R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2005, 05:00 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
miniczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Using comm cutter

I am new to rc car racing and I just bought a comm cutter. I understand the jist of it. The only thing I have questions on is how many volts do you suggest I run to the motor turning the armature. Also what does zapping the engine mean? Finally how do I break the engine in with new brushes?
Thanks!
miniczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 05:23 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

i usally cut a comm at 2.5 volts, In my poinion any faster and copper flakes end up every where

zapping the can is remagnetizing the can, at times giving more power. poor analogy, it's like recharging the magnet power which you might have lost over time.


breaking in motors... everyone has a different way so get ready to take notes. I use a fan a 2volts for about 2 min after that i relube and race

good luck with the cutter
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 05:28 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 212
Default

what exactly do you mean use a fan?
do you mean hook a prop to the end and run it or what?
MikeWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 05:32 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

exactally it a little plactic fan (like a prop) pushed on the armature. when the motor is running it adds a little resistance and cools the motor at the same time
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 05:33 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 212
Default

Okay, this is what I imagined. It's similar to breaking in a nitro on a bench.

Thanks,
Mike
MikeWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 06:27 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 230
Default

i personally don't use a fan, especially during the first minute or so. too much arching.
Dodgersfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 07:40 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

After cutting the comm i like to clean the slots with an exacto knife to get any copper cuttings out. Then i take a ball point pen and run it along or in the slots to help round out the slots.
What motor are you going to be breaking in anyways? I usually break my motors in at 2.0 volts for about 5 minutes. That with a fan on. I also lube the bushings before i break it in and about half way i put a little more lube. Some guys at my track break in their 19T motors with silver brushes at 1 volt for about 10 minutes.
You want to break in the motor enough to set the brushes in place and get rid of minimal arching. People have many different ways on how they do things, which means you will get different replies.
I hope this helps you out. Good luck racing.

Chris
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 08:42 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
miniczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am doing this on a 19t motor. That makes sense with the fan. So you guys normally build a stand to break in the engine then? Now that I know what zapping means, how do you do it? Thanks for all your guys help. I appreciate it. And Alberto, the comm cutter is working great so far! Took me awhile to get used to it, but it is awesome!
miniczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:05 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

in order to zap the motor (not engine), you gotta have a magnet zapper. what it does is it zaps the magnet with a high voltage to recharge the magnetic field. the stronger the magnet, the powerful the motor.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:06 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

zapping is done with a large $500 machine lol you few people have them. as for the motor stand rpm has one for like 10 or 20 bucks like this
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:11 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
miniczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

JESUS! That is way out of my price range to zap my can then! Is it really that necessary to zap the can? That noticable? Thanks for the link for the stand
miniczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:19 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

Well you can build a meter to read the magnetizum of the can. It's called a GAUST METER (might be spelled wrong) anyway that can be built from a multi meter for a couple of bucks. In my opinion most new motors dont really need to be zapped . and it takes a while for an old motor to lose it magnetic field. By all means it's nice to have but not needed.. I rather give someone a few buck and have it done when needed.

zapper
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:26 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
miniczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ok... good to know. But, how do you tell when your loosing your magnets and you nned to zap them? Sounds like it would be easier to buy a new motor for $30 instead, but for curiousity sake would be nice to know. thanks!
miniczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:31 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miniczar
ok... good to know. But, how do you tell when your loosing your magnets and you nned to zap them? Sounds like it would be easier to buy a new motor for $30 instead, but for curiousity sake would be nice to know. thanks!
with a gauss meter. ( spelled correctly lol )

__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 09:32 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
miniczar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sorry, I didnt clarify, is that the only way to tell, or is it noticable with the motors performance?
miniczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hudy Comm lathe and Brush cutter/serrater ORANGE DOG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2008 10:22 PM
Comm lathe and brush cutter hms32 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-21-2008 10:08 PM
Buyers Beware - comm cutter Mulligan Stu Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 4 02-03-2006 12:14 AM
comm cutter ALBERTO R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-21-2005 05:36 AM
lathe(comm cutter) Ko Racer R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 08-13-2003 03:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net