Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie-Suspension Setup Questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2008, 12:20 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Newbie-Suspension Setup Questions

I have a Losi XXX BK2. I have been racing for a couple of months, but I can't seem to get it to "settle down" in the rough straightaways. It feels "bouncy" or "springy"...I am used to racing motorcycles and it seems like the suspension is amplifying the bumps instead of soaking them up!! Any suggestions would be helpful!! OH, by the way, 27.5 oil front and rear, orange and red springs with red pistons.
Old 05-18-2008, 01:37 PM
Tech Regular

Wink springs

hmmm sounds like it needs a rebuild ,might not have enough fluids in the shocks ,try that or go to a heavier shock fluid 35 wt front and rear ,you can also check out losi site for more set-up help,hope this will help you get better results with your buggy
Old 05-18-2008, 02:21 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Thanks...I have rebuilt my shocks recently...but I had been thinking about going up in shock oil weight. It does go against what everyone else seems to be using, but I watch theirs go down the straightaways and only dream I can get mine to handle like that. Yesterday it was bouncing so bad, at one point it bounced and turned about 45 degrees and I almost went off the track!!!
Old 05-18-2008, 04:41 PM
Tech Champion

What about your tires? Are they running true and reasonably balanced? Maybe one of the guys who are zipping down the straight smoothly would let you try a set for a few hot laps in practice to be sure. Do your shocks travel smoothly all the way? They need to be bled correctly, perhaps ask one of your fast guys to check them.
Old 05-18-2008, 06:42 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)