Wiki Posts
Search

Using comm cutter

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2005, 04:00 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Using comm cutter

I am new to rc car racing and I just bought a comm cutter. I understand the jist of it. The only thing I have questions on is how many volts do you suggest I run to the motor turning the armature. Also what does zapping the engine mean? Finally how do I break the engine in with new brushes?
Thanks!
Old 11-26-2005, 04:23 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)

i usally cut a comm at 2.5 volts, In my poinion any faster and copper flakes end up every where

zapping the can is remagnetizing the can, at times giving more power. poor analogy, it's like recharging the magnet power which you might have lost over time.

breaking in motors... everyone has a different way so get ready to take notes. I use a fan a 2volts for about 2 min after that i relube and race

good luck with the cutter
Old 11-26-2005, 04:28 PM
Tech Adept

what exactly do you mean use a fan?
do you mean hook a prop to the end and run it or what?
Old 11-26-2005, 04:32 PM
Tech Elite

exactally it a little plactic fan (like a prop) pushed on the armature. when the motor is running it adds a little resistance and cools the motor at the same time
Old 11-26-2005, 04:33 PM
Tech Adept

Okay, this is what I imagined. It's similar to breaking in a nitro on a bench.

Thanks,
Mike
Old 11-26-2005, 05:27 PM
Tech Adept

i personally don't use a fan, especially during the first minute or so. too much arching.
Old 11-26-2005, 06:40 PM
Tech Addict

After cutting the comm i like to clean the slots with an exacto knife to get any copper cuttings out. Then i take a ball point pen and run it along or in the slots to help round out the slots.