R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2005, 03:16 PM   #3376
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyshore
I have tried using .2V cutoff on the smart tray, and it ups the initial charge to about 2800mah. I know the newer 3300's aren't as durable and lasting as some of the packs from back in the day, but I wasn't expecting to lose 500-600 mah over a 10 month period.

Like I said, the packs are still very strong so there's no complaints in that category.

Thanks.
dont forget to take into consideration.... you are using the packs 3 times a week for the last 10 months? 4 weeks in a month.. so 12 times a month. so you've used the packs 120 times? a drop off is inevitable, but id say thats pretty darn good.

do you have a 3 step charger?
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 03:57 PM   #3377
Tech Master
 
johnnyshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,997
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

I use a Quasar Pro, so no, I don't have a 3 step charger. It's funny that we still have some old 1400 SCR packs from the early 90's that still take 1500+ mah on a charge...ahh, the olden days! :-D

Oh well, I guess it's just age catching up with my packs. I've been very satisfied with their performance, and I'll be getting more PMR packs when the time calls.
__________________
John Schroer
Check out Shamrock R/C Raceway
Minnesota's only outdoor astroturf off-road track!
https://www.facebook.com/ShamrockRC/
johnnyshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 04:16 PM   #3378
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyshore
I use a Quasar Pro, so no, I don't have a 3 step charger. It's funny that we still have some old 1400 SCR packs from the early 90's that still take 1500+ mah on a charge...ahh, the olden days! :-D

Oh well, I guess it's just age catching up with my packs. I've been very satisfied with their performance, and I'll be getting more PMR packs when the time calls.
theres a bunch of things you can do to extend the life of your packs.. but it'll involve an investment (trays, 3step charger... etc) PM me or IM me on AIM.. i can help you out further on there.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 07:07 PM   #3379
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crACkeD ChaSsiS
i run a tc3, will the 3700s have a hardtime fitting, or will they fit just like a 3300, or? bcuZ i want to try the 3700s also!! Thanks alot

Steven Alexander
I ordered some 3700s today but, can anyone help me with the question above?
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 08:06 PM   #3380
Tech Regular
 
PMRGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 373
Default

There's got to be someone here that knows if the 3700's will fit in a tc3
unfortunately I am not one of them but I am trying to get someone to come forward and help........
PMRGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 06:13 AM   #3381
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

I would imagine you will have to grind the chassis to make them fit. I would recommend you getting a BMI chassis...not only will the car drive better but Jason makes it to handle 3700's and 3300's with no problem.

PS You will probably grind a good bit of chassis away if you stick with the stock chassis. If you don't mind grinding then go for it.

And yes I am still watching the PM thread via the hosital.LOL They started her labor but they have given her oain med. so believe it or not she is sleeping,LOL....so here I am surfing....I doubt this will last too much longer.
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:24 AM   #3382
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
theres a bunch of things you can do to extend the life of your packs.. but it'll involve an investment (trays, 3step charger... etc) PM me or IM me on AIM.. i can help you out further on there.
Hebiki, would you post a sample of 3step charging setting for GP3300? I got some old GP3300 and own a ICE (4steps caps) with Novak tray. Like to know how to extend their life...

Thanks lots.
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:31 AM   #3383
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMRGirl
INTELLECT 3800'S ARE READY TO GO!!! RUNTIME STARTS AT 470 AND VOLTAGES ARE 1.175 UP THROUGH THE 1.18'S

great !!! just wondering, were the IB's matched the same as the GP's? 5amp charging, 30amp discharge?
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:36 AM   #3384
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttso
Hebiki, would you post a sample of 3step charging setting for GP3300? I got some old GP3300 and own a ICE (4steps caps) with Novak tray. Like to know how to extend their life...

Thanks lots.
[disclaimer]by using this 3step profile, i am in no way responsible for anything that may happen to your battery pack. by reading my disclaimer you cant sue me if your packs blow up. [/disclaimer]

i use the record breaker charger... and i charge my promatch packs at:

stage1: 0-3500mah / 6amps
stage2: 3500-3520mah / 0.2amps
stage3: 3520-4900mah / 5amps

18-30mv for delta peak (depending on ambient temperature)
45deg C for temp cutoff

btw... ive actually reached the mah cutoff on my GP3700s. it charged up to 4900mah my oldest practice pack 3300s average around 4000-4200mah.

Nobody does it better
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:37 AM   #3385
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Does using a 3 step charging process really better for the batteries? if so... in what what are they better? does it extend the performance/life of the batts?
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:37 AM   #3386
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by promatchrcr
I would imagine you will have to grind the chassis to make them fit. I would recommend you getting a BMI chassis...not only will the car drive better but Jason makes it to handle 3700's and 3300's with no problem.

PS You will probably grind a good bit of chassis away if you stick with the stock chassis. If you don't mind grinding then go for it.

And yes I am still watching the PM thread via the hosital.LOL They started her labor but they have given her oain med. so believe it or not she is sleeping,LOL....so here I am surfing....I doubt this will last too much longer.
early congrats. i hope she has a quick painfree delivery. another member to the PMR family.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 07:51 AM   #3387
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Driver's Stand- Tulsa, OK
Posts: 280
Default But will they fit?

Will the 3700's fit in a TC4?

Same question for the 3800's.

Thanks
JWATT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:02 AM   #3388
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by promatchrcr
And yes I am still watching the PM thread via the hosital.LOL They started her labor but they have given her oain med. so believe it or not she is sleeping,LOL....so here I am surfing....I doubt this will last too much longer.

Congratulations in advance !!!
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:02 AM   #3389
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Hey Chris,
You said Depends on ambiant tempature. In what way should I adjust for ambiant temp? It is getting hot and I don't want to fry my batts. Lets say that the ambiant temp is 85* what delta peak shoudl I use?
or 95*
Or 105* yes it getting that hot here vey soon.
How would I adjust for those numbers.
Thanks in advance.
Stephen <><
Also could you PM me any helpful hints that you have for the Tamiya track would be very much appreciated.
I am racing KO and have never ran there let alone there in late June...
Like tire compounds and gear ratios to start with in 19T with those Yokomo handouts?
Any other hints would be appreicated.
Thanks....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
[disclaimer]by using this 3step profile, i am in no way responsible for anything that may happen to your battery pack. by reading my disclaimer you cant sue me if your packs blow up. [/disclaimer]

i use the record breaker charger... and i charge my promatch packs at:

stage1: 0-3500mah / 6amps
stage2: 3500-3520mah / 0.2amps
stage3: 3520-4900mah / 5amps

18-30mv for delta peak (depending on ambient temperature)
45deg C for temp cutoff

btw... ive actually reached the mah cutoff on my GP3700s. it charged up to 4900mah my oldest practice pack 3300s average around 4000-4200mah.

Nobody does it better
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2005, 08:12 AM   #3390
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by highwayman
Does using a 3 step charging process really better for the batteries? if so... in what what are they better? does it extend the performance/life of the batts?
not sure if its "really" better... but MY PERSONAL opinion/experience. i get the same performance from my packs but more runtime and the packs arent coming off "hot". ive managed to extend the life of my practice packs (formerly race packs) since they dont come off as hot as they did with my older chargers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
Hey Chris,
You said Depends on ambiant tempature. In what way should I adjust for ambiant temp? It is getting hot and I don't want to fry my batts. Lets say that the ambiant temp is 85* what delta peak shoudl I use?
or 95*
Or 105* yes it getting that hot here vey soon.
How would I adjust for those numbers.
Thanks in advance.
Stephen <><
Also could you PM me any helpful hints that you have for the Tamiya track would be very much appreciated.
I am racing KO and have never ran there let alone there in late June...
Like tire compounds and gear ratios to start with in 19T with those Yokomo handouts?
Any other hints would be appreicated.
Thanks....
got AIM? hit me up on there, DunpealHunterC.

maybe erika, or rod can correct me on this. for delta peak. i adjust according to ambient temp.. so.. if its 100 degrees outside.. im sweating buckets. i put the delta peak to 18mv per pack. 3mv per cell. the battery should come off warm not hot.

now.. if its 60 degrees and im wearing a sweater. i crank up the delta peak to 30mv (5mv per cell) so that when the pack peaks.. its also warm.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro-Match Batteries Goingfast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 03-02-2008 12:00 PM
Pro Match Batteries............. RH Customs Electric Off-Road 8 01-17-2006 10:19 AM
Pro Match Batteries dmayhew25 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-26-2005 05:49 PM
FS: 4 Pro Match Batteries L.Fairtrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-10-2004 06:41 PM
How do you zap and match batteries Yokomo Aust Electric On-Road 24 05-10-2004 12:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net