Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Are my Batteries Shot?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 11:49 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Are my Batteries Shot?

I have a few questions about charging and discharging capacities. I have 3 used 3300 mah (4 Cell) matched packs that I got with the 1/12th car I recently purchased (also used). I just got a duratrax Ice charger and now finally have some feedback on what the batts are doing during their cycles.

The Three packs on average over 3 charge/discharge cycles are only discharging about 2000-2200 mah (down to 0.9v) and are only taking 2300-2500 on charges. The Average resistance for the packs on discharge has been about 34 mohms. These numbers are average of the 3 packs and do vary a bit from pack to pack. I have a spreadsheet with precise data if that helps at all.

I am new to racing and dont need top of the line stuff since I cant drive worth a darn anyway, but I do want to make sure that these things are at least halfway decent and also be able to pick the strongest/healthiest pack to use in the main.

The charger settings are all correct. I just have no idea what this data SHOULD be for comparative purposes to judge the condition of these packs.

4 Questions -

1) Is it normal for batts to only discharge and charge at a small portion of their rated mah capacity or should these number be closer to 3300?

2) Is it normal for them to take more mah on charge than they give off on discharge? I would think these two should be darn close to being the same.

3) What should the internal resistance of the packs be if they are in good shape?

4) Are my packs just spent and need to be replaced badly or are they good to go for a while?

Thanks for the help.

-Hank
Old 09-27-2006, 03:01 PM
Tech Initiate

I would especially appreciate the input from someone who uses the ICE charger, but I imagine the numbers will be similar regardless of charger. Any thoughts?
Old 09-27-2006, 05:52 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)