Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > Company/Manufacturer Forums > Ask Hitec
servos without running a regulator >

servos without running a regulator

servos without running a regulator

Reply

Old 03-03-2008, 07:18 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
dgraham225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default servos without running a regulator

hey,

just wondering at what voltage the hitec servos are capable of running up to.. i know theyre rated at 6.0v, but ive heard that they will still hold up fine running lipo rx packs without a voltage regulator... thanks for the help!
dgraham225 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 10:13 AM
  #2  
Company Representative
 
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, Ca
Posts: 441
Default

Running the servos on a higher voltage above the 6 volt rating will decrease the life of the servo. Hitec recomends you use a regulator when using lipo's as a receiver pack.
BRENDAN LUGO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 05:56 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
dgraham225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

ok, well what about the robot servos? have you heard anything about how they hold up to use in RC? im tired of having all that BS wiring in my radio tray, im trying to get rid of that regulator!
dgraham225 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:34 AM
  #4  
Company Representative
 
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, Ca
Posts: 441
Default

The robot servos are not for R/C applications. They do not use the same pulse width as the R/C servos so they will not work properly with the rest of your equipment.

If you want to run a lipo then you need a regulator unless you want to replace the servos at a faster rate when they burn out.
BRENDAN LUGO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 06:39 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
dgraham225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

ok, well heres the biggest question of them all... does hitec plan to make any RC oriented servos that are RATED for 7.2v+??? someone has to come out with one sooner or later...
dgraham225 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 09:08 AM
  #6  
Company Representative
 
BRENDAN LUGO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poway, Ca
Posts: 441
Default

I would think that with the way the industry is going that eventually there will be servos that have a 7+ volt rating to them. When this will happen is harder to say.
BRENDAN LUGO is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service