Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
HoBao Hyper 9E thread >

HoBao Hyper 9E thread

HoBao Hyper 9E thread

Old 12-27-2010, 04:59 PM
  #3121  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Now the Hyper is almost ready to race I'm wondering?? Anyone run 3S
batteries in their Hyper??

Also if you are, are you running a 2S plus a 1S which is what I'd like to
try instead of a 3S...

This would be with a Tekin 1900 motor..

Thanks again guys...
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 05:27 PM
  #3122  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
fallguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have had a few 3S packs in mine with a MMM 2200kv... its not bad but i would think 4S would be better for outdoor... 3S would work well with a tight indoor track.
fallguy is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 06:04 PM
  #3123  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fallguy View Post
I have had a few 3S packs in mine with a MMM 2200kv... its not bad but i would think 4S would be better for outdoor... 3S would work well with a tight indoor track.

I'm thinking a 3S on the 702 indoor in vegas, very tight 60 X 80 track. I'm
wondering did you buy 3S's or take a 2S and add a 1S?? Which is what I'd
like to do...
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 06:25 PM
  #3124  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
fallguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

what kind of one cell are you going to add?
fallguy is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:21 PM
  #3125  
Tech Master
iTrader: (113)
 
balistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Littlerock Ca.
Posts: 1,852
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chuck 21 View Post
I'm thinking a 3S on the 702 indoor in vegas, very tight 60 X 80 track. I'm
wondering did you buy 3S's or take a 2S and add a 1S?? Which is what I'd
like to do...
I went to 702 one night and I would bet the hot setup would be a 550 SC combo on 2S, or even a Castle SCT system on 2S. The castle system would get it done for cheap, be light and have enough power for that track IMHO. then you could use the blue springs too.

The MMP would be a better ESC as the SCT has a weight limit of 6.5 lbs. I would think with a fan it will do.
balistic is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 08:07 PM
  #3126  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by balistic View Post
I went to 702 one night and I would bet the hot setup would be a 550 SC combo on 2S, or even a Castle SCT system on 2S. The castle system would get it done for cheap, be light and have enough power for that track IMHO. then you could use the blue springs too.

The MMP would be a better ESC as the SCT has a weight limit of 6.5 lbs. I would think with a fan it will do.
So if I'm following you I should use a 10th scale Tekin 4WD motor in my
Hyper with a 2S I run in my SCT's??? Sorry but I refuse to run anything
but Tekin since 1983...

I'm not following the fan thing though?
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 08:08 PM
  #3127  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fallguy View Post
what kind of one cell are you going to add?
I don't know, I'm just asking for advice...
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 08:18 PM
  #3128  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
fallguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chuck 21 View Post
So if I'm following you I should use a 10th scale Tekin 4WD motor in my
Hyper with a 2S I run in my SCT's??? Sorry but I refuse to run anything
but Tekin since 1983...

I'm not following the fan thing though?
if you have that 2s and the ESC and motor from your SCT why not try it? how much more does the 9e weight over your SCT?
fallguy is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:32 PM
  #3129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Havasu AZ
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fallguy View Post
if you have that 2s and the ESC and motor from your SCT why not try it? how much more does the 9e weight over your SCT?
My AE SC10 is pretty darn light & the 10.5 turn is pretty tiny...
Chuck 21 is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:13 AM
  #3130  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fallguy View Post
I have had a few 3S packs in mine with a MMM 2200kv... its not bad but i would think 4S would be better for outdoor... 3S would work well with a tight indoor track.
Your 9 felt Great that small time i did play with it, On 3S its fine on the infield but the straight is where it showed its weakness....Castle has boost/timing advance stuff now don't they ?



Originally Posted by Chuck 21 View Post
I'm thinking a 3S on the 702 indoor in vegas, very tight 60 X 80 track. I'm
wondering did you buy 3S's or take a 2S and add a 1S?? Which is what I'd
like to do...


that's a Really Bad idea, Cells condition themselves over time and the last thing you want to be doing is adding a Single Fresh cell to a used 2 cell.

Hobbyking packs are cheap enough to avoid this all together.
Integra is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:54 AM
  #3131  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Arigato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 'Vegas Baby!
Posts: 631
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Chuck, with the motor you're running, just get a couple of these:

http://www.promatchracing.com/proddetail.php?prod=3806

They're light, inexpensive and will easily last a 10min. main. Plus, since the company is located in Arizona, you'll probably get them very quickly.
Arigato is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:56 AM
  #3132  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I apologize in advance..... I am sure it is IN this thread...just too much to read right now...... quick question.

Hyper 9e .. whats the best combo for the Mamba Monster:

OCRC and Westcoast? (both socal indoor tracks for those that you don't know)

After doing "my" quick skimming reading, it seems 2650 + 3s battery.
and a 14/40 setup?

Yes?

Happy Holidays.
RCMits is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:59 AM
  #3133  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
HYPERBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lakewood,Ca
Posts: 1,014
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you are going to run indoor only

Get the MMP and use a Tekin 1700, this allows you to use sensor setup which is MUCH smoother.

Or run a MMM with a Tekin 1900



I have finished my Hyper 9E and should have a write up with some team tips this week!
HYPERBOY is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:16 AM
  #3134  
Tech Master
iTrader: (113)
 
balistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Littlerock Ca.
Posts: 1,852
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chuck 21 View Post
So if I'm following you I should use a 10th scale Tekin 4WD motor in my
Hyper with a 2S I run in my SCT's??? Sorry but I refuse to run anything
but Tekin since 1983...

I'm not following the fan thing though?
Sort of. The SCT system I mentioned is Castle Creations. So if your strictly Tekin then the 550 SC motor and an RX8, I don't know if the RS Pro could handle the load?

My point was bang for the buck by far the cheapest way to try it would be the Castle SCT system at 119.00. With a Tekin you are looking at 300+.

Then there is the situation with gearing, the Tekin SC motor being 5000Kv 2 pole it needs lower gearing than you can get on a hyper. The Castle SCT is a 3800 4 pole motor can be over geared with zero timing and would work in the 15 tooth pinion range.

Im not going to be there until the 18th of February to try it but that's what im bringing to try out.
balistic is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:20 AM
  #3135  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HYPERBOY View Post
If you are going to run indoor only
Get the MMP and use a Tekin 1700, this allows you to use sensor setup which is MUCH smoother.
Or run a MMM with a Tekin 1900
I have finished my Hyper 9E and should have a write up with some team tips this week!
MMP? really?

I shall check out the MMM+1900 suggestion.
RCMits is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.