R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2006, 06:52 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default Tekin

Over the summer I purchased three G11 Pro's for all my cars because they are the best built speed controls on the market IMO. When I bought my first one Tekin said that there was no need for a capacitor because their speed controls could handle the low turn mods. Well after a couple blow ups from other G11 owners they realized they had a problem and admitted it on their website and advised current owners on what they should do until they come out with their own capacitor.

They since have released a cap for their speed controls and include them now with the G11 speed controls. Since I bought my speed controls before this all went down I didn't have get any caps. I asked what I needed to do to get caps for my speedos and they got my mail address and sent me 3 caps free of charge. They also sent me a bunch of extra stickers and a really nice team hat.

This is the kind of things that really make customers happy. They went out and admitted there was a flaw with their product and they went above and beyond what they needed to do to fix it and keep this customer satisfied.
Brad_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 07:08 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 76
Default

Jim and all the folks at Tekin are a class act. It doesn't surprise me they did all that for ya. It's people and companies like Tekin that make R/C's worth while.

Kevin
KevinL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 07:27 PM   #3
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,542
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Tekin's customer service is first rate. I still remember when I had purchased a used G-10 from them and got the newer style one with the 4 wire setup. I wanted soldering posts, and to give me that (as they didn't have anymore of the g-10) they sent me out a G-10 Pro + !

Simply the best. If I do electric again, tekin all the way.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:32 PM   #4
Team Tekin
 
Randy Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Folsom,Ca
Posts: 247
Default

That's what Tekin is all about. Glad to hear that you're happy with the product. The "flaw" was more or less the recent increase of power the new cells are producing. That coupled with a low turn mod, the G11's ability to give you every last drop of juice simply got the unit on the edge. At the onroad nats LRP's, Novaks, and Keyence's were all having heat issues. That place sounded like a bee hive with all the fans!
Randy Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 12:45 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

We work really hard on trying to do the right thing for all old and new Tekin customers. I am glad everything worked for you.

Scooter
Team Tekin
Scooter Tekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 04:29 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking

i just purchased a g11 pro from aus and it didnt have a cap with it.bummer.

i am having trouble setting any brakes on it.
i run gp3700,nomadio sensor and checkpoint 9x1 in my RC10 T2
i have followed the instructions as to basic set up but there are no brakes.the led goes to the brake on the speedy but the brakes arent coming on.

any ideas?i might go and ask at the tekin forums
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 11:20 AM   #7
Team Tekin
 
Randy Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Folsom,Ca
Posts: 247
Default

Ok, I have an idea that we ran into on another radio setup. I believe that the Nomadio is 2.4ghz right? We ran into an issue with the HRS Futaba radio where it was pulsing the input signal fast enough to soften the brake feel. He switched over to normal PCM function and his problem was fixed. Since I don't know enough about the Nomadio maybe this "idea" will help.

If you would like the Cap I would contact Tekin directly and see if they could "help you out." I didn't look at where you are at but if you are near me I'd be more then happy to send or give you one in person.

I'm sure you've checked the normal radio esc issues from the sound of it. Do you have simply NO brakes at all or are they weak?
Randy Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 12:29 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

im in australia,

i did have my old novak hammer pro in there that ran fine.it didnt have the punch that the tekin delivers.the G11 has made it like a whole new beast.
it quite possible could be a setting on the radio that i have overlooked.on my next days off i will try a few different things with it.

it has no brakes at all.
im not sure if i can switch to "pcm" with the nomadio but i will definitely look into it.

thanks Dallas.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:55 PM   #9
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

I am waiting on some info from Nomadio, but here is what we know.

First when calibrating if you do not give a reverse/brake throttle it will disable the brakes. So when radio calibrating make sure you hold the full throttle for 1 sec and then hold the full brake for 1 sec then release to neutral.

There are 2 frame rates on the nomadio, 50hz and 100hz. The faster rate may make the brakes seem weak, but not completely gone... and Yes the HRS systems are such a fast frame rate that the brakes will be weak, but will not effect the drive.

These ultra fast frame rates are catching lots of products by surprise... lack of cooperation and communication in the industry which we are trying to reduce. Analog servos will struggle as well.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 03:07 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise Id
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey jim do you have a brushless system for my 1/8 scale buggy yet?
nascarracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 08:40 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking

thanks for the info.ill have a look to see if i can slow it to the slower frame rate.
can the tekin caps be purchased from the tekin site or should i wait for the deadly new website to be up and running.

do the G11 still have the open bottom on the cases?

as for the servo, i used to run an am stick radio and my servo is a standard futaba.just by using the nomadio sped the servo up more than i could have imagine.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 12:41 AM   #12
Team Tekin
 
Randy Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Folsom,Ca
Posts: 247
Default

Yes you can get the caps on Tekin's site. I would highly recomend it for high capacity batteries and most mod motors. Yes the G11 is still open on the bottom. I've yet to see this actually cause an issue except in Europe where they run in the rain!
Randy Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 02:14 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

yea, i dont run in the rain at all.i was just curious.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 10:27 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking fast

as i posted on the Tekin forums,i have tried changing the endpoints and resetting the speedy but sill cant get brakes.

i have no idea on how to change from 100hz to 50hz or if it can be done,but i will scroll through the instructions to see if it is possible.

im sure there will be an easy way out,i hope so because i plan to power my other cars with the G11 as well.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 10:06 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default bummer

i tried running the same system but using an older Am radio and still no brakes.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net