Community
Wiki Posts
Search

wheel balancing

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2007, 09:52 PM
Tech Regular

Default wheel balancing

after spending many hours reading threads on rctech.i appreciate the time work and effort that goes in to making these cars so fast!
castor,camber.toe in/out,rollcentre,corner balancing.armature balancing and brush alignment etc etc.
but there doesnt seem to be anything regarding wheel balancing???
we all know what its like to drive a car down the motorway (freeway)
when one or the two front wheels are out of balance.the car shakes like a junkie waiting for its next fix hence making the car hard to control etc
so why hasnt this been looked at? if it has shoot me im new to this
im sure some of you wise old dogs out there could explain why you dont take these measures
i just thought it would be an interesting debate? and bid you good day!
cheers newbie england uk the land of the rising turban
Old 01-13-2007, 09:58 PM
Tech Master

Well the tires don't have that much rotating weight, so balancing them won't have too much of an effect.
Old 01-13-2007, 10:07 PM
Tech Regular

i think there is quite alot of weight there in rim,insert and tyre. especially to scale.and the power rc cars produce is astonishing.if a full size car produced rc car power to scale you would be looking at a 1000bhp???
so what affects does having all that power running through them do. if they are infact badly balanced.surely it must be a bad thing?

also if its a weight thing then? the armature wouldnt need balancing. would it?
im not by any means thinking im right !
i am just wanting a better understanding of the matter in hand
Old 01-13-2007, 11:01 PM
Tech Master

Armatures are sensitive to being unbalanced while tires aren't as much. Also, our RC cars aren't as precise of those of real cars. There's always some play in the suspension.
Old 01-14-2007, 12:08 AM
Tech Apprentice