Search

Power Caps & Schottky's ???

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 03:30 PM
Tech Rookie

Power Caps & Schottky's ???

Hi all.

I'm a nOOb when it comes to R/C.
I bought a Power Cap for my TT-01 and I just figured out how to connect the damn thing.
The ESC I use is a Novak XRS, from a Team Losi car.
When I bought the ESC there was some sticker things saying DO NOT USE SCHOTTKY Diodes with this ESC.
Are schottky diodes the same as a Power Cap??
Anyone with the same ESC??

Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers
Old 03-16-2006, 03:48 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by JohanZ
Hi all.

I'm a nOOb when it comes to R/C.
I bought a Power Cap for my TT-01 and I just figured out how to connect the damn thing.
The ESC I use is a Novak XRS, from a Team Losi car.
When I bought the ESC there was some sticker things saying DO NOT USE SCHOTTKY Diodes with this ESC.
Are schottky diodes the same as a Power Cap??
Anyone with the same ESC??

Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers
Schottky diodes are not the same thing as a power cap. I'm not an electrical engineer by any means, but the basic idea with the Schotkky is that it's used to prevent big spikes of reverse current from coming back down the pipe from the motor to the speed control, particularly when you back off the power.

The reason that you can't use this with an ESC like the XRS is because it will create a short circuit if the ESC tries to apply reverse voltage to back the car up. Most racing ESC's are forward-only, so this isn't a problem and that's why they recommend the Schottky - it reduces heat, voltage spikes, etc.

The power cap is used to buffer and smooth the input power flow coming from the battery to the ESC. Smoother voltage and less peaks/dips on the input side also helps to keep the ESC cool and safe. There should be no problem using a power cap with pretty much any ESC although many are ok without them.
Old 03-16-2006, 03:48 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)