• 1 Post By ta_man

Hoping to return but need advice on batteries, chargers, connectors

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2019, 02:23 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Hoping to return but need advice on batteries, chargers, connectors

Hi All,

I was an avid RC offroad enthusiast about 10+ years ago. Started with nitro and migrated everything to electric. I have a first gen Slash, Jammin' SCRT10 and RC8 I converted to electric. I have a Tekin motor and Mamba Monster ESC for the buggy, and Novak stuff for the SCRT and Slash. Back then, I decided to go with all Traxxas connectors because I could buy the plugs and solder them onto everything. Apparently, that's no longer an option. I also found out Traxxas' ID technology means if I use their batteries I need their charger (no more separate balancing plug). I'd like to purchase high quality, non proprietary batteries for all my vehicles but it seems Traxxas is not the way to go to remain universal with the connector type. Do I switch to all deans? Another connector? Are separate balance plugs even a thing any more? Any and all advice you're willing to share on batteries, connectors, chargers and the like is appreciated. I look forward to getting back into this awesome addiction.
Old 05-21-2019, 02:49 PM
Tech Adept

Separate balance plug is still a thing. It's only the Traxxas packs that have that. Traxxas made it so that only their packs and chargers came with their plugs rather than selling the plugs on their own so it's hard to find traxxas plugs to put on chargers.

XT60 and XT90 are the best plugs imho. Easiest to solder, hardest to mess up while assembling. Deans are only rated for 45 amps continuous. The XT plugs are rated for 60 and 90 amps continuous. Also the spring on the deans plug can wear out after a while. The XT plugs seem to last for a long time.