Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Lipo Charging 101

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2009, 09:50 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Lipo Charging 101

Couple of quick questions. I've been charging my nimhs on the Venom charger for the past 2 months no problems.
But I just picked up some SMC 2s 6000 28c batteries. And for the life of me I cannot figure this charger out to set the fucntions.
I know how to enter the charge mode which I have set at 5amps with a 6000 cut off.

The balance I have set at .1amp
Fast charge= Im not sure what to set this at?
Storage how does dunction work?
disharge, why would I need to discharge the batteries when I run them anyway.

Anyhelp would be great, I tried the search funstion with no answer to the questions above.

Thank you again
Old 04-12-2009, 11:14 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Fast charge is not applicable to lipo - lipo charges a 1C or 2C or higher if the manufacturer tells you you can. A 1C charge rate for your lipo is 6amps (6000/1000).

Be sure you have charger set for lipo as the batt type - usually all the chargers I've worked with for lipo only ask for lipo batt capacity is (in mah) and how many cells - the charge rate is set 99% of the time the 1C charge rate for the info setup in the charger. Lipo needs the CC/CV charging protocol so you do not risk overcharging and potentially damaging a cell.

The balance rate is applicable only when the charger is balancing only - I think it uses 300ma when it is charging and balancing - my Hyperions this is not something you can specify.