R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2009, 10:05 PM   #361
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 148
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

No. The esc is brand new, just got it from Stormer.
jawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:11 PM   #362
Tech Elite
 
RCBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 2,079
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Without a hotwire, I don't know of any way to tell what version it has. However, since you just got it from Stormer, I'd assume that it is current. When it has that delay has you truck rolled backwards?
__________________
Don't sweat the petty things...........Pet the sweaty things!!

Serpent America
Lunsford Racing
RCBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 04:40 AM   #363
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 148
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I am not sure. I use it on a pan car in fwd/brk mode. When it takes some delay to start, I noticed that it may move slightly backwards begore going forward.
jawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 09:43 AM   #364
Tech Elite
 
RCBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 2,079
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

A slight backwards roll should not cause too much or any delay. Instead of using hall sensors for rotor positioning, the rotor position is sensed through the main motor wires. That's why a reverse rotation can cause a small delay.
__________________
Don't sweat the petty things...........Pet the sweaty things!!

Serpent America
Lunsford Racing
RCBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 11:49 AM   #365
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jawa View Post
I bought a R1 pro esc + 362 (6200KV) motor combo. It works well, however, I noticed that sometimes, it takes a couple of seconds for the motor to start. What is the pb and how can I improve it?
I have the same motor but with the RS. Play with neutral width once you get a Hotwire thats what Randy advised and it did help. However I put in a sensored 13.5 and all my problems went away.
jjdoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 07:09 AM   #366
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Oldie....

Ok... here's one for the techies...

Don't laugh.... its old but its good

I bought a new Tekin P12C from one of the local hobby shops that had it lying in the warehouse as 'new old' stock. Got home, wired it up and set the throttle up.... So far so good.... then the problem showed up. On full throttle, the motor runs smooth and even. but on light part throttle the motor stutters like the brakes are getting pulsed on.

I adjusted my throttle EPA back to 100% forward and brake (was on 150%) and gave it another try. The pulsing/stutter is still there, but it occupies a larger part of the trigger movement (now approx 60% of the total movement from neutral; used to be less at 150% EPA).

I thought it might have been the TX/RX combination, so I swapped out the DX3R to a JR R1 w/Spektrum module... Still the same.... Swapped and tried 3 different motors from 27Tstocks to 11x3s. Still the same...

Anyone have any clue as to what is happening? I've been racking my brains and can't seem to figure it out...

Thanks!
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:51 AM   #367
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Im guessing you got the manual with it, if not you can download it here...

http://www.teamtekin.com/Manuals/P12...G12cIII,G9.pdf

It sounds like it might be a motor capacitor issue, but is only a guess. The manual suggests keeping the wires as short as possible too if thats any help?
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:56 AM   #368
Tech Elite
 
RCBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 2,079
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Ya I would also try to use the older seperate capacitiors on the motor. There should have been some in the package.
__________________
Don't sweat the petty things...........Pet the sweaty things!!

Serpent America
Lunsford Racing
RCBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:11 AM   #369
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thanks... I've tried different caps on a few different motors, but still no good. Total length of the wires are about 4 inches on each post on the ESC. Ill go change some capacitors over this weekend, and will let you guys know what happens.
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 05:05 AM   #370
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrxs-r View Post
Thanks... I've tried different caps on a few different motors, but still no good. Total length of the wires are about 4 inches on each post on the ESC. Ill go change some capacitors over this weekend, and will let you guys know what happens.

Hi, how did things go after the changes?
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 05:43 AM   #371
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just a thought but you could try setting your epa to 60% on the radio then re-program the esc... then up your EPA to 100%. see if that makes a difference.
Sabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:03 AM   #372
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Tried different caps, external caps, 4 motors, and a whole other bunch of stuff... but no changes to the stuttering on low-mid throttle. I'll try the EPA on the radio this weekend...

I might also try another radio as I have heard rumours that the DX3Rs are not compatible with some ESCs... I'll see if I can dig out my old crystal radio sets and give them a try too...

Just about to give up...
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 07:04 AM   #373
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrxs-r View Post
Tried different caps, external caps, 4 motors, and a whole other bunch of stuff... but no changes to the stuttering on low-mid throttle. I'll try the EPA on the radio this weekend...

I might also try another radio as I have heard rumours that the DX3Rs are not compatible with some ESCs... I'll see if I can dig out my old crystal radio sets and give them a try too...

Just about to give up...
I think you may find that the signal coming from your DX3R is just too fast for this venerable old esc...... on another thought, have you also tried a Schottky Diode too?
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 08:28 AM   #374
Tech Fanatic
 
jrxs-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
I think you may find that the signal coming from your DX3R is just too fast for this venerable old esc...... on another thought, have you also tried a Schottky Diode too?
Yep... tried 3 different diodes...
__________________
Cheers,
Zack
___________________________________________________________________________
Proudly Sponsored by Stanbridges Hobbies
Serpent S411
jrxs-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:43 AM   #375
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,354
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

On the DX3r you can turn down the radio's transmission frame rate. That's probably not the right name for the term but look through the manual.

If it's offering up a signal pulse too fast for the older esc the esc most likely will try to make the best of things and average. That will cause roughness and inconsistencies.
__________________
Something about winning attracts losers with opinions......

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,KoPropUSA,JConcepts,Avid RC,MIP,SikLidz,ImagineItGraphx, FactoryRC, B-fast, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Tekin New Speedos Drew_Cat Radio and Electronics 1521 10-06-2012 12:35 AM
////TEAM TEKIN FX PRO BRAND NEW///////// Warren Weaver R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 06-22-2009 08:21 AM
Team Tekin G11 Pro ESC azgreg R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-25-2008 07:12 PM
Factory team T4, Team Tekin new G-10 pro speedo icemandolmite R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-11-2007 05:26 PM
Team Tekin G11 Pro's DustinR R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-17-2007 07:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0