R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2006, 04:34 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to teleb4pa
Default is spektrum all that.....really?

hey guys i have a 2pl just to upgrade form my crap
radio in my mf2, but it still glitches
spektrum sais there radios dont glitch
and the motor dosent studder wen accelerating
is that true?
teleb4pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 04:39 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Many other things contribute to glitching....


But is spektrum "All That"?.. yes.
FlyByWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 04:48 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: midland,michigan
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I use a JR Z1 radio with a spektrum system and yeah I have to say that the system totally rocks.

No more clips and waiting to practice
Tune on your stuff in pits when races are going on
Never have to worry about someone else on your channel
Spektrum stands behind their stuff and tech support is great

Spektrum is the best investment by far to a racer or basher. The next I think would have to be a personal transponder.

Just my .02
cwalters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 04:58 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Bermbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal...OC
Posts: 1,866
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I agree. Practicing with no wait and being able to work on the vehicle in the pit is priceless. If you race micros the 3500rx is insanely tiny and Spektrum just released a new line of TXs the dx2.0 and dx3.0. They are on the JR XS platform. I have a JR R1 w a pro module and I just picked up the new 3.0.
The only issue I had w my Spektrum was it does not work with Automatic set up ESCs (LRP Runner)
Bermbuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 05:57 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Nitroaddicts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

True, just the idea of not worring with channels is worth it.
__________________
www.NITROADDICTS.com
Get Free T-Shirts with Nitro Points!
-------------------------------------
Need Track TShirts?
http://www.facebook.com/AmericanGFX
Nitroaddicts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 06:15 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well I went to a big race and it was only my third outing with my car so I was ready for a full two days of fun racing.By the time my second qualifier came around I started having radio problems which made it impossible to drive my car.Third qualifier the same and in my E-main the same so all I got to do was pay 40$ and sit on my ass for 2 days without being able to run.At that point I said to myself I will not run again until I have that spectrum unit on my radio.For 150 I am at total peace of mind now knowing that it will never be an issue again for me so yes it is so well worth it.You can run your car to pre warm up your motor before your race as my Vspec needs that.TOTAL PEACE OF MIND
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 06:17 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Sofast-NT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 462
Default

I would say its definitely worth it. Its a lot less to worry about, and it has a built in fail-safe, in case something does go wrong.
Sofast-NT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 06:36 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 736
Send a message via MSN to RussB
Default

yes, it's worth it. i don't even run motor caps anymore.
RussB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 07:32 PM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to teleb4pa
Default

thanks fellas i think ill purchase spektrum
im tired of glitchin
teleb4pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 08:15 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking sensor

i use the nomadio sensor and i have never had an issue with glitching etc.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 11:21 PM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
RAZ49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 42
Default

It is worth every penny. It's the best money I've spent on this hobby. Never a single glitch and range like you won't believe, if you can see it, you can control it and NO xtals to change!
RAZ49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 07:58 AM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 86
Default

The two best R/C products I ever bought in the last 13 years:

Airtonics M8
Spektrum
PT
jjkahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 10:59 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

I actually went back to my regular module for my 3pk. Granted I had a first generation Spectum but i would ose signal at lest 10 times per tank in my truggy. The driver stand is built on top of a storage containerand i when i would walk behind it to go up the ramp i had nothing! Just look at the mains sheets the next time you go to a big race. The higher the main the fewer spectrums! BY the way since i went back no problems and i dont have to wait for practice either, there are always a lot of frequencies open!
__________________
FT B44 - FT J82
LRP TC SPHERE - Futaba Fasst
Orion Lipo & Vortex motors
" Go that way really fast, if something gets in your way, turn"
tcmerf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 01:40 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I've run at that track (ARC) a few times with my "old school" Spektrum (first batch) and I've never had that problem once...it is a long blind walk around the back for sure, but I can always hear my car and I've never lost signal.

9.832 times out of 10 if you "lose signal" on a Spektrum, it's the failsafe kicking in because of battery voltage. Loose connectors, corrosion, bad cell in the pack...anything that will drop the voltage will cause it.

I love mine and I'll never go back to crystals...ever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcmerf
I actually went back to my regular module for my 3pk. Granted I had a first generation Spectum but i would ose signal at lest 10 times per tank in my truggy. The driver stand is built on top of a storage containerand i when i would walk behind it to go up the ramp i had nothing! Just look at the mains sheets the next time you go to a big race. The higher the main the fewer spectrums! BY the way since i went back no problems and i dont have to wait for practice either, there are always a lot of frequencies open!
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 03:40 PM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I mainly race electric indoor offroad racing, and for the longest time I thought that I had plenty of channels and didn't need a spektrum type system. Until a novice drive decided to turn his radio on and put my car straight into the wall (not on purpose) breaking the chassis. It is quite an investment, especially if you have multiple cars, but I believe it is worth it. Just as the previous post suggests, you need correct voltage going to the reiciever along with good connections in order to keep the reciever from going into failsafe mode.

There has been plenty of heat saying that the DSSS spektrum system is not as good as the newer FHDSS systems comming out, but I honestly have been to some big national events and my system has not slowed down because of many spektrum systems chewing up the bandwith.

I think you will see more pros start to use this technology as soon as the radio companys that sponsor them come out with the technology.

-Scott
iiweeldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 3PKS - Lipo Tx Pack - Spektrum Module - Spektrum Micro Pro Reciever - Case racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-20-2008 09:42 AM
HUGE SALE TONS TC5, Novak Speak Spektrum GTB 13.5, Spektrum Pro, AMB Transponder + mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-08-2008 03:11 PM
Electronics For Sale: M11/Spektrum, Spektrum Micro RX, Futaba Synth etc. johnnyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-30-2007 08:17 AM
swap ko propo helios radio with spektrum pro for 3pk super with spektrum pro willabong Australia Wanted to Buy 0 04-01-2007 05:39 AM
Spektrum receiver...Spektrum 590 Servo...PCR Temp gun...CRT Roto start... SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-22-2006 09:18 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net