Unregulated 7955, 7965?

Reply

Old 07-06-2009, 11:24 AM
  #1  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default Unregulated 7955, 7965?

Is it ok to run a 7955 and 7965 servo unregulated with a 7.4 volt lipo? I dont want to void any warranty or cause the servos to fail prematurely.

Thanks,

Frank
Frank L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 11:42 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tallahassee, FL
Posts: 695
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

i know the 7955 servo will run unregulated and i have heard that all the 79 servos can be run unregulated but im not too sure.
slayyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:16 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Billy T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As of right now the only servo we have on the market capable of high voltage is the HS-7955TG. Not all of the 7xxx series can run high voltage. Soon the 7940, 7950, 7954 will be out, and that will complete our high voltage line-up. You can find the specs for these servos at: www.hitecrcd.com
Billy T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 02:57 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
ABN Hoosier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,004
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Billy,

First off I would like to say that seriously Hitec has been the best company I have dealt with in all of the many distributors in the RC industry. Undoubtedly the best Customer Service on the planet.

Here is my question. Are you saying we are good to go running an unregulated lipo @ 7.4VDC through a 7955 servo? I am not trying to be a crap-house lawyer here, but the 7955 description doesnt mention anything about " 7.4v optimized coreless motor" like the 7950 does. It just mentions the standard 4.8v/6v ratings on the 7955. As a bonus, could you give the specs of the 7955 @ 7.4VDC?

Please clarify

Thanks,

-Hoosier
ABN Hoosier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 07:13 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Billy T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hello Hoosier,
The 7955TG has been through extensive testing and is more than capable of handling 2 cell lipo unregulated. The specs at 7.4v are as follows:
torque= 383oz/in
speed= [email protected]
Billy T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 02:53 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
ABN Hoosier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,004
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Talking

Billy,

thanks a lot

-Hoosier
ABN Hoosier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:02 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
Bruce53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default AMB PT

anyone know if it is ok to run the AMB PT with the 7955`s unregulated on a 2 cell lipo ?

Thanks
Bruce
Bruce53 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:08 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (170)
 
pink_sleeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Planet Melmac
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 170 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bruce53 View Post
anyone know if it is ok to run the AMB PT with the 7955`s unregulated on a 2 cell lipo ?

Thanks
Bruce
I've ran 7955's in my D8 for along time now along with my transponder and never had any problems I run Hitec in everything i have
pink_sleeve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:38 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Billy T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have been running my PT with High vollatge set-up for over a year now, no issues.
Billy T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:05 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
ABN Hoosier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,004
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Only thing left for me to worry about running straight Lipo is my receiver. Anyone know if a Futaba FASST RX is good for 2S Lipo unregulated?
ABN Hoosier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:24 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Billy T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Might need to contact Futaba on this one. I had heard that they want you to regulate a 5 cell NiMH battery to 5.8v. But i would check with them to make sure.
Billy T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:22 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ABN Hoosier View Post
Only thing left for me to worry about running straight Lipo is my receiver. Anyone know if a Futaba FASST RX is good for 2S Lipo unregulated?
I've been told FASST is good to 7volts max.. Above that point they start frying. Yet another reason I am considering switching to Spektrum.. Cheaper and more durable receivers, and radios at less money too.. Futaba makes great products, but they aren't the only game in town, and I'm not sure they are even the best in anymore.
ScottyM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 07:33 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Billy T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info on that Scotty, i wasn't too sure.
Billy T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 08:44 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (91)
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default

How about the 7965? Can it be run unregulated too?
Garet Jax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:00 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Garet Jax View Post
How about the 7965? Can it be run unregulated too?
Originally Posted by Billy T. View Post
As of right now the only servo we have on the market capable of high voltage is the HS-7955TG. Not all of the 7xxx series can run high voltage. Soon the 7940, 7950, 7954 will be out, and that will complete our high voltage line-up. You can find the specs for these servos at: www.hitecrcd.com

.
l3asher is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service