Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? >

Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad?

Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad?

Reply

Old 09-09-2008, 12:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (249)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,516
Trader Rating: 249 (100%+)
Default Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad?

I am thinking of trying the Tekin Series of Sensored ESCs and motors, probably the cheaper RS version instead of the pro in a stadium truck. Anyone can provide the following info?

- What is the difference betweenthe RS and RS Pro?
- How does Tekin's motor compare to say novak motors?
- Is the sensor wire attached to the motor or removable?
- Is the sensor wire removable from the ESC?
- Can you custom program the ESC with a PC and is the software needed to do this included? if not, how much for it?

Thanks.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:04 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (110)
 
tschenck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wolcott, CT
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)
Default

I just got an rs esc but haven't run it yet.
The sensor wire is removable.
You can do a lot of adjustments on the esc its self but if you want custom setting you need a hotwire (about $30-$35)
The rs has a 5turn brushless limit the rs pro has no turn limit.
The rs pro a little thicker but the footprint is the same.
tschenck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:09 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 219
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I just ordered my RS so my statements are based purely off specs noted on the Tekin web sit.

The RS has a motor limit wheras the RS PRO does not. Resistance is lower on the PRO.

The sensor wire may or may not be wired to the motor - it depends on the motor. The LPR and Losi motors have a removable wire, Novak is hard wired. The sensor wire is removable from the ESC.

One of the features I liked about the RS is that it is programmable from a PC (with the required interface). The Losi Excelorin is also programmable from a PC, but its physical dimensions eliminate it from consideration (won't fit in my RB5).

One thing I don't like about the RS is that the +/- leads are next to each other. I'm probably too paranoid, but I'd like a bit more space between the battery connectors.
bprocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Does the Tekin software (PC) support 64-bit operating systems (OS), like say Windows XP Pro 64-Bit Edition?

The only let down with Castle's software was that their driver doesn't support 64-Bit OS. I had to setup my software on my brother's machine to adjust my ESC. Well, since I'm not adjusting it everyday, it's not that biggie, but would be nice to be able to mess around with it on my machine so I don't have to bother other people for their 32-bit machines...
tom_chang79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 219
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

A bit off topic, but you might try a 32-bit virtual machine like Microsoft's virtual PC.
bprocket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 02:15 PM
  #6  
mo
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,362
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The hotwire software is not currently 64bit compatible but they are working on a 64bit version.
mo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 02:44 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
biggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i just ran my RS pro's this weekend for the first time after updated and tweaking the speeder with the hotwire this little unit makes this speed controller far better than any other not that it isnt great without it but the ability to change timing wow what a difference plus the redline motors are super i was running a 7.5 in my 2wd buggy great motor
biggins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 04:44 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
scrubnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: AJ, AZ
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have an R1 in my truck and an RS in my buggy. I just ran the buggy this past weekend with a Speedpassion 17.5. It was real good, no complaints. My friend had a laptop with the hotwire, and we made some adjustments with it and upped the timing. The truck usually gets a 10.5 or a mild modified and as long as I'm not overgeared, it's fine. With the R1 Pro, I can run more motor than anyone needs and not have a problem. The Redline sensorless motors are very nice and you won't notice any problem with them in offroad, even on starts. I have no direct experience with their sensored motors, however.
scrubnick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 10:17 AM
  #9  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,771
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Here's my 4wd 6.5 setup:
Attached Thumbnails Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad?-randys4wdrssetup.jpg  
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 10:17 AM
  #10  
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,462
Default

Originally Posted by bprocket View Post
One thing I don't like about the RS is that the +/- leads are next to each other. I'm probably too paranoid, but I'd like a bit more space between the battery connectors.
Having those two posts next to each other is no less dangerous than have the three phase posts next to each other, or next to the battery posts, or in between the phase posts. If any of them short together, boom. Doesn't really matter which two either, it will cause a fatality. Besides, we're talking traces within the width of a hair close on the board with the same power running through them.
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 11:11 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 259
Default

80 timing ?!
I don't know what unit is used here but if it equivalent to "brushed" timing, it's an absolutly massive amount of timing
Mister-T is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 11:30 AM
  #12  
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,462
Default

Originally Posted by Mister-T View Post
80 timing ?!
I don't know what unit is used here but if it equivalent to "brushed" timing, it's an absolutly massive amount of timing
It's 80 on our 0-100 scale (0-30*.) So it's about 24*
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:01 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
tdeal823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North West, Ohio
Posts: 951
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to hijack the thread but where can I find the RS PRO?
I still don't have one.
I have the R1 but i am looking to get the sensored stuff and start getting rid of my mamba stuff and R1's

Thanks for any help
Tony
tdeal823 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 08:21 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tdeal823 View Post
Sorry to hijack the thread but where can I find the RS PRO?
I still don't have one.
I have the R1 but i am looking to get the sensored stuff and start getting rid of my mamba stuff and R1's

Thanks for any help
Tony
Getting rid of the Mambas? You must be running at a track that adheres to a "sensored-only" rule?


Back to the subject. I can't find these ESCs! They seem to be back ordered everywhere!

Cain, did you ever buy the Tekin? If so, which one did you settle on?
tom_chang79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 09:32 AM
  #15  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (249)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,516
Trader Rating: 249 (100%+)
Default

Nope I haven't . Still checking a few things out before I decide what to go with.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service