R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2007, 09:20 AM   #9196
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFR View Post
Abit late but its brushless time now on for me. No more motor master, lathe, brushes, springs, and other brush motor tuning equipment! Woohoo!

Lipo coming this week too...
that is sooooo clean! how did you shorten the servo wires, ESC wires, ESC switch wires, and the sensor harness for the motor?
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:17 AM   #9197
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,150
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies View Post
if you're running stock or 19T the stock motor mounts are fine...for low turn BL 3.5/4.5 the new motor mount allow you to run larger spurs...
if 6 cell use Novak 3.5R need use new motor mount !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:00 PM   #9198
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies View Post
if you're running stock or 19T the stock motor mounts are fine...for low turn BL 3.5/4.5 the new motor mount allow you to run larger spurs...
Hey Ramon,
what is the starting ratio you runing on your 10.5? thanks
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 12:03 PM   #9199
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

5.5FDR is what Novak recommands for SS10.5. What I want to know is what spur and pinion combos you guys used...
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 01:58 PM   #9200
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean View Post
Hey Ramon,
what is the starting ratio you runing on your 10.5? thanks
I run the Orion/Peak 10.5 I have it geared at around 5-5.1fdr.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFR View Post
5.5FDR is what Novak recommands for SS10.5. What I want to know is what spur and pinion combos you guys used...
with the stock 100Tspur run a 44T to get to 5.5 or a 48T for 5.08

I'm waiting on belts to arrive and I can run the 3Racing 17/18T pulleys..
with the 17T pulley transission ratio changes to 2.2941 : 1 and
I run a 106/48 5.07fdr.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:14 PM   #9201
Tech Addict
 
Rogier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Netherlands, EUROPE
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I now have the 3Racing pulleys installed. I've got the 17t on it. The belts are pretty tight (they are new). Is it a problem running with the tight belts? I think I have the main pulley-holders on the loosest position, but I'm not sure. Can anybody of you tell me what is the loosest position? Front and rear? Which direction does the mark points to?

Anybody else who has got the 17t 3Racing pulleys installed?
Rogier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:41 PM   #9202
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies View Post
I run the Orion/Peak 10.5 I have it geared at around 5-5.1fdr.


with the stock 100Tspur run a 44T to get to 5.5 or a 48T for 5.08

I'm waiting on belts to arrive and I can run the 3Racing 17/18T pulleys..
with the 17T pulley transission ratio changes to 2.2941 : 1 and
I run a 106/48 5.07fdr.
what size of track you runing you 10.5 inorder to gear 5-5.1fdr? what brand of belt you order in order to used 17t pulley? did you try novak 10.5?
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 02:55 PM   #9203
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogier View Post
I now have the 3Racing pulleys installed. I've got the 17t on it. The belts are pretty tight (they are new). Is it a problem running with the tight belts? I think I have the main pulley-holders on the loosest position, but I'm not sure. Can anybody of you tell me what is the loosest position? Front and rear? Which direction does the mark points to?

Anybody else who has got the 17t 3Racing pulleys installed?

front: mark aimed towards the front
Rear: aimed back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guo Chean View Post
what size of track you runing you 10.5 inorder to gear 5-5.1fdr? what brand of belt you order in order to used 17t pulley? did you try novak 10.5?
running at Speedworld raceway.
stock front/rear belts are ok with the 17T pulley.. a little tight ..but should loosen after several runs...
18T pulley.. tight in front.. and Way too Tight in the rears.

I'm getting the Yokomo BD low frinction rear belts.. it's 1 tooth bigger and should work perfectly with the 17T pulley... might still be tight with the 18T.

I did try the Pro2 front belts which is 3 teeth bigger...but was way too loose even when the belt tension cam at it's tightest.

haven't tried the Novak 10.5... my brother has it..he drives a cyclone too.. we ran identical set-up..and the novak does have a little more rpm's. the orion got more torque.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:19 PM   #9204
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: bay area
Posts: 45
Default

picked up a wce and i must say its pretty sweet
mangobanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:40 PM   #9205
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,716
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogier View Post
I now have the 3Racing pulleys installed. I've got the 17t on it. The belts are pretty tight (they are new). Is it a problem running with the tight belts? I think I have the main pulley-holders on the loosest position, but I'm not sure. Can anybody of you tell me what is the loosest position? Front and rear? Which direction does the mark points to?

Anybody else who has got the 17t 3Racing pulleys installed?
The Cyclone S kit has 2 sets of diff adjusters. One set makes the belt very loose. These are plastic. I would think this is what you need Rogier. My S handles better than my graphite car.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:42 PM   #9206
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,716
Trader Rating: 194 (99%+)
Default

Zombies up the timing on the Orion and the motor will come alive. When you do this the Orion 10.5 is faster than the Novak.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 04:02 PM   #9207
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
The Cyclone S kit has 2 sets of diff adjusters. One set makes the belt very loose. These are plastic. I would think this is what you need Rogier. My S handles better than my graphite car.
I just looked at those..and you're right.. I may have to get a full set of the looser version but in aluminum from 3Racing:
std. setup


looser adjusters:



Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
Zombies up the timing on the Orion and the motor will come alive. When you do this the Orion 10.5 is faster than the Novak.
I will have to try that.. how many degrees more do you recommend to advance the timing...?
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 10:39 PM   #9208
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,878
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cpatel529 Send a message via Yahoo to cpatel529
Default

The previous owner had put a black washer understand the steering post mount which increased the steering height. Is this a trick that Cyclone owners are doing? It causes my top deck to bend due to the uneven heights from the front to rear due to the higher steering post. Any help would be much appreciated.

Chirag

Last edited by cpatel529; 07-25-2007 at 09:25 AM.
cpatel529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 11:30 PM   #9209
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,046
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

sooo is there a reason the 2006 WCE kit is still $500?
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:10 AM   #9210
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,878
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to cpatel529 Send a message via Yahoo to cpatel529
Default

I have read about racers (including Hara) using the Cyclone S chassis for parking lot asphalt/rubber racing. Is this mainly to add more flex to the chassis and get better traction? It seems that these chassis are a lot cheaper than the carbon fiber ones and probably more durable for parking lot in perfections.

Do any racers on this forum do this?

I will be starting parking lot racing soon and want to possibly do this to decrease the cost of maintenance but do not want to take anything away from performance. Our parking lots are very bumpy and cars are flying everywhere. Dont want to ruin a CF chassis if I can avoid it without taking any performance penalties.

Last edited by cpatel529; 07-25-2007 at 01:29 AM.
cpatel529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 07:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 07:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 07:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 02:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net