Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Vintage Forum
I bought a RC10B2 >

I bought a RC10B2

I bought a RC10B2

Old 07-27-2016, 05:08 PM
  #1  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default I bought a RC10B2

Well, pieces of one, off of ebay.

My question...What B4 wise crosses over at all with the old kit? Can anything transmission wise be adapted?
Socket is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 06:17 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: My house.
Posts: 3,567
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Have you decided if you are going to restore to full B2 specs or B3? The difference is minimal in parts and as far as I can tell the B3 was a step in the right direction.

Parts that are compatible, well, straight fit are: slipper and top shaft and that's it.

Parts that may fit correctly enabling the use of std hex wheels: B5 carriers/hubs. Why? B4 parts where used to run B4 wheels, B5 parts are same geometry as the B4 but metric. Warning I didn't test this.
30Tooth is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 06:23 PM
  #3  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

My plans are a B2/B3/B5 hybrid. I have access to a giant amount of B5 parts, and would like to go with everything suspension and drive as B5, and then use B5 wheels. Trans towers and chassis would be B3.
Socket is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 06:24 PM
  #4  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Can I use a B4 top shaft in the B2/B3 trans?
Socket is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 06:54 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: My house.
Posts: 3,567
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can, the B4 top shaft is used even in the first stealth drive train to run a better slipper.

Originally Posted by Socket View Post
My plans are a B2/B3/B5 hybrid. I have access to a giant amount of B5 parts, and would like to go with everything suspension and drive as B5, and then use B5 wheels. Trans towers and chassis would be B3.
Then I think you can just use all suspension parts in the B2 provided you drill the B5 arm to go through the B2 1/8" hinge pin, front inner hinge pin length is 1-3/8" (according to my source, can't read SAE). Only thing is going to be tuff is how to mount the rear arms as the arm mounts are not like it's used today(there's an arm mount between the arm ends, not after the arm ends like the B4 and so on). Other than that expected to be smooth sailing.

About the drive train I am apprehensive of bolting any B5 parts other than the slipper, B4 top shaft and VTS slipper is all I would do.
30Tooth is offline  
Old 07-27-2016, 07:48 PM
  #6  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Right on. I am thinking the same lines then. B4 top shaft and a Schelle slipper.

For arm mounts---I'm not afraid to drill and counter sink the rear T plate for the C and D mount from the B5. I have both alloy mounts sitting here.
Socket is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 03:45 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: My house.
Posts: 3,567
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Good idea and with the arm change I think there's enough space to make them work. Oh BTW, internal ratio is 2.25 so you can get away with smaller pinions.
30Tooth is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 10:19 AM
  #8  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 30Tooth View Post
Good idea and with the arm change I think there's enough space to make them work. Oh BTW, internal ratio is 2.25 so you can get away with smaller pinions.
2.25 on the B4, right? I found out the B4 diff works in the B3/B2 cases, but you have to run the full B4 diff, which I have easy access to!

I'll need to look up what the B4 ratio is, if it's not 2.25. Iirc the B2/b3 was....2.4?
Socket is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 10:21 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (170)
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 6,248
Trader Rating: 170 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Socket View Post
2.25 on the B4, right? I found out the B4 diff works in the B3/B2 cases, but you have to run the full B4 diff, which I have easy access to!

I'll need to look up what the B4 ratio is, if it's not 2.25. Iirc the B2/b3 was....2.4?
B2/B3 were 2.4:1

B4 was 2.6:1

https://www.teamassociated.com/cars_...s/RC10B2/Team/
https://www.teamassociated.com/cars_...s/RC10B3/Team/
https://www.teamassociated.com/cars_.../Factory_Team/
Matt Trimmings is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 02:06 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: My house.
Posts: 3,567
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sorry for the mix-up, the 2.25 were the Truck's/first stealth tranny. I can't seem to find anything saying the B4 diff will fit, remember the B4 had 2 ball diffs throughout it's life, one with SAE bearings and another with metric bearings. The challenge would be the diff gear itself because of the different teeth count.

Don't worry about train drive parts, the Thunder Tiger Phoenix BX and ST are the B3 and T3, respectively. Parts and upgrades are obtainable that way.
30Tooth is offline  
Old 08-02-2016, 06:00 PM
  #11  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Well, I have two complete B4.2 FT's here to pull parts from, and a Rc10B5 coming.

I'd really like to put B5 rear arm mounts on, but mocking up the C and D mount isn't looking good. I may have to use B5M C and D mounts...
Socket is offline  
Old 08-03-2016, 06:09 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: My house.
Posts: 3,567
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I assumed that you were speaking of the B5M mounts at first. The B5 arm mounts attach by the outer side and are a no-no. The photo I've seen of the rear end without motor I see enough space front and rear of the gear box to mount the arm mounts. Seem to have enough space to the rear mount clear the motor too.

30Tooth is offline  
Old 08-03-2016, 01:25 PM
  #13  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

I agree. B5 mounts are out. The question is now, can I make B5M mounts work. So far the pivots are about the same width.

Front arms are interesting, the bulkheads won't interchange..but the arms WILL!

So it looks like B5 front arms with castor blocks and steering blocks on the front.
Socket is offline  
Old 08-03-2016, 01:35 PM
  #14  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Where did those alloy arm mounts come from?
Socket is offline  
Old 08-03-2016, 07:35 PM
  #15  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,121
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

It's happening...

Socket is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.