R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2010, 06:26 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default Hitec RCD

So, after years of JR servos in my Losi 8T 2.0, and after reading how so many people like Hitec servos, I brought 2 7950s. Well Friday I got to the track and started wrenchin on my stuff when I cranked down the servo arm, the screw broke in the output gear. One thing I like about racing in Colorado is that the racers here and very helpful and when it come down to it, they will do everything they can to help you get running. Because I was running HV servos, I did not have a lot of people to ask for help, in the end, some one let me borrow a HV servo to get me through the weekend.

So Monday I got online to buy a new gear set for the 7950 but now one sells them. So I called Hitec and ask them for a gear set. The guy said they dont sell gear sets for theses servos because they never get the servos back that has broken gears. so after explaining to him that it was my fault bla bla, he shipped me new gears. FREE.

I thought this was great service. From now on its HITEC servos for me.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 06:36 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Motorman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,905
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

HITec is Great. I love working with them.

C/S is top in my book
Motorman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 06:51 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thats good to hear..We stripped a gear on a fairly new 7940TH Sat morning..I guess I will be testing their CS this week..How long did it take for you to get the replacement parts....Thanks
sjracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:19 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 3,470
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Just how did you break a 3mm screw inside an output shaft?
K.Copeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:46 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

I rode on the JR train for as long as I could. I even went with their hv servos when they came out. I had one of those blow after 2 track days. Ao I ripped them all out soldthem and have been with hitec ever since. I did have 1 7940 act funny so I sent it back but now that I think about it my lipo was prob acting funny. Once you go hitec you will never go back. Haha.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 10:32 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hitec is the best in the business in my book. Their products are top notch and their customer service can't be beat. They'll take care of just about anything that happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayeddy View Post
Just how did you break a 3mm screw inside an output shaft?
Hitec servos use a 2.6mm screw. They're not as tuff as a normal 3mm screw.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:34 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Dlewis4's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Saint Joseph, MO
Posts: 4,758
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Hitec is the best in the business in my book. Their products are top notch and their customer service can't be beat. They'll take care of just about anything that happens.



Hitec servos use a 2.6mm screw. They're not as tuff as a normal 3mm screw.
Ad have fun finding one if you ever lose one.... ugghhhh.
__________________
Why is this hobby so full of drama? Its toy cars....
Dlewis4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:36 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dlewis4 View Post
Ad have fun finding one if you ever lose one.... ugghhhh.
Amain has these HPIZ421 I use Hitec Servos!!!!
__________________
Esteban "BBQ" Baquero

Barry "Barely" Goodwin's worst nightmare.....
Toiffel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:40 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,696
Default

You could always use backplate screws from the Vspec.
__________________
-TKO Competition Development-Sidewinder Fuel-
Alan D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:40 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dlewis4 View Post
Ad have fun finding one if you ever lose one.... ugghhhh.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/advanced...keywords=2.6x8
l3asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:42 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Dlewis4's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Saint Joseph, MO
Posts: 4,758
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l3asher View Post
Imeant in your pit box lol. I know where to buy them lol.
__________________
Why is this hobby so full of drama? Its toy cars....
Dlewis4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:07 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...et-M26SS-TL427

The 3 big flat head screws in that pack are PERFECT for hitec servos!
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:28 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayeddy View Post
Just how did you break a 3mm screw inside an output shaft?
I wasn't paying attention.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 01:46 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
trevor15308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: fontana california
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trevor15308
Default

i was a hitec guy but the servos i used kept breaking, there service is good but they would always break in my mains so i switched to airtronics and no problems i ran the hs-7955tg servos
__________________
AGAMA RACING-TKO BEARINGS-AIRTRONICS-SIDEWINDER-WERKS-PROLINE-VP PRO USA-RCrenew.com
trevor15308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 01:51 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevor15308 View Post
i was a hitec guy but the servos i used kept breaking, there service is good but they would always break in my mains so i switched to airtronics and no problems i ran the hs-7955tg servos
You're doing something wrong with the Hitec's then. The 7955 is ten times tougher than any Airtronics servo could ever dream of being.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
hitec, servos


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net