Like Tree289Likes

Team Scream Racing

Old 07-05-2018, 11:11 AM
  #2251  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nubs View Post
Anyone have an answer for this?
How hot did the motor get?
Was it a 25.5?
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:15 AM
  #2252  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nubs View Post
Anyone have an answer for this?
The rotor would be the only thing needed replaced.
Does it still have a thump to it when you spin it?
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:22 AM
  #2253  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
TOADYY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,576
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I noticed there is no customized option with the 10.5 motor. Is there any improvement if you were to customize the motor? I want to run this motor at the Protoform Cup in my Pro 10 w/ boost.
TOADYY is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:42 AM
  #2254  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TOADYY View Post
I noticed there is no customized option with the 10.5 motor. Is there any improvement if you were to customize the motor? I want to run this motor at the Protoform Cup in my Pro 10 w/ boost.
I just talked to John, the owner, you can get a "The1" version of the 10.5, it's just not listed.
For the class you are running, what size is the track and is it 2s?
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:47 AM
  #2255  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
TOADYY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,576
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sg1 View Post
I just talked to John, the owner, you can get a "The1" version of the 10.5, it's just not listed.
For the class you are running, what size is the track and is it 2s?
Great! Yes 2S. The track has a 200+' straight away. From my understanding only 3/4 of the track will be used for the Protoform Cup.

Steel City R/C Speedway

https://www.facebook.com/steelcityrcspeedway/

Last edited by TOADYY; 07-05-2018 at 11:54 AM. Reason: added link
TOADYY is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 11:58 AM
  #2256  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TOADYY View Post
Great! Yes 2S. The track has a 200+' straight away. From my understanding only 3/4 of the track will be used for the Protoform Cup.

Steel City R/C Speedway

https://www.facebook.com/steelcityrcspeedway/
The 10.5 comes with a 12.5 4 line rotor...
If you choose to use that I would suggest less timing in the ESC and more gear.
The other option would be to go to a "F1" rotor which is a 12.3 and almost 200 points weaker.
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 12:05 PM
  #2257  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
TOADYY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,576
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sg1 View Post
The 10.5 comes with a 12.5 4 line rotor...
If you choose to use that I would suggest less timing in the ESC and more gear.
The other option would be to go to a "F1" rotor which is a 12.3 and almost 200 points weaker.
How much timing should I put in the ESC? And any other settings. Thanks.
TOADYY is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 12:21 PM
  #2258  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TOADYY View Post
How much timing should I put in the ESC? And any other settings. Thanks.
With either rotor we typically start at 16 to 18* in the motor.
With the stock rotor, timing around 30*, Play with when the timing is put in and ends (RPM numbers).
With the F1 rotor, timing around 40*, Start a much smaller pinion and Play with the RPM settings.
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 04:31 PM
  #2259  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
nubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sg1 View Post
How hot did the motor get?
Was it a 25.5?
17.5T
Got to about 174 degrees. It was surprising because it wasn't that hot outside.
nubs is offline  
Old 07-06-2018, 05:26 AM
  #2260  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nubs View Post
17.5T
Got to about 174 degrees. It was surprising because it wasn't that hot outside.
174 isn't terrible... On carpet indoor we have seen higher without affecting the rotor.
If you have a gauss meter you could take the motor apart and see how the rotor looks.
If not, send it back and we can take a look at it and see if it needs a rotor.
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-06-2018, 05:37 PM
  #2261  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
nubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sg1 View Post
The rotor would be the only thing needed replaced.
Does it still have a thump to it when you spin it?
BY thump do you mean like a strong magnetic pull?
nubs is offline  
Old 07-08-2018, 11:17 AM
  #2262  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,837
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nubs View Post
BY thump do you mean like a strong magnetic pull?
Iím sure thatís what he means. Iíve had a fan quit working and my motor reached well over 200* and the motor was fine. Make sure your fan didnít cut on and off like several other fans Iíve used.
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 07-09-2018, 06:17 AM
  #2263  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nubs View Post
BY thump do you mean like a strong magnetic pull?
Yes!
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-09-2018, 09:52 AM
  #2264  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
nubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah it does! Hmm maybe the problem is with the ESC.
nubs is offline  
Old 07-09-2018, 10:07 AM
  #2265  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nubs View Post
Yeah it does! Hmm maybe the problem is with the ESC.
What ESC are you using?

I know with my HW ESC's I had to make sure I ran multiple caps and kept the ESC cool or the breaks would fade during the race.

I also lowered the break frequency.
JC3 likes this.
sg1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.