Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Favorite brand of tyres+How many sets you use a month? >

Favorite brand of tyres+How many sets you use a month?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Favorite brand of tyres+How many sets you use a month?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 07:35 AM
Tech Addict

Questions?? Favorite brand of tyres+How many sets you use a month?

Hi, all Im curious as to what are people fav make of tyres, I have personally only ever tried Proline and LRP Vtec. But hope to soon try some AKA-Heard good things. What do people mostly run ect..

And how many sets of tyres do you get/ use a month.. and how much you race/practice with them. Really curious about this later question, as im just getting into racing.. and have now got 2 sets of Vtec Kamakazi-control tyre. And have 1 set I use for practice, and another set on order to race with this sunday? cheers
Old 02-09-2009, 07:46 AM
Tech Fanatic

it all depends on track you ran on.
we got one track that eats tires incredibly fast - 1 truggy set per about 30-60minutes, 1 buggy set per 15-30 minutes of hard racing
On some tracks tires can last ages.

There are three basic thread types (like crime fighter, like Holeshot, Like Bowtie). I usually have super soft and soft compound from each type

I really like proline tires but balancing them is a pain so i mostly run GRP cubics on my truggy and if really needed Proline Holeshots. Only few tracks need GRP grip (bow ties).
I got some AKA buggy tires to test but with so huge price difference i will probalby endup running GRP as I can get them way cheaper.
Old 02-09-2009, 07:57 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

Try the VP-PRO tires they come in sets of 4 really cheap with molded inserts. They last longer than PL. AKA's I am shure are excellent or everybody wouldnt be swearing by them, they will be my next set.
Old 02-09-2009, 07:58 AM
Tech Addict