Wiki Posts
Search

Mamba Max vs. Sidewinder

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2008, 01:31 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max vs. Sidewinder

Aside from the obvious difference in the programming interface (Mamba Max includes a Castle Link versus Sidewinder requiring Castle Link), what is the real difference between these two?

I've glanced at their spec, most likely written by their marketing folks, and couldn't really deduce anything since:

Mamba Max:
Continuous(Current): 100A

Sidewinder:
Continuous(Current): More than you can handle! <------ That's marketing talk!

So what are we actually paying for in performance difference between the two?
Old 09-17-2008, 01:39 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

the mamba is better but for the price of the sidewinder
u will get the same speed the same timing ...etc. i have a mamba and
i love have no problems w/it but u can down load the link on the
CC web sight
Old 09-17-2008, 01:57 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Max vs Sidewinder, SW is limited to 4600: Up to 3s LiPo 12 cell NiMH
or 5700: Up to 2s LiPo 8 cell NiMH

MM up to and including 7700: Up to 3s LiPo 12 cell NiMH

My Max has the USB port on the ESC to plug directly into PC. (tons of options)
My SW needs CastleLink, unplug esc from receiver, plug esc into Castlelink and to computer. Same options)
Old 09-17-2008, 02:07 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

The Pres of Castle used to post on RCM and he explained they would not rate their esc in amps since there was no standard test protocol. He said Castle wouldn't inflate their numbers to match competitors to look competitive so their products would be at a disadvantage on paper if they were to rate them. They offer no rating.

I've got both, but haven't used the Sidewinder yet. Have seen nothing about a continuous rating on the forums I belong too.
Old 09-17-2008, 02:25 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by tom_chang79