Wiki Posts
Search

HPI R40 Nitro Car Forum

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2004, 02:28 PM
Tech Elite

Originally posted by nero1943
Hi guys,

I ordered a R40 a week ago and I just realize there's a new 2004 version comming out I am new with on road and I currently own a RS4 Evo. Should I just sell the R40 and pratice with my RS4? Needless to say I will have to spend lots of $$$ to make it run. (very broke at moment) I might get into racing when I have better skill

How does the current R40 stock compare with MTX-3 with the same engine, mainfold, pipe, servos, etc???? I am asking because there's more MTX-3 parts than R40 locally.

Please help me out guys...
If you are new dont worry about what car you have or what hopups you have or dont have. Build the car VERY carefully and spend some time learning how to make your suspension right. I dont mean "tuning it" but learn how to make your car free and non tweaked.

Some years ago I have a brand new V1R at my track and this new guy rocked up with a V1RR and the latest motor at the time a JP RS12. I had some sort of side exhaust motor at the time. Anyway I was freaking out seeing this guy with all this awesome gear, but in the end he smashed the car into everything that track had to offer, boards, poles and even a tree. Sadly I never saw this guy ever agin at the track.

My R40 was ultra fast out of the box, but 90% of that performance would be wasted if the car is not built right.
Old 03-10-2004, 11:45 PM
Tech Apprentice

I guess I will keep the R40 and build from there. I guess with the new 2004 version of R40. I can probably get some cheap set from ebay in the future.

This is what I am thinkin to use with the R40:

R40
JR XS3
fuel filter
venom temp guage
venom fail safe
Custom 5 cell flat pack 1100mah
HPI SF-2 servo 90oz/.16sec @6v Throttle
Hitec 625MG Steering
motor saver filter

Novarossi NS12S3 or S5
no clue on what pipe and mainfold