The Drift Thread

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

The Drift Thread

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 10:23 PM
Tech Apprentice

does anyone have a good starting point or general idea for a xray t3 cs set up. im just getting into drifting and have no idea where to start. so far i have a swapped the rear ball diff into the front and the solid front end in the rear. if it helps my electronics are a 17.5t but also have the option of a 8.5 or 6.5 if thats a better way to go. any direction would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-03-2012, 07:06 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Hi, I am new to drifting too, but have several suggestions for you. First you should go visit Matt at NRC. I think he has an Xray and should be able to give you some tips.

So far you have done the right thing. What tires do you plan to run? You could run the car 50/50 or Countersteer. I suggest you try it as 50/50 for a while, you just may like it.

If you go CS then you need to find all sorts of different pulleys for the car or adapt some, which is what a lot of guys do. Check some of the dedicated drift forums, they have tons of info and will give you lots of ideas.

Just in case you are unsure, 50/50 and Countersteer are referring to your drive train. Most touring cars come with a balanced drive train ratio front to back, hence 50/50. Countersteer is almost a slang term. It would be more accurate to call it overdrive as when you add the right pulleys you are actually overdriving the rear of the car, which makes it slide out faster and allows drifting. With this type of setup you end up countersteering more than 50/50.......that's likely why its referred to as cs.

If you run your car 50/50 you basically need to work with your setup. Play with it enough and you will get it. Coming soon just north of you will be a drift track where you will be able to practice. Ask Matt about it.

Hope this helps a bit.
Old 02-03-2012, 10:47 AM
Tech Apprentice