Search

Losi Clutch NIGHTMARE!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2008, 09:39 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Losi Clutch NIGHTMARE!!!

Hello guys,

I am new to R/C Nitro Arena Truck racing. I and my family (3) bought Losi RTR 8ight-T kits about 3 weeks ago and decided we were going to go racing. We had raced Nitro Boats for a few years back in the mid 90s so we thought we would give cars a shot. Here is our, mainly mine, biggest issue.

THE CLUTCH!!! This thing eats bearings, im talkin two heat races (10 min. total) and its DONE! I went to an Invite over the weekend, changed them 3-4 times?????? and on top of that it kills the shoes! I talked to a few guys out there, but they were so busy it was hard to get alot of info and how toos. By the end of the day i did learn that you could convert them. I have a Kyosho set up on it now, but the mesh is a little short, i was told that the quick change motor mount would allow me to move the motor foward some to fix it. I am just tired of not finishing races. I raced a total of Five times this weekend and did not finish but one qualifier.

I am not mechanically challenged either. I understand bearing clearance, spacing, mesh alignment, heat factors, things like this.

Does the Losi 4 shoe system really suck? I seen losi's out there today checkin them out, i know one is running the 4 shoe system with no issue. I would say its something on my truck, but the other two have had some similar issues. Any and all info whould be greatly appreciated here.

I am OK with changing clutch bearings every weekend, new for the race day, but 4 a day?? not so cool.

BTW, just FYI, if it matters, the trucks are running the Dynamite 427s.

Thanx in advance!
Old 10-05-2008, 09:55 PM
JJY
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)