R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2006, 12:17 AM   #14581
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tpg racer
Hey thnx man, may I know the price wise then??

How much is the difference???
tpg, you are in malaysia, i dont think you are able to get hara ed at the shop, i think they carry the 2005 version instead. get them they are better kit as well.

EngTat
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 12:39 AM   #14582
Tech Apprentice
 
Lokanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicadrauspro4
The Hara edition are equiped with these hop-ups:
a) 2.25mm CF upper deck which is stiffer (the original and v.1.1 have 2.0mm)
b) Upgraded competition threaded shock with teflon coated damper.
c) Aluminum servo mounts
d) Front solid axle spool (original and v.1.1 are using one-way axle diff)
e) Integrated one piece aluminum spur gear mount
f) Delrin rear outdrives (tougher than the original)
g) Quick motor-release motor plate mount
h) Aluminum camber plate mount (front and rear)
It's interesting, because mine HE has no aluminium camber plates, but it has one-way as well as spool included
Lokanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 01:24 AM   #14583
Tech Addict
 
Nicadrauspro4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A., Italy
Posts: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokanas
It's interesting, because mine HE has no aluminium camber plates, but it has one-way as well as spool included
Oh yeah. Sorry about that. I must have mistaken my typing. Ill edit it anyway. Thanks for the notice.

__________________
works1200.weebly.com
nicadraus-lamborghini.weebly.com
Nicadrauspro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 10:21 PM   #14584
Tech Apprentice
 
Justinian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Orting, WA
Posts: 72
Default

I was wondering if the Pro 4 is capable of holding the Orion 4800 platinum lipo packs?? It looked like in one of Orion's ads they used a Pro 4 as an example of how the lipo fit... at least it looked like a Pro 4....

Is the Pro 4 more or less durable than say, a XXX-S G+ ?? I only race stock and 19 turn in TC for the moment and was wonder what the strong and weak points of this car would be... (I'm looking at the plain Pro 4, not the Hara edition...) Any thoughts???
__________________
Justinian, Emperor and Roman God of Barrel-Rolls and Broken Parts...
________________________________________________
-Tamiya Evo V
-CRC T-Fource
-Losi XXX-S
-Darkside I-Force 10th scale pan car (under construction)

-Associated B4, T4
-Losi XXX-CR, XXX-4

"Evil will always triumph over good, because good is dumb!" :
-Dark Helmet, master of the Dark Side of the Shwartz......
Justinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 12:47 AM   #14585
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Orion lipo should fit..
the Pro4 has extra parts that hold stick packs plus battery brace..

for the price of a plain Pro4... I'll sell you my Hara edition.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 12:49 AM   #14586
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,272
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justinian
I was wondering if the Pro 4 is capable of holding the Orion 4800 platinum lipo packs?? It looked like in one of Orion's ads they used a Pro 4 as an example of how the lipo fit... at least it looked like a Pro 4....

Is the Pro 4 more or less durable than say, a XXX-S G+ ?? I only race stock and 19 turn in TC for the moment and was wonder what the strong and weak points of this car would be... (I'm looking at the plain Pro 4, not the Hara edition...) Any thoughts???
The Pro 4 is a really durable car. It will break in the same areas as any other car. Stock up on steering knuckles, caster blocks, ball studs and suspension arms. If, you're using a one-way or spool, stock up on bevel gears.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 04:26 PM   #14587
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Fortunately, I have not have to replace anything on it except for the bevel gears. I ran my Novak Brushless 4.5 and developed weird sound after the 2nd run. Apparently, the small gear in the rear diff was bad. I changed it but still makes occasional sound even though I have just designed that car for stock motor duties. Is it true that version 2 of the bevel gear is less prone to being chewed up? I am having trouble locating the bevel gear set at my LHS. Any suggestion or feedback?
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 08:57 PM   #14588
Tech Addict
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The new gears are different for both bevel, and diff gears.
The newer bevel gears are re-enforced to stop the diwely spaced teeth from spreading under load.

The diff gear is re-enforced on the back side of the gear to stop the entire gear face from flexing backwards under load.

The Ver 2 gears are much stronger than the originals, and should stand up to use with a 4.5 just fine.

If you have a large stock of v1 gears, you can purchase a CF backing plate to stop the gear flex.
AngryAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 09:17 PM   #14589
Tech Addict
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just got home from running my car for the second time on carpet. It's been a couple of weeks since the first time I ran and it took a little to get back into a groove. LAst time I started off on 1/2 throttle and moved to 3/4 throttle before a control arm was broken (not by me though).

This evening went well except for the fact that halfway through my 2nd pack and I clipped the wall with the LF which happen to make the RR wheel break. i replaced the wheel and when i drove it, the car oversteered badly. When I checked it, I found the front diff had come loose. I checked it and apart from a thrust ball missing everything seemed fine so I put in another ball and put it back together. What I want to know, is the diff loosening something that is fairly common and what can I do to stop it happening again? Loctite the threads?
__________________
I'm not a grown man playing with toys. I'm a hobbyist.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 10:30 PM   #14590
Tech Master
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,569
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Greasemonkey,

The last time i ran my Pro4 i had a similar problem with the diff slipping all the time. Your best option, like you said is to loctite the threads and see how ya go with that. Might be an option to get the Heavy Duty nut aswell.

At one stage my diff actually became loose just sitting on my pit table... i have no idea how that happens but it did!...

I'm not really sure WHY it happens, it just seems to be a problem with the diffs.

See how you go with that,

Cheers,

Robbie
__________________
Robbie Lloyd

Yokomo * HobbyWing * Sanwa
xray racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 12:02 AM   #14591
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 91
Default wtb pro 4 shock tower

hey guys

Anyone in the San Francisco bay area have an extra rear shock tower they wanna sell me. I could use one asap and all the surrounding shops are out of stock as well as their distributers for at least a month. The car sucks as a shelf queen. thanks

ryan

rai13@hotmail.com
or pm me.
rai13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 01:00 AM   #14592
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,915
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

GreaseMonkey,

Are you guys by chance using the stock plastic diff halves? I'm using the machined delrin ones and have no real diff slip issues after the first adjustment after a rebuild. Maybe the stock plastic ones are expanding/ shrinking when your diff heats up/ cools down.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...

Last edited by MikeR; 08-11-2006 at 09:35 PM.
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 09:04 AM   #14593
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,218
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rai13
hey guys

Anyone in the San Francisco bay area have an extra rear shock tower they wanna sell me. I could use one asap and all the surrounding shops are out of stock as well as their distributers for at least a month. The car sucks as a shelf queen. thanks

ryan

rai13@hotmail.com
or pm me.
try Ebay...that's where I got mine...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 12:12 PM   #14594
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryAsian
The new gears are different for both bevel, and diff gears.
The newer bevel gears are re-enforced to stop the diwely spaced teeth from spreading under load.

The diff gear is re-enforced on the back side of the gear to stop the entire gear face from flexing backwards under load.

The Ver 2 gears are much stronger than the originals, and should stand up to use with a 4.5 just fine.

If you have a large stock of v1 gears, you can purchase a CF backing plate to stop the gear flex.
Do you have the part number for the CF backing plate? Who makes it?
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 12:17 PM   #14595
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

I have a couple purple pro4 suspension mounts, I think they are both 2.5, and a purple spool. I dont think it has been used, ill have to look at it again when I get home. If anyone is interested drop me a pm.

Thanks.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0