servo twitching

Old 10-11-2008, 09:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
omarwashington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kenmore, WA
Posts: 1,102
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default servo twitching

The servo I have is the HSC-5996tg, I use it for the throttle/break for my buggy. It only does this when the servo gets hot for for some reason. The Rx/Tx is the Dxr3. My battery is a 6.0 volt 1600maH.
omarwashington is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 08:13 AM
  #2  
Company Representative
 
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, Ca
Posts: 441
Default

Any voltage regulators being used on the battery? How hot is the servo getting?
BRENDAN LUGO is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:00 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
omarwashington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kenmore, WA
Posts: 1,102
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This is the servo Iím using which is being used for the throttle/brake. Iíve used it for about a couple months now and it recently started to twitch sporadically. I know itís the servo, Iíve tested my Rx and battery. Anyway, it seems to do this usually after one or two tanks through which makes me think itís the heat from the engine(temps for this servo were about 100 degrees) Iíve taken the whole radio/servo tray out to try to isolate the problem even more. Even tried to heat the servo again, however when doing it this way, the servo works fine. This is just annoying me and causing me a head ach.
What could be the problem?

1/8 buggy xray808
dx3r dsm2

6v 1600maH orion battery

http://www.rctech.net/forum/rookie-z...o-problem.html

ps, I don't use a regulator but I do have one.
omarwashington is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 08:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (23)
 
sickjamminracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BEAVER FALLS,PA
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

send it into hitec they will fix it a+++++++ for hitec i might have problems with there servos but they always fix em
sickjamminracer is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 08:31 AM
  #5  
Company Representative
 
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, Ca
Posts: 441
Default

If the servo does not act up when it is outside of the vehicle, that points to a couple of things. Either it is heat related from an outside source (engine) or the more likely cause would be from the end points or linkage not being set properly which is putting more of a load on the servo and causing it to act up once it causes the circuit to heat up. Thrpple check those end points and the linkage. Also are you using an ABS brake function in the radio?
BRENDAN LUGO is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.