R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2013, 11:10 AM   #10471
Tech Master
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Any problems using the justock with an AM radio? I want to upgrade an older car with a Hobbywing JS5 combo but I'm not ready to do the radio too.
__________________
I race at www.mncarpetoval.com !
cdwilliams1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:14 PM   #10472
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm having an issue with a Hobbywing 120A 1S ESC. It isn't setting the brakes properly.

Set-up mode: Sets neutral fine, sets full throttle fine, I hold the stick in full brake and it won't set, no matter how many times I push the button. If I creet the stick forward then the brake will finally set when it's 7/8 of the way back to neutral.

What steps should I take to try and remedy the problem? I've already tried both blinky and boosted stock software. I've tried setting up the ESC with both 1S and 2S packs, but the problem is the same.
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:19 PM   #10473
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
I'm having an issue with a Hobbywing 120A 1S ESC. It isn't setting the brakes properly.

Set-up mode: Sets neutral fine, sets full throttle fine, I hold the stick in full brake and it won't set, no matter how many times I push the button. If I creet the stick forward then the brake will finally set when it's 7/8 of the way back to neutral.

What steps should I take to try and remedy the problem? I've already tried both blinky and boosted stock software. I've tried setting up the ESC with both 1S and 2S packs, but the problem is the same.

Have you got forward and brake trims set the correct way for the ESC?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:22 PM   #10474
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Check the EPA settings of your TX.....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:04 PM   #10475
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Have you got forward and brake trims set the correct way for the ESC?
All the sub-trims were set to zero before I set the ESC. I haven't checked if I have the channel reversed on the radio (it's probably not), is that what you mean?

Edit: EPA was set to 100% too.
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU

Last edited by Radio Active; 01-22-2013 at 04:17 PM.
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:32 PM   #10476
Tech Master
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,488
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
I'm having an issue with a Hobbywing 120A 1S ESC. It isn't setting the brakes properly.

Set-up mode: Sets neutral fine, sets full throttle fine, I hold the stick in full brake and it won't set, no matter how many times I push the button. If I creet the stick forward then the brake will finally set when it's 7/8 of the way back to neutral.

What steps should I take to try and remedy the problem? I've already tried both blinky and boosted stock software. I've tried setting up the ESC with both 1S and 2S packs, but the problem is the same.
First, make sure u reverse throttle direction in radio
Second, follow directions for setting neutral, forward, and reverse.
Neutral is set first
Forward is set second
Reverse/Brake is set second
Lastly, once calibrated go back and increase MAX BRAKE FORCE. Default is 25%, which almost no brake. Increase to 100% and adjust with radio

See if this helps
idbdoug
idbdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:59 PM   #10477
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
First, make sure u reverse throttle direction in radio
Second, follow directions for setting neutral, forward, and reverse.
Neutral is set first
Forward is set second
Reverse/Brake is set second
Lastly, once calibrated go back and increase MAX BRAKE FORCE. Default is 25%, which almost no brake. Increase to 100% and adjust with radio

See if this helps
idbdoug
Ah.

I've been setting max brake and max reverse at 100% with the PC before setting the ESC. I will try not doing that when I get home at the end of the week.
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:18 PM   #10478
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
Ah.

I've been setting max brake and max reverse at 100% with the PC before setting the ESC. I will try not doing that when I get home at the end of the week.
That's no problem. I did that and it worked fine. Make sure the throttle channel is reversed and that the throttle end points are at 100% and no higher and the speedo will set to the radio just fine.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:12 PM   #10479
Tech Apprentice
 
sizheng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpenteer View Post
10.5

Here is the full setup:
Motor: Trinity 10.5 D3 (Endbell zero)

General
1A: FWD/BRAKE
1B: 25%
1C: Auto
1D: 105*C
1E: 105*C

Throttle
2A: 50%
2B: 30
2C: 30
2D Linear

Brake
3A: 0
3B: 100
3C: 0
3D: 50
3E: 20
3F: 20
3G: Linear

Boost:
4A: 39
4B: 3000 RPM
4C: 16000 RPM
4D: Linear
4E: No

Timing:
5A: 25
5B: Full Throttle
5C: 0.1s
5D: 15,000
5E: 18 deg/.1 sec
5F: 24 deg/.1 sec
Hi, change your ITEM 1C from Auto to 5.8V or DISABLE, and try.
__________________
TEAMHOBBYWING CHINA
sizheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:19 PM   #10480
Tech Apprentice
 
sizheng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
Motor was Turnigy Trackstar. Did not record Amps. True zero endbell timing was at -1.8 from centre line. This was determined by running sensorless first then matching endbell timing to rpm.
Hi, the normal method to determine the 0 timing is to find the point that with the minimum Amp,while the RPM is relavtively highest.
__________________
TEAMHOBBYWING CHINA
sizheng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:59 PM   #10481
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sizheng View Post
Hi, the normal method to determine the 0 timing is to find the point that with the minimum Amp,while the RPM is relavtively highest.
I do not disagree.

The idea for me was to find the correct baseline at zero degree endbell and zero timing on esc.

It could be that the esc at 0 timing at sensorless mode is not 'true' zero but I will never know that. But if the esc is 'true' 0 timing while in sensorless mode, there is no reason the motor should be spinnning more rpms while at 0 timing in sensored mode right? If everything is in 0 degrees whichever way, the rpm must be consistent in every mode.
__________________
/Adrian.

RC FB Pages Subscribed:
facebook.com/EPBuggy
facebook.com/AllStarChampionship
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:22 AM   #10482
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
Ah.

I've been setting max brake and max reverse at 100% with the PC before setting the ESC. I will try not doing that when I get home at the end of the week.
After calibrating, You can check if the ESC reaches 100% throttle and 100% break, because if it does, the green led lights up.
After calibrating, switch the ESC off and on, and while checking the red led on the side off the ESC, give full throttle (just very short, to prevent damage to your motor, if you use boost) the green led should light up, when you hit 100% throttle, you can do the same for the breaks, just make sure you've put breaks at 100% in the setting of the ESC.
If the green led lights up, the ESC reaches it's maximum throttle/break endpoints, and if you still don't have enough breaks then, the problem lies somewhere else.....
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:27 AM   #10483
Tech Champion
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,056
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M7H View Post
After calibrating, You can check if the ESC reaches 100% throttle and 100% break, because if it does, the green led lights up.
After calibrating, switch the ESC off and on, and while checking the red led on the side off the ESC, give full throttle (just very short, to prevent damage to your motor, if you use boost) the green led should light up, when you hit 100% throttle, you can do the same for the breaks, just make sure you've put breaks at 100% in the setting of the ESC.
If the green led lights up, the ESC reaches it's maximum throttle/break endpoints, and if you still don't have enough breaks then, the problem lies somewhere else.....
The problem isn't that I don't have enough brakes, it's the opposite, I have way too much, because I have full brake at just a little below neutral. The drag brake setting becomes quite sensitive too.

I'll try everything everyone has suggested.
__________________
Reigning NSW 4WD Group 20 Champion
Member: Maitland Radio Car Club (http://www.morcc.com.au)
twitter: @dvcotton
Australian 12th Scale hastag: #EP12AU
Radio Active is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:31 AM   #10484
Tech Master
 
lewis110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
The problem isn't that I don't have enough brakes, it's the opposite, I have way too much, because I have full brake at just a little below neutral. The drag brake setting becomes quite sensitive too.

I'll try everything everyone has suggested.
Dumb question here but did you try to put the brake strength to say 25% on the esc? You can also use your epa on the transmitter so your not experiencing to much brake.
__________________
Hobbywing of North America/FalconSekido www.falconsekido.com
Hobby-Pro USA www.hobbyprousa.com
Dialed RC Hobbies/VP Pro USA www.Dialedhobbies.com
lewis110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:34 AM   #10485
M7H
Tech Elite
 
M7H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
The problem isn't that I don't have enough brakes, it's the opposite, I have way too much, because I have full brake at just a little below neutral. The drag brake setting becomes quite sensitive too.

I'll try everything everyone has suggested.
Maybe you have a lot of exponential set on the brake side on your TX?
__________________
Serpent
M7H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:24 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net