R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2005, 02:55 PM   #3181
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NuckingFutz
my question is i own 3 4 cell packs(bought them from a racer that doesnt race 1/12 anymore) and when i got them and charged them they didnt reach 3300 more like 2700 -2800 how can i correct this...they seem to have some punch but not enough run time to get the job done...I need 8 mins getting around 6.50-7 and they start dumping...if anyone can help im sure you guys can.
try charging at a lower amp rate. like 5amps instead of 6amps.. three phase charging works great to get more run time also
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 02:56 PM   #3182
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

I would say tray them frequently. Otherwise I can't think of a magic way to bring back runtime. Maybe PMRGirl or one of the other guys can help with some ideas.

HAHA Hebiki beat me,LOL, yeah lower charge rates help but not sure if that will bring it back permanately. Give it a shot, can't get any worse I guess,LOL
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 02:58 PM   #3183
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

tried that but at .5 amps to 4.3 amps but no success i discharge at 20 w/a cut off box from racers edge and my charger discharges at the same rate too
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:00 PM   #3184
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NuckingFutz
tried that but at .5 amps to 4.3 amps but no success i discharge at 20 w/a cut off box from racers edge and my charger discharges at the same rate too
do you have access to a 3 phase charger? (Record breaker, Team Much More... etc?)

i get about 1 1/2 - 2 mins of runtime left on a 30amp discharger after all my runs on my promatch packs.. and i charge at a VERY high amp rate
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:02 PM   #3185
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

wow I can charge that high i always had a rule if the cells were 3300 i charge at 3.3 amps does that sound right ...im not being a jerk but some one whos trying to learn more about batterys and how to maintain them for performance...i deeply appreaciate all the help you guys can give~Jason
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:05 PM   #3186
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

no i have a dymond super turbo charger1-26 cells 5 amp max and a indi 16x5 bl charger i got from integy 1-8 cells 7 amp max rate
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:06 PM   #3187
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hebiki
do you have access to a 3 phase charger? (Record breaker, Team Much More... etc?)

i get about 1 1/2 - 2 mins of runtime left on a 30amp discharger after all my runs on my promatch packs.. and i charge at a VERY high amp rate

so should i try hitting them at 6 or 7 amps?
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:06 PM   #3188
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NuckingFutz
wow I can charge that high i always had a rule if the cells were 3300 i charge at 3.3 amps does that sound right ...im not being a jerk but some one whos trying to learn more about batterys and how to maintain them for performance...i deeply appreaciate all the help you guys can give~Jason
thats why we're here.. to help.

the 3.3 - 3300 is just to be safe. promatch matches their batteries at 5amps.. and other companies do it at 6.

most stock racers charge their batteries at 6amp. this is common practice.

mod guys i think charge at 5amps? maybe 5.5amp. not sure i never ran mod.

you are safe if you charge at 6amps. just make sure you set your delta peak cut off properly i set mine between 3-6mv per cell depending on the temperature. and my charger also has a temperature cutoff and i set that at 45 deg Celsius.

i better post now before promatchrcr beats me to it!
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:08 PM   #3189
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NuckingFutz
so should i try hitting them at 6 or 7 amps?
try charging them on the integy at 5amps.

3900 mah cutoff and 6mv per cell. i think that charger is similar to the reedy quasar pro.

i forgot to add. before you charge. discharge it all the way down. let it cool for at least 3 hours. then equalize on a tray. (rayspeed or novak). then charge at the settings i mentioned above.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:11 PM   #3190
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

thats around my settings too i bought the integy charger because it boasts 99% prevention of false peaking. when i peak the cells b 4 i go out to race it says 6.1v or sometimes a lil more what do ya think...im getting confused
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:13 PM   #3191
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

yes it is but cheaper (budget racer here ) so your saying to set the charger for 3900 miliamp w a cut off at 6mv?
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:26 PM   #3192
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 260
Send a message via AIM to NuckingFutz Send a message via Yahoo to NuckingFutz
Default

i used to buy reedy black label stick packs and break em down then solder them the way i want so i always charged them at 3.3 amps and peaked them at 5 amps...but asked a local racer about promatch he said they are the best cells money can buy so i set out looking for promatch cells but couldnt afford em talked to another racer and he sold me him since he wasnt racing 1/12 for quite awhile this is my first up scale pack so i want to get it right the first time but seem to always go back to the drawing board
NuckingFutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 06:38 AM   #3193
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Anybody know where I can find a 2x4 smart tray normal polarity? I've got two and need one more.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 08:21 AM   #3194
Tech Master
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jaysimpson
Default

Hebiki, dang I miss this thing for a day and you guys run it up,LOL....

Hyper1- I have a 2x4 tray I can check and see what polarity it is tonight. I will get back with you.
__________________
Kalgard Racing
Banzai Motorsports
ProMatch Racing
A-Train Racing
Warehouse Raceway
jaysimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 08:25 AM   #3195
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Guntersville, AL
Posts: 17
Default

I have two I'm trying to sell. Make me an offer - Please!!
Cottontop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro-Match Batteries Goingfast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 03-02-2008 12:00 PM
Pro Match Batteries............. RH Customs Electric Off-Road 8 01-17-2006 10:19 AM
Pro Match Batteries dmayhew25 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-26-2005 05:49 PM
FS: 4 Pro Match Batteries L.Fairtrace R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-10-2004 06:41 PM
How do you zap and match batteries Yokomo Aust Electric On-Road 24 05-10-2004 12:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net