R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-01-2005, 08:34 PM   #3361
Tech Regular
 
PMRGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 373
Default

Ohhh my gosh.....I am so smart I figured it out all by myself......
Thanks Chris, you rock!!!
PMRGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 08:50 PM   #3362
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default batts

i run a tc3, will the 3700s have a hardtime fitting, or will they fit just like a 3300, or? bcuZ i want to try the 3700s also!! Thanks alot

Steven Alexander
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 09:17 PM   #3363
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMRGirl
Ohhh my gosh.....I am so smart I figured it out all by myself......
Thanks Chris, you rock!!!
You Erica have earned a hearty pat on the back and a big "ATA GIRL" from me.
Stand ovation might be pushing it though...LOL
Any word on what we talked about? IB's
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:00 AM   #3364
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Weight comparo

for those concerned about weight...

i helped out a teammate and built them one of their store bought IB3800s.

GP3700s - 410grams
IB3800s - 415grams

erika.. my teammate would have purchased from you, BUT... the race is sunday and the IBs arent ready yet.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 01:24 PM   #3365
Tech Regular
 
PMRGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 373
Default

MrShookie- I thank you......


THEY ARE UP FOR SALE ON THE WEB-SITE www.promatchracing.com

INTELLECT 3800'S ARE READY TO GO!!! RUNTIME STARTS AT 470 AND VOLTAGES ARE 1.175 UP THROUGH THE 1.18'S
PMRGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 01:57 PM   #3366
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern, KY
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just saw you pricing for the 3800 and WOW, I just wish Scotty would allow them at the Vegas race.

How do they compare to the GP3700? Scotty is going to allow those.

I mainly run stock but will run 19T at vegas. How would a 3300 compare to a 3700 to a 3800.

Looking to try and determine do I need to go to a 3700. Will the 3300 be going by the wayside soon?

I am in the market for some new packs soon. 3-4 packs.

Thanks...
__________________
visit Hurricane Motorsports: www.teamhurricane.net | RCAmerica www.RCAmerica.com | HUDY | JACO
bigdog xxx-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 01:58 PM   #3367
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

PMRGirl.... 5am!!!!
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:11 PM   #3368
Tech Master
 
johnnyshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,996
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Hi all,

I have a question regarding my four PMR GP3300 packs...lately, they've been steadily loosing capacity when charging...when I first got the packs, they'd take around 3200-3400 mah when charging at 5.5 amps with a 4mv/cell cutoff.

I've had the packs for probably about 10 months now, and lately I can only get them to take about 2600-2700 on the initial charge at the same settings. I always tray them on a Novak Smart Tray at the .9V cutoff before charging, and they're used about 3 times per week. If I remember correctly, the numbers on the packs average around 420 secs/1.165V.

Just wondering what I can do to get the capacity back up. My local track has been running 6 minute heats with an occasional 8 minute main, but I have a hard enough time making 6 minutes with my 12x2 Orion powered B4 when I'm deep into the trigger, and if I REALLY finesse the car around the track I can just barely make 8 minutes (while other racers can run for several minutes after I've gone dead).

Any suggestions/comments on how to "revive" them would be appreciated. They run VERY strong for just average voltage packs, so I can't complain about their strength.

Thanks in advance.

John
__________________
John Schroer
Check out Shamrock R/C Raceway
Minnesota's only outdoor astroturf off-road track!
https://www.facebook.com/ShamrockRC/
johnnyshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:24 PM   #3369
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog xxx-s
I just saw you pricing for the 3800 and WOW, I just wish Scotty would allow them at the Vegas race.

How do they compare to the GP3700? Scotty is going to allow those.

I mainly run stock but will run 19T at vegas. How would a 3300 compare to a 3700 to a 3800.

Looking to try and determine do I need to go to a 3700. Will the 3300 be going by the wayside soon?

I am in the market for some new packs soon. 3-4 packs.

Thanks...
bigdog... i recently picked up some PMR 3300s..and 3700s. the 3700s perform JUST as good as the 3300s but it has more run time. in stock.. i am able to run 6-6:30 of punched racing in stock. i ran the 3700s and i was able to do about 7:30-8mins before i felt a fade one thing though... 3700s are 10 grams heavier. and the IB3800s are 15 grams heavier when compared to the GP3300s.

i can get a good 6 mins of runtime in 19T with my 3300s also. its really up to the place where you race if they'll allow 3700s. either way.. you cant go wrong when you invest in some new promatch packs
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:24 PM   #3370
jsp
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: escondildo,ca.
Posts: 483
Default

Johnnyshore: 1st off, change the voltage cut off on the Novak to .1 or .2. Then get one of the "old" Promatch trays. Leave the pack in the tray for 24 hours. Use this method everytime, new packs or old packs. It will help your old packs a great deal but it will not make them like new.
john
jsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:31 PM   #3371
Tech Master
 
johnnyshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,996
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

I have tried using .2V cutoff on the smart tray, and it ups the initial charge to about 2800mah. I know the newer 3300's aren't as durable and lasting as some of the packs from back in the day, but I wasn't expecting to lose 500-600 mah over a 10 month period.

Like I said, the packs are still very strong so there's no complaints in that category.

Thanks.
__________________
John Schroer
Check out Shamrock R/C Raceway
Minnesota's only outdoor astroturf off-road track!
https://www.facebook.com/ShamrockRC/
johnnyshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 02:45 PM   #3372
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Send a message via AIM to Paul_TC4
Default

I've had the same exact experience with GP3300's. I had a bunch of 6 cell packs for about 8 months and the most MAH that would go into the cell was around 2800 as well. I tried zeroing the cells on my Integy Tray but it only boosted the mah about 200. The packs still ran strong just like you said but after time, I guess these cells loose some capacity.

I've been running Promatch Batteries for around 2 years now, and I really love them; excellent packs.

-Paul
Paul_TC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 03:03 PM   #3373
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Bulb discharger

Just a quick question, when discharging my PM GP3300's with a 20 amp bulb discharger, with a 5.4v cut off switch, I have had two cells vent on two different packs. When I discharge on my Turbo 35 GFX at 20 amps I don't have any problem. Needless to say I'm not using the Bulbs anymore, just wondering why? Thank you in advance.
__________________
Slickzero R/C products, check them out, very cheap shipping!!!
www.slickzero.com
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 03:09 PM   #3374
jsp
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: escondildo,ca.
Posts: 483
Default

Using the "old" Promatch tray for 24 hours may get you another 200 mah or more. NEVER store your batteries with any charge in them! REPEAT, Never store your batteries with any charge in them. If you have the money to buy enough trays, store your batteries in the Promatch trays for days or weeks or months. Remove them an hour before charging. You will be impressed with the performance.
john
jsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2005, 03:15 PM   #3375
jsp
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: escondildo,ca.
Posts: 483
Default

Polesitter: I have seen cutoffs that go well below 5.40 volts. As soon as a cell goes into cell reversal, it will vent. Cell reversal cause a major loss in performance. So your vented packs are now junk for serious racing. When dumping packs, use a higher cut off, then tray the remainder.
john
jsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro-Match Batteries Goingfast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 03-02-2008 12:00 PM
Pro Match Batteries............. RH Customs Electric Off-Road 8 01-17-2006 10:19 AM
Pro Match Batteries dmayhew25 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-26-2005 05:49 PM
FS: 4 Pro Match Batteries L.Fairtrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-10-2004 06:41 PM
How do you zap and match batteries Yokomo Aust Electric On-Road 24 05-10-2004 12:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:18 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net