Community
Wiki Posts
Search

clutch bearings

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2016, 09:46 AM
Tech Fanatic

Default clutch bearings

I am new to the nitro stuff and have a 3.0 Losi. I have gone through 4 or 5 sets of clutch bearings since the beginning of the season and probably average 100 laps per set. I have asked a few in this area (thanx Sean, Blaine). I know these bearings turn a lot of rpm and get a lot of heat so you have to change them often and they are fairly easy to change. Does anybody know of bearings that are a bit more durable or any tricks to keep them running longer?
Old 08-03-2016, 09:55 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

tko bearings last the longest, ive been running avid revolutions with the grease washed out a drop of oil and the metal shields facing each other inwards on the bell.
the best thing for long bearing life is proper shimming, i get half mm of play when cold and very little once everything is hot.
Old 08-03-2016, 10:24 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

Proper shimming is by far the most important thing.

Tko bearings last longer but I prefer to run avids. For a dollar a piece you can't beat them
Old 08-03-2016, 12:15 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 46 (98%+)

I run J&T bearings. For the $2 cost, they have been the best bang for my buck!!
Old 08-03-2016, 01:17 PM
Tech Lord

Even the expensive ones are going bad very quickly so why spend te money?
I have bought the 5x10x4 bearings for just €3.50 per 8 pcs.
Old 08-03-2016, 01:26 PM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by buster8787
I am new to the nitro stuff and have a 3.0 Losi. I have gone through 4 or 5 sets of clutch bearings since the beginning of the season and probably average 100 laps per set. I have asked a few in this area (thanx Sean, Blaine). I know these bearings turn a lot of rpm and get a lot of heat so you have to change them often and they are fairly easy to change. Does anybody know of bearings that are a bit more durable or any tricks to keep them running longer?