R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2010, 06:37 AM   #12226
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I really want to put my 1 way back in, but there is a big race coming up and they won't allow 1 ways!
That seems rather... well, stupid.

I did some setup changes today, and I realized how important rear diff tightness is just by loosening the rear diff and changing to a thicker sway bar I was able to push the car so much harder now without having the rear end step out. But I still need to somehow gain at least .5 seconds per lap.
__________________
Team Associated B5m | Team Associated T5m | Team Associated TC6 | Team Associated TC5x
Scooter79rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 06:51 AM   #12227
Tech Master
 
BIG DADDY8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AUSTIN, TX
Posts: 1,542
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BIG DADDY8
Questions??

whats the easiest way to see if the chassis is tweeked. If it is whats the easiest way to fix. THe problem im having is on power it want to pull to the left on the straight
BIG DADDY8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 06:57 AM   #12228
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I really want to put my 1 way back in, but there is a big race coming up and they won't allow 1 ways!

I do have a ball diff. I'll see if I can get it together. I tried black sway bars, but it made my car feel like it was on ice. I don't know why they wont work for me. Everyone else seems to like them.

Today, I'm going to try 40 wt oil and 6degree caster blocks. I'll report back later today.
Do you run RCGT? That class doesn't allow 1-ways.

Do one thing at a time. Change the front shock wt first.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 06:58 AM   #12229
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG DADDY8 View Post
whats the easiest way to see if the chassis is tweeked. If it is whats the easiest way to fix. THe problem im having is on power it want to pull to the left on the straight
Not too sure how to see tweek, one method I've told to remove is to loosen of the chassis plate screws and just let the carbon fibre to re-settle it self for a day or so and then re-tighten the screws.
__________________
Team Associated B5m | Team Associated T5m | Team Associated TC6 | Team Associated TC5x
Scooter79rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 07:03 AM   #12230
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG DADDY8 View Post
whats the easiest way to see if the chassis is tweeked. If it is whats the easiest way to fix. THe problem im having is on power it want to pull to the left on the straight


The easiest way is to lay your car (without wheels) on an ultra flat surface such as a setup board or perhaps, a glass table top. Look at the chassis at eye level and if it doesn't sit perfectly flat on the table top, then it is tweeked.

The easiest fix is to loosen the screws on your top deck and then press down on each end of your car as your re-tighten your screws. If that doesn't fix the tweek, then loosen all the screws for your top deck, bulkheads, bearing caps, shock towers and then carfully re-tighten then evening. If that still doesn't fix the tweek, then you may have a tweeked chassis or even a bent bulkhead. Also, pay attention to your battery and how you tape and/or screw the battery mount on as it can tweek your chassis, too.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 10:15 AM   #12231
Tech Initiate
 
jwq500rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central CA
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default TC5

I'm not a newbie, but I have a question that makes me feel like one. Reading this thread I see to build the shocks with no or very little rebound. I've tried everything to get there, but I still get alot of rebound. What I'm I doing wrong?

Thanks
Jim
jwq500rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 12:46 PM   #12232
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Jersey -- Exit 4
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tweaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooter79rs View Post
Not too sure how to see tweek, one method I've told to remove is to loosen of the chassis plate screws and just let the carbon fibre to re-settle it self for a day or so and then re-tighten the screws.
Real carbon fiber is very dimensionally stable. You can bend it out of shape for a year and as soon as you relax the force, it will snap back to the original shape. That's one of the great things about carbon fiber. So if it's real carbon fiber and it was flat to begin with, it will go back to flat as soon as you remove any forces acting on it. Using a surface plate to install the top deck is good advice. Also, keep in mind that things like the battery straps, clamps, screws can tweak the chassis as well.

Using a tweak station is a good way to get your wheels on the same plane. A good practice is to set the front wheels level with the chassis first. Shorten the tweak station and set the chassis on the stationary tweak bar, just in front of the rear wheels to do this. Then set the tweak bars to the wheelbase and set the front wheels on the stationary bar and adjust the rears. This way the tires and chassis will both be on the same plane.
__________________
“There’s little point in writing if you can’t annoy somebody.”- Kingsley Amis

Last edited by jhberger; 04-19-2010 at 05:25 AM.
jhberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 02:06 PM   #12233
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq500rc View Post
I'm not a newbie, but I have a question that makes me feel like one. Reading this thread I see to build the shocks with no or very little rebound. I've tried everything to get there, but I still get alot of rebound. What I'm I doing wrong?

Thanks
Jim
Check out the post I made a few pages back Team Associated TC5. That's how I bleed my shocks and I have zero rebound everytime.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 02:26 PM   #12234
Tech Regular
 
intimidator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orlando,Florida
Posts: 257
Default

My tc5 has a solid diff,is that what comes with a new kit?Whats the correct length to build the shocks?
intimidator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 04:30 PM   #12235
Tech Initiate
 
jwq500rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central CA
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Bfong. I'll give that a try. What size hole should I drill in the cap?
jwq500rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 05:32 PM   #12236
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwq500rc View Post
Thanks Bfong. I'll give that a try. What size hole should I drill in the cap?
Actually, I just used a body reamer to make the bleeder holes. The bleeder hole should be really small, just enough so that any air can evacuate from the cap. If you notice towards the bottom of the post I mentioned, I posted a picture of the actual bleeder hole in the shock cap. Hope this helps.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 05:51 PM   #12237
Tech Initiate
 
jwq500rc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central CA
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks again bfong. I used a 1/16 bit, and it seams to work fine. At least I have no rebound. I won't race again until next Sunday, so I'll try this setup then.

Jim
jwq500rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:27 PM   #12238
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default



That's where I ended up for the day.

My best weekend by far with this car. The car is very drivable, predictable, and stable. I would have played with more adjustments, but there is only so much time in a day.

I could always use more on power high speed steering if it is possible. I know there is only so much possible. If you have anymore suggestions to try, I'm all ears.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:26 AM   #12239
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post


That's where I ended up for the day.

My best weekend by far with this car. The car is very drivable, predictable, and stable. I would have played with more adjustments, but there is only so much time in a day.

I could always use more on power high speed steering if it is possible. I know there is only so much possible. If you have anymore suggestions to try, I'm all ears.

--pakk
Did you get a chance to try the diff in the front or did you stay with the spool (slipper spool or regular spool?)?

Also, have you tried running sway bars since you changed to this new setup?

I see what you're trying to do by moving the front shocks to 4b...you're trying to get the front end to react.

At this point, I'd probably recommend trying sway bars again. Also, perhaps even going thicker with your front oil, perhaps 50 or 60wt. Prior to changing from a slipper spool to a 1-way, I ran 60wt and a silver sway bar in the front and 40wt with a black sway bar in the rear. It ran alright, but also needed more on-power steering. It didn't really get good Tamiya/X-Ray smack down steering until I switched to the 6deg caster and the 1-way.

Are you running RCGT and that's why you can't run the 1-way?
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:32 AM   #12240
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,949
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know where i can get a set of inline rear bulkheads?Just recently switched from losi back to the 5.
steve eaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net