• 2 Post By urnotevenwrg2
  • 1 Post By rcbuggy88

TLR 2wd Spec buggy, which one

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2018, 06:57 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default TLR 2wd Spec buggy, which one

I have bought a tlr 22 4.0 and a 22 4.0 SR roller. I know the SR was built lighter and no slipper but I see guys shedding weight on the non SR to run 17.5. Which is better, I’ll be running on indoor clay.

Thanks.
Old 07-21-2018, 07:29 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

Take this with a grain of salt as I have limited Clay track experience because I’m just getting back into racing. My son has a 22 3.0 SR that is very close to minimum weight out of the box and that is with a relatively heavy ESC. His car compared to my B6 with the same motor definitely accelerates better off the corners. At the track I race at some are going back to running a slipper on their cars because I’ve been told that with the LiHV batteries and newest generation motors it is becoming needed to reduce wheel spin. This info was from one of the fastest racers at the track. If it were me I’d get the SR and add a slipper set up to it.
Hundo likes this.
Old 07-21-2018, 08:10 AM
Tech Adept

Thanks For your input. I have both right now, was going to sell the SR roller but having a lighter car and being able to place weight where needed makes sense. That’s what I do with the slot cars I race. The non SR I bought from a guy who had a shop put it together RTR and never raced it 😳
Old 07-21-2018, 09:52 AM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

You have to be an incredibly good driver for the small gains of the SR to translate into better race results.

Equally, the lighter weight stuff on the SR is much less durable than the stuff in the standard 4.0, which means a very inexperienced racer will break a lot stuff on the SR.