Like Tree1Likes

BMI Racing Discussions

Old 06-28-2005, 04:09 PM
  #7516  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

oh damn,thanks jon.i forgot to answer that. jon is right.we tried 3mm quasi isotropic and 2.5 mm quasi isotropic and high modulous c/f.2.5mm quasi seemed to be the most tunable.
protc3 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:15 PM
  #7517  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

wow, confusing names.

either way, high modulous c/f.2.5mm quasi sounds better than quasi isotropic so its all cool with me
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:20 PM
  #7518  
Tech Master
 
Paul_TC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,015
Default

Jason, Sent ya a PM.
Paul_TC4 is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:11 PM
  #7519  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by protc3
oh damn,thanks jon.i forgot to answer that. jon is right.we tried 3mm quasi isotropic and 2.5 mm quasi isotropic and high modulous c/f.2.5mm quasi seemed to be the most tunable.
Good thing you didn't have Wayne designing the FK05...you would have tried 30 kinds of CF for prototyping
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 06:40 PM
  #7520  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

Originally Posted by John Fontaine
Good thing you didn't have Wayne designing the FK05...you would have tried 30 kinds of CF for prototyping
that a good thing or a bad thing
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 07:03 PM
  #7521  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Jason....

I just got one of your Pro 4 chassis two weeks ago, can you tell me if I can use the 3700 with it?
RCknight is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 07:05 PM
  #7522  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,546
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Jason,

Don't forget to call me when there ready. LOL

I might want the 3mm for Snowbirds.

Mark
munrath is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 10:07 PM
  #7523  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 285
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by protc3
cool deal buddy,im glad to hear the chassis kit is working for you.let me know if i can help you with anything.

as for the fk05 chassis kit.i have decided to go with 2.5mm carbon fiber on it.i can do 3mm on special order but i dont really think it will need it because it gives you a nice range of adjustment.it can have slight flex or none.the testing has gone very well and i started running the production kits today.the price on them is going to be $159.99 and it comes with the chassis,top deck,battery strap,front and rear shock towers,4 standoffs for the 4 corners of the top deck and standoffs for the battery strap.the kit will allow for the use of the xray battery strap,my battery strap,or the use of tape.there is a .020 deep pocket on the underside of the chassis for the tape to sit so it will not scrub on the carpet or asphalt.i will be supplying new screws for the top deck because i didnt want to use flathead screws.i will supply stainless steel screws with the kit for the top deck.if you guys have any questions at all,feel free to ask.
What colors are going to be available? I'll give you a call tomorrow and see if I can reserve one.

Stan
skinart76 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:27 AM
  #7524  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

rc knight,

the pro 4 chassis was made before the 3700 cells were released so honestly,i never checked.let me know if you have a problem getting them in there and i will do what ever i can to help.
protc3 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:28 AM
  #7525  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,867
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

the fk05 kit will be available in gloss black,satin black and titanium.i do not currently have satin black in stock but it will be available soon
protc3 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 09:40 AM
  #7526  
Regional Moderator
 
UnderDaHill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 975
Default

Originally Posted by RCknight
I just got one of your Pro 4 chassis two weeks ago, can you tell me if I can use the 3700 with it?
RC... you know you will likely not be allowed to run 3700's at our track until after the first of the year right? Just an FYI...
UnderDaHill is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 09:42 AM
  #7527  
Regional Moderator
 
UnderDaHill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 975
Default

Originally Posted by protc3
the fk05 kit will be available in gloss black,satin black and titanium.i do not currently have satin black in stock but it will be available soon
Jason... are you cutting any of the thicker graphite for use on carpet or just the thinner asphalt stuff? I put my preorder in but I only run carpet so I want to make sure I get the thicker plate. What colors are available in the thicker plate?
UnderDaHill is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 12:18 PM
  #7528  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Protc3 - you got a PM
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 12:19 PM
  #7529  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UnderDaHill
RC... you know you will likely not be allowed to run 3700's at our track until after the first of the year right? Just an FYI...
I thought Todd B. was running them already? I won't get any until the start of the winter racing anyway.
RCknight is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:10 PM
  #7530  
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Jason,

Is it possible to post a few pics showing the differing lines & mounting holes between the OEM chassis/shock towers and the BMI versions. For example, placing the BMI front shock tower on top of the OEM front shock tower and taking a pic. Also, is the front shock tower the same height as the stock OEM tower, the foam tower, or neither?
teamgp is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.