Community
Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree29Likes

Mugen MBX7R Eco thread!

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2017, 12:57 AM
Tech Initiate

I'm new to Mugen, bought a 2nd hand MBX7TR nitro, both bevel gears where worn to bits. The guy claimed he had 10 races on it. My Losi 3.0 TE has run a whole year, without any wear. Is it normal for MUGEN?????
Old 08-07-2017, 05:22 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

I have the buggy and have never stripped a tooth on the pinion or ring gear. They rust on me but never strip. I got over a year on mine and I bought it used off of here. I've never had a diff related problem w/ mugen.
Old 08-08-2017, 08:14 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by gerry6112
I'm new to Mugen, bought a 2nd hand MBX7TR nitro, both bevel gears where worn to bits. The guy claimed he had 10 races on it. My Losi 3.0 TE has run a whole year, without any wear. Is it normal for MUGEN?????

I was having problems like that. Check the "mbx7tr eco" thread!

I had problems with the gears immediately, the day I built the thing. I took it out and ran it, and immediately had gear noise. I thought it was an issue with shimming the diffs, but I couldn't fix it. Eventually I decided to run it as is, because I couldn't find an obvious problem. I ran it as is until the inner input shaft bearing self-destructed, which is when I found the mangled gears in my previous posts on the truggy thread.

The oil was thick and black--I thought it was just metal shavings. But as I kept troubleshooting, I figured out that I was getting dirt inside the bulkhead.

I think I had 3 issues in my situation.

First issue was slop on the input gear--it should be pressed firmly toward the drive shaft when securing so there is no slop. If the input shaft/pinion is able to slide in toward the diff, it'll damage itself and the ring gear. (This is a truggy specific problem--the gears for truggy are cut differently from the buggy.)