R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2010, 10:00 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default fuel line length

Ok from some people i hear to run 1ft of fuel line. Others asy shortest as possbile, then ive ha a guy tell me that if you keep the length of both lines the same it will be more consistant tuning. What do you guys recommend i do? Thanks
rcdude236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 10:37 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
jmaxey51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 3,917
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdude236 View Post
Ok from some people i hear to run 1ft of fuel line. Others asy shortest as possbile, then ive ha a guy tell me that if you keep the length of both lines the same it will be more consistant tuning. What do you guys recommend i do? Thanks
mine is super short. i always run short as possible simply because when i was running long fuel line i had tuning issues all the time and it either ripped or got down in the flywheel and ruined my race day. also if you run long fuel line and run out of fuel during your main, your screwed, it takes forever to get fuel back to the carb, its not worth 10-15 seconds more run time to me. if i run out of fuel it takes 5 seconds tops to get it started. mine is as short as possible, people mess with me for that but im pitting at the same time as them and i never have fuel line related issues. mine is 6 inches tops thats giving it a little extra hahah.
jmaxey51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 10:45 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

If you don't have a clunk tank, you are going to need a little more than shortest possible or the thing will stall very quick when upside down.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 10:49 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
jmaxey51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 3,917
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

oh yeah kinda forgot, i have an D8 so thats why i run mine so short. since i have a clunk
jmaxey51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 12:37 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I've seen guys run them as short as possible, to all 3 feet of a package wrapped around the truck.. If you don't beleive me I'll get you pictures this weekend.. The one with a on of line, doesn't seem to have any more trouble with tuning then anyone else, but we also start racing in the sun and end up after dark, adn the tune changes dramatically no matter the time of year..
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:33 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Roelof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland
Posts: 5,977
Send a message via ICQ to Roelof
Default

Fuelline does create some resistance, the longer it is the more resistance it has. Getting fuel into the engine is done by 2 way's, sucking by the engine and pushing by the backpressure. athough it is an almost closed system the backpressure needs to get bigger to overcome the resistance of a longer fuelline.

In short terms: a shorter fuelline (and backpressure line) does create a faster responding engine which is easier to tune.
__________________
Speed is only fiction but a 130+km/h MRS4 is for real.
Roelof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 02:26 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

My experience is that the tune keeps more consistent with long fuel line and pressure line.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 02:38 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
awdcameolsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

My experience is the best way to run it is whatever the manufacturer suggests. If its gota clunk, its going to be short, and if not its going be longish. They suggest it for a reasons like keeping it away from heat, keep it away from things that can tear it, and keep enough fuel in there for when your upside down. Just my personal opinion.
awdcameolsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 02:48 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default goo question

I run mine out of the tank around the air filter neck, into the fuel filter on the side of the tank and around the tank and into to front of the carb.....

I didn't mean goo question, good question........
__________________
Mad Dog drives a Mugen MBX-7, Novarossi engines, Clockwork Racing, Futaba radio, AKA/Proline Tires
merdith6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 03:52 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

what u mean if its got a clunk run shorter mine is a d8 with fironi line and a gas cooling filter i run the lenth they give u on the clunk with the fironi line then i cut the rest in half and use it on my exhaust and fuel line including the cooling filter..Is that bad to run kinda long with a clunk???
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 05:28 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
neobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,413
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Not bad, it's just pointless. There's no need to run a long fuel line when the tank has a clunk. I run a Losi so my fuel line is as short as possible, the pressure line is about 8 inches.
__________________
Clockwork Racing Engines
neobart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 05:51 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

I run it exactly like my manual say run it. And I have yet to have any problems tuning, staying running ect..... I think its funny that guys claim to get better this and better that. Nonsense. Its funny when you get to a big race and there is 300 entries and out of the 300, some guy has 300 feet of fuel line, tuning, looking like he really knows what hes doing.

One thing I do is look and observe other people cars. You get latest setup, different ideas that may be home made but works, new products ect.... I still have yet to see a car with 612 yards of fuel tube. PLUS HUM, ITS AGAINST THE LAW. Go try to run that crap at a big race that is teched.

Just saying.......
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 12:59 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
NitroXray80809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 3,249
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I run it exactly like my manual say run it. And I have yet to have any problems tuning, staying running ect..... I think its funny that guys claim to get better this and better that. Nonsense. Its funny when you get to a big race and there is 300 entries and out of the 300, some guy has 300 feet of fuel line, tuning, looking like he really knows what hes doing.

One thing I do is look and observe other people cars. You get latest setup, different ideas that may be home made but works, new products ect.... I still have yet to see a car with 612 yards of fuel tube. PLUS HUM, ITS AGAINST THE LAW. Go try to run that crap at a big race that is teched.

Just saying.......
lol i can see the techs seein that and just laughing mine isnt long i see people running way more than me but i think im ganna shortin it. Heres a pic of mine i havent ran it yet so u guys decide how bad it is its not extreamly long but its not just a straight line..lol
__________________
Xray XB4 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Hobbywing | SpeedPassion | JC |

Kyosho RB6 | Ko-Propo | Futaba | Turnigy | Orion | JC |

AE T4.2 | Ko-Propo | Savox | Turnigy | ProTek | JC |
NitroXray80809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:08 PM   #14
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

well im using a 8 inch piece, fuel line for my pipe and for the carb the fuel line is just long enough to reach the carb outlet.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 01:30 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
808gx7r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroXray80809 View Post
lol i can see the techs seein that and just laughing mine isnt long i see people running way more than me but i think im ganna shortin it. Heres a pic of mine i havent ran it yet so u guys decide how bad it is its not extreamly long but its not just a straight line..lol
that your "spare" buggy in the backround?
__________________
Mugen Mbx6t / O.S SPEED / Byrons / Savox servos / Futaba
Agama A8 Evo / O.S SPEED / savox / futaba
Hpi Blitz/sc10 CASTLE CREATIONS.
Driving the best quality cars in the market.
808gx7r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel Line Length wrayth Nitro Off-Road 9 03-01-2010 04:07 AM
Fuel Line Question datracing Nitro Off-Road 11 09-29-2009 09:02 PM
Fuel tube length!!!!!!! JPierson Nitro Off-Road 21 07-01-2009 11:02 PM
Fuel line length for 1/8 and 1/10 GP cars asw7576 Nitro On-Road 17 06-13-2008 10:52 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:16 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net