R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2006, 05:25 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default Novak Smart Tray quick question

for example if i set the cutoff at 0.9 will the novak smart tray automatically cutts of its set voltage per cell??? or it will just turn the led off per cell and continue to discharge it??? or it will just hold into 0.9 .........???
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 05:32 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So ILL Larry Dean Pope
Posts: 479
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Novak smart tray

As their info states on the smart tray and smart tray se the (ICM) individual cell monitoring will hold the cell to the specified voltage cutoff until removed. Here is a link for the smart trays.

http://www.teamnovak.com/products/di...ray/index.html
ldp787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 06:46 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

I believe the SE version will hold the batteries at 0.9V

The original design version (which doesn't have the blue as well as red LED's) does not hold the voltage at 0.9, you would have to use it again just before charging.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 07:03 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I figured I would post this here just to save forum space. What do I have to do to use my Smart Tray with 4 cell?
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:52 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So ILL Larry Dean Pope
Posts: 479
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Novak smart tray

If you have a saddle pack, push all of the cells together. Position the negative battery connection bar on the left side bottom.

If it sparks and you're battery gets warm you did it wrong.

Last edited by ldp787; 11-07-2007 at 07:45 AM.
ldp787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 10:39 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
nikkiesteban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,649
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nikkiesteban
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins
I believe the SE version will hold the batteries at 0.9V

The original design version (which doesn't have the blue as well as red LED's) does not hold the voltage at 0.9, you would have to use it again just before charging.

Skiddins
so it means that the first novak smart tray(not the blue leds) will just cut it off then turn the current off for the cell who 1st reached 0.9v and so on for other cells???? am i right??
nikkiesteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 10:42 PM   #7
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Can the Smart Tray do single cells?
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 11:58 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Yup, just like their $35 D-90 discharge tray
ittjv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 08:41 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldp787
If you have a saddle pack, push all of the cells together. Position the negative battery connection bar on the left side bottom.

If it sparks and you're battery gets warm you did it wrong.
Thanks alot!
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 02:53 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkiesteban
so it means that the first novak smart tray(not the blue leds) will just cut it off then turn the current off for the cell who 1st reached 0.9v and so on for other cells???? am i right??
Yes, it just cuts off the 'discharge' to whichever cell as it reaches 0.9-0.1V (You can adjust the cut-off voltage between 0.1V to 0.9V).

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 03:11 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

does anybody know if novak have a uk repaire service if not how much it would be for novak to fix is there a standard charge.
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery/Novak smart tray question..... DotyThe8ight Electric On-Road 3 12-27-2006 11:16 AM
Dead short question for novak smart tray fat500 Electric On-Road 3 03-19-2006 12:42 AM
novak smart tray question chrisw Electric On-Road 8 01-18-2006 01:31 PM
Question on Novak Smart Tray gaeric Electric On-Road 3 10-31-2005 10:29 AM
Trinity absolute zero tray/ novak smart tray ALL APPROVED R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-14-2005 07:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net