R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2014, 08:18 PM   #991
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

just received my vx3. Can some one explain to me why it looks like a reshelled speedpassion reventon?

hope it works better then a SP :S
jonston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 10:24 PM   #992
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,114
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Be assured, it is not a speedpassion.

And it works really well
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 06:13 AM   #993
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,098
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonston View Post
just received my vx3. Can some one explain to me why it looks like a reshelled speedpassion reventon?

hope it works better then a SP :S
The shape of the case is the ONLY thing that resembles a speedo passion. And even that is not the same. Compare them side by side and you will see. Nothing else does! Including its performance.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 06:13 AM   #994
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: wrexham UK
Posts: 78
Default software / apple

hi

i have just bought the Virtra VX3 speedo along with the programming card my question is will i also need the usb link cable to update the card.

also i have a mac book and was wondering if the software will work on this or just a windows based pc.

i will be getting the 13.5 motor to so was wondering on a good starting point mainly in blinky

thanks
andrew
andrewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 07:32 AM   #995
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,098
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewd View Post
hi

i have just bought the Virtra VX3 speedo along with the programming card my question is will i also need the usb link cable to update the card.

also i have a mac book and was wondering if the software will work on this or just a windows based pc.

i will be getting the 13.5 motor to so was wondering on a good starting point mainly in blinky

thanks
andrew
You only need the USB to update the software and right now there is no new software for the VX3. Only what comes on it.

No it will not work with Mac based computers unless you are running windows in Parallel or boot camp.

For speedo settings I never change from this for spec.

PWM 4k
Punch 10
BPWM 2K
Initial brake 10
drag brake 5

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 10:28 AM   #996
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
You only need the USB to update the software and right now there is no new software for the VX3. Only what comes on it.

No it will not work with Mac based computers unless you are running windows in Parallel or boot camp.

For speedo settings I never change from this for spec.

PWM 4k
Punch 10
BPWM 2K
Initial brake 10
drag brake 5

EA
Would these be good setting for VXX Blinky as well, I have TX 17.5 ?
GimpyGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 11:10 AM   #997
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,098
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GimpyGolden View Post
Would these be good setting for VXX Blinky as well, I have TX 17.5 ?
Yes. Same settings I have used with every ORCA ESC in blinky class.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | Apex RC | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 09:40 AM   #998
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Another Q.
I am trying to setup my VXX (4.1) Mod profile to manual recommended settings for the TX 17.5 but some of the parameters don`t have the range depicted in the manual. Such as recommended timing range is 27-36 but the max on my programer shows 30.
Is the manual written based on a different Firm Ware, if so how do the values correlate?
GimpyGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 10:09 AM   #999
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nevermind, to answer my own question I was trying to setup a Mod profile with Stock recommended settings. Switched to Stock mode and all is as shown in manual.

Is there any gain to be had running a 17.5 in Mod mode?
GimpyGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 12:54 PM   #1000
Tech Regular
 
spencehotbodies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GimpyGolden View Post
Would these be good setting for VXX Blinky as well, I have TX 17.5 ?
What timing would you run on the end bell of a 17.5?
spencehotbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 03:48 PM   #1001
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,019
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I've been playing around with a motor analyser and I'll tell you right now, all the motors from the same manufacturers are different in relation to the end bell marks. They are more of a ballpark. But the slightest little difference in timing makes em really sing. I know it's not the answer you're looking for, but unfortunately it's true.
__________________
-Mike B.
Carnage9270 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 04:42 PM   #1002
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencehotbodies View Post
What timing would you run on the end bell of a 17.5?
No idea.
I've left that at stock ~10ish, will play with after some gearing and ESC tuning.
GimpyGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 08:45 AM   #1003
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
This is an attempt to post what I received from EA this evening. Doubt the pictures will show as they do when I received it in MS Word. Still should be helpful though.

Bill

How to use ORCA USB adaptor to update your Electronic Speed Controller (ESC)

This applies to the following hardware:
Vritra VX (all colors)
Vritra VX1 (all colors)
Vritra VXX (all colors)
“USB ready” Program Card

What you need:
- An ORCA USB Link Adaptor
- A Windows PC with one of the following Operating Systems:
o Windows XP (all versions)
o Windows 7 (all versions)
o Windows 8.1 (non RT)
- Sensor cable
- ESC to be updated
- Program Card to be updated

Note: Be very careful when disconnecting the Program Card adaptor from the USB Adaptor. It is recommended that you do not pull by the wires and always pry at the plastic connections to prevent damage.


STEP1: PREPARE YOUR SYSTEM
Windows 8.0
You must update to Windows 8.1 then follow Windows 8.1 procedure

Windows 8.1
You must disable Driver Signature Verification.
Follow this link for step-by-step instructions:
http://www.howtogeek.com/167723/how-...igned-drivers/
Then proceed to All OS procedure

All OS
You need winrar to uncompress the installation files, it can be downloaded here:
http://rarlabs.com/download.htm Select either 32bit or 64bit to match your OS. (Note: Suggest using WinRAR version 5.01 files as opposed to the Beta files at the top of the list. Bill)

Save your ESC settings before proceeding to the next step as it will be erased.

That's it!

Bill
I want to thank you for this post as I was having nothing but issues installing and updating on Windows 8.1.. now it works great..

Jon
Juniorabca is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 10:59 AM   #1004
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: wrexham UK
Posts: 78
Default polarity chamge

hi

I see in the setting up of the VX3 that I can change the polarity of the motor wires I take it that when doing this that the + and the - and the change is between the A and the C
andrewd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 12:06 PM   #1005
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,186
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juniorabca View Post
I want to thank you for this post as I was having nothing but issues installing and updating on Windows 8.1.. now it works great..

Jon
Hi Jon,

We have to thank EA...As usual...LOL

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net