweet motor mounts from Brandon at EliteRC. While checking out his site, I seen his mbx6t. I wanted to something similar, so after a few PMs with him I got started.

Here's my original layout, I started with a FT RC8t & a AE e-conversion. I didn't take a pic before tearing it down, so a pic of me SC8e will have to do, basically the same thing.



First thing I did was flip the diff around to check for clearence.



I tryed flipping the riser around too, but that ain't gonna work. So the diff riser & chassis needed clearencing. Unlike Brandon & some of you, I got no mill so I just used the trusty 'ol dremel & grinder.

First the riser.



Then the chassis.



That's done & the spur has all the clearence it needs.



Now, on to getting the motor mount in...............
Marley813 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 12:25 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Ok, got the motor mount on. I don't know why but I had to do some trimming on the CF diff plate. You can see her how the mount rises up.



Here you can see how much I needed to remove to get it to sit flat.



I seen Ryan Maifield's & his didn't need this done. Anyone else wiith a AE mount need to do this?

Got the Diff in & everything spins nice & freely.



Need to find something to make an ESC mount.........
Marley813 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 07:16 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marley813 View Post
Recently found out about these sweet motor mounts from Brandon at EliteRC. While checking out his site, I seen his mbx6t. I wanted to something similar, so after a few PMs with him I got started.

Here's my original layout, I started with a FT RC8t & a AE e-conversion. I didn't take a pic before tearing it down, so a pic of me SC8e will have to do, basically the same thing.



First thing I did was flip the diff around to check for clearence.



I tryed flipping the riser around too, but that ain't gonna work. So the diff riser & chassis needed clearencing. Unlike Brandon & some of you, I got no mill so I just used the trusty 'ol dremel & grinder.

First the riser.



Then the chassis.



That's done & the spur has all the clearence it needs.



Now, on to getting the motor mount in...............
Why did you grind the plate and chassis? Mine fits fine with the plate and elite mount???
trap121 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:00 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,163
Default

His diff is in backwards.
UK.hardcore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:15 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
gholt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 234
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

he is putting the motor to the front
gholt13 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 10:49 AM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Yes, thanks guys.

Got the ESC mount done this morning. Used an old axial ax10 battery tray. Cut it to size. Has some slots for a velcro strap to secure the MMM.



Off to get it all mounted.
Marley813 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 11:15 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
R-E-A-P-E-R-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,892
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

GOT RUST, You need some stainless steel screws bud
R-E-A-P-E-R- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 12:13 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,163
Default

Stainless blows.
UK.hardcore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 12:46 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Originally Posted by R-E-A-P-E-R- View Post
GOT RUST, You need some stainless steel screws bud
Have you seen my track?



It's the price you pay for living here.
Marley813 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:14 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
LunchboX3904's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Shoreline, WA
Posts: 927
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marley813 View Post
Have you seen my track?

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/9390/sandbox4007.jpg

It's the price you pay for living here.
that is GORGEOUS!!! right on the water.....wow. massive track too. it would take weeks for my 13.5 xxx-t to get around there where is that?
LunchboX3904 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:18 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LunchboX3904 View Post
that is GORGEOUS!!! right on the water.....wow. massive track too. it would take weeks for my 13.5 xxx-t to get around there where is that?
I agree, that track looks awesome. HUGE
trap121 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:44 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
R-E-A-P-E-R-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,892
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Wow, were is that man?
R-E-A-P-E-R- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:45 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (23)
 
mugen69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kaneohe, Hawaii
Posts: 219
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Must have some nice sights at the beach>>>
mugen69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 02:00 PM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Default

That track is part of a new offroad facility here in Hawaii called the sandbox.

www.sandboxhawaii.com

Last edited by Marley813; 12-11-2009 at 05:01 PM.
Marley813 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 03:07 PM
  #15  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

dam thats the biggest rc offroad track i ever seen ,i count image how many times u would have to fill your tank up , whats the runtime on a tank of fuel
on that track.
tc5 man is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service