Like Tree303Likes

Team Scream Racing

Old 07-19-2017, 12:02 PM
  #1651  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jdawg81
Is there an easy way to check our motors for this issue? I assume if the motor doesn't vibrate while giving it some throttle the motor is good. I hope it's not a common problem with these motors.
I can push my stator towards each end of the can, back and forth about 1-1.5mm. I haven't ran it but 1 weekend so far. So it's still pretty much brand new. Maybe I can video it and upload it. There really isn't any way to fix it other than epoxying it in place honestly. Or get some sort of insulator on the output shaft side to sandwich it in.
bdmpastx is offline  
Old 07-20-2017, 10:04 AM
  #1652  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
JC@TSCM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Danvers, MA
Posts: 682
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default stator

For the customers that the stator is sliding down in the can or is loose, can you please tell me when you ordered the motor. We had this issue when the motor first came out in September last year. I had the factory change the epoxy used to hold it in place and thought it was taken care off.

What I have had others do is tap the stator back into place towards the sensor side of the motor. Once it is there, you can apply epoxy in the vent holes on the stator sleeve (not the front bearing sleeve with large vent holes) This will keep it in place.

If you do not feel comfortable doing it, please ship it back and I will take care of it for you. Address is below

Team Scream Racing
119 Conant St
Danvers MA 01923
JC@TSCM is offline  
Old 07-20-2017, 11:38 AM
  #1653  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I got mine in March of this year. just so you know. And I show no signs of any epoxy on my stator at all. I don't mind epoxying it myself. I have some high temp CPU epoxy I can use.
bdmpastx is offline  
Old 07-20-2017, 11:38 AM
  #1654  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
tbrymer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,556
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by porsche928gs
I have the exact same problem with mine. I will pull the trigger and doesn't want to go for a half a second, then takes off. I had the semsor wire replaced, change esc, the same. I have the 21.5 "one" version.
Not sure what ESC you have, but a lot of them have a torque setting and/or "initial" power/speed/torque setting. If this is too low, you might have that problem.
tbrymer is offline  
Old 07-20-2017, 01:37 PM
  #1655  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JC@TSCM
For the customers that the stator is sliding down in the can or is loose, can you please tell me when you ordered the motor. We had this issue when the motor first came out in September last year. I had the factory change the epoxy used to hold it in place and thought it was taken care off.

What I have had others do is tap the stator back into place towards the sensor side of the motor. Once it is there, you can apply epoxy in the vent holes on the stator sleeve (not the front bearing sleeve with large vent holes) This will keep it in place.

If you do not feel comfortable doing it, please ship it back and I will take care of it for you. Address is below

Team Scream Racing
119 Conant St
Danvers MA 01923
I would also like to add that if you see any TSR drivers at a race you can come up to us and ask for help. Most of us are able to fix this issue and have you back on the track in no time!
Kave is offline  
Old 07-20-2017, 05:58 PM
  #1656  
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,421
Default

Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya
This weekend was hot at my track. A very large track. Motor temps were getting up there so I turned down timing to 40 and kept my fdr at 3.8ish. I was noticeably slower in practice. So I decided to try the opposite thing and go back up to 50 on timing and changed fdr to a 4.16. Temps were manageable in the 150/160 degree range but the car came alive. Going to keep it in this ballpark for the summer and see how it goes. This was 17.5 tc. I pulled out a back to back win in usgt and 17.5 this past weekend. Funny that my usgt is timed at 40 and geared at 2.96 and temps stayed around 150/160. Whatever works.
How big is your track and how was fade at 6mins?

I was planning on trying something similar next raceday.
ShaunMac is offline  
Old 07-20-2017, 10:55 PM
  #1657  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,837
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ShaunMac
How big is your track and how was fade at 6mins?

I was planning on trying something similar next raceday.
100x40
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 07-21-2017, 10:26 AM
  #1658  
Tech Apprentice
 
Toyota Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 63
Default 1/12

I am running a 17.5 "the 1" and was curious what timing and rollout
should be used on medium length black carpet tracks. I have been
running 40* and 85-86 rollout. I keep hearing about guys running
more timing a much higher rollouts.

On another note, my first TS 17.5 "1" has a loose stator. Thanks for
the epoxy tip. JB weld!
Toyota Tom is offline  
Old 07-21-2017, 11:30 AM
  #1659  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Toyota Tom
I am running a 17.5 "the 1" and was curious what timing and rollout
should be used on medium length black carpet tracks. I have been
running 40* and 85-86 rollout. I keep hearing about guys running
more timing a much higher rollouts.

On another note, my first TS 17.5 "1" has a loose stator. Thanks for
the epoxy tip. JB weld!
On smaller tracks I like slightly higher timing.
Try 42 to 44* on a motolyser and lower your RO.

What is the length straight?
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-21-2017, 01:41 PM
  #1660  
Tech Apprentice
 
Toyota Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 63
Default

Originally Posted by sg1
On smaller tracks I like slightly higher timing.
Try 42 to 44* on a motolyser and lower your RO.

What is the length straight?
About 100' with sweepers about 80' straight. 5 infield corners, 3 180's,
on the current layout. (TQ Chino)
Toyota Tom is offline  
Old 07-21-2017, 03:19 PM
  #1661  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Toyota Tom
About 100' with sweepers about 80' straight. 5 infield corners, 3 180's,
on the current layout. (TQ Chino)
I run on an 88 x 40 track.

You're kinda close... With high traction 41 to 42* with a 86/87mm RO

When traction is low I go up 1* of timing with the same gear
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-21-2017, 05:07 PM
  #1662  
Tech Apprentice
 
Toyota Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 63
Default

Thanks!
Toyota Tom is offline  
Old 07-22-2017, 07:00 PM
  #1663  
JAE
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Have two 17.5 "the ones". Been running my primary about 10 race days. The solder tabs have a lot of play moving left and right. They all move together (not independently). I don't recall if they came that way or not. None of my other brand motors have this much. Is this normal? I don't feel any performance difference but am concerned with the long term life of the motor.

Thx all in advance.
JAE is offline  
Old 07-24-2017, 04:18 AM
  #1664  
sg1
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JAE
Have two 17.5 "the ones". Been running my primary about 10 race days. The solder tabs have a lot of play moving left and right. They all move together (not independently). I don't recall if they came that way or not. None of my other brand motors have this much. Is this normal? I don't feel any performance difference but am concerned with the long term life of the motor.

Thx all in advance.
They typically get some movement as wires stretch when things get warm.
sg1 is offline  
Old 07-24-2017, 06:58 AM
  #1665  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 472
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bdmpastx
I can push my stator towards each end of the can, back and forth about 1-1.5mm. I haven't ran it but 1 weekend so far. So it's still pretty much brand new. Maybe I can video it and upload it. There really isn't any way to fix it other than epoxying it in place honestly. Or get some sort of insulator on the output shaft side to sandwich it in.
Well, I guess the stator vibration got the best of the motor. It broke the wire on the stator that connects to the terminals. I managed to re-solder it to the ring and got it epoxied now. Hope it doesn't happen again. If you guys have movement, you better fix it now or you may not be as lucky as me.
bdmpastx is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.