Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Newbie question: What are the highest quality manufacturers? >

Newbie question: What are the highest quality manufacturers?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie question: What are the highest quality manufacturers?

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2008, 07:16 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Newbie question: What are the highest quality manufacturers?

Guys - I am new to this sport. I am looking to buy a high quality 1/8 scale nitro off-road vehicle for my 10-year old son for Christmas. I am trying to quickly sort through the manufacturers in order to determine the pros and cons of each. I want a fast, high-quality, durable vehicle. Ideally, I would like to get something that can scream around the neighborhood on the street, as well as fly around on grass and moderate off-road terrain.

I welcome all of your opinions and suggestions! If you recommend a brand, please state WHY.
Old 11-29-2008, 07:24 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)

Well, are you looking for a 1/8 monster truck, truggy, or buggy? That's a difference right there.

Also, I would say that there is a difference between "high-quality" and "durable". A high-quality vehicle to me is an XRAY or Kyosho that has very good parts fitment and uses very good materials. That being said, I don't think you want to drop $600-1000 on a 1/8 buggy for a 10-year-old. I would tend to think you really mean durable, which is a different sort of ballgame.

For a 10-year old who just wants to have fun, I would look into the monster trucks made by Traxxas or HPI. Both are well-known, respectable companies that make good, durable cars. Also, parts support at any hobby shop is going to be excellent, especially with the Traxxas cars. Both companies have a good reputation and have been making cars for a long time. Specifically, look at the HPI Savage series and the Traxxas T-Maxx or Revos.