Community
Wiki Posts
Search

help tuning Ofna Force .28 engine...

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2008, 10:30 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default help tuning Ofna Force .28 engine...

i have an Ofna Force .28... i know it's not the best engine out there but i'm still learning...

my friend has a stock Mini MGT 3.0 and during break-in, his truck produces a lot of smoke... my engine on the other hand does not produce nearly as much smoke... i tried to tune my engine so that i can see smoke coming from the exhaust when i am on the throttle... but there are still times i can't really see the smoke... i don't know if it's because of the wind when the buggy is going 30+ miles per hour... the Mini MGT 3.0 exhaust is located behind the truck... i'm thinking that the reason why there seems to be a lot of smoke with the MGT is probably because the exhaust is being shielded by the body from the wind...

i've tuned my buggy to both ends of being too rich and being too lean... with little smoke that the Force engine is producing, if i try to richen the mixture to get more smoke, it already starts showing signs of being too rich... even when the mixture is so rich that the engine is already drowning and gurgling, it still doesn't produce anywhere near as much smoke as the MGT and i'm not sure if there is something wrong... we are both using the same fuel from the same container...
Old 10-27-2008, 05:25 PM
Tech Apprentice

anyone...? is it safe to just tune an engine off of sound and performance as long as some smoke is coming out of the exhaust...?
Old 10-27-2008, 05:28 PM
Tech Regular

it could be the fuel you are using. what fuel are you using?
Old 10-27-2008, 05:32 PM
Tech Apprentice

hi, we're using O'Donnell 20% fuel...
Old 10-27-2008, 05:42 PM
Tech Regular