Fukuyama Batteries

Reply

Old 10-22-2003, 07:29 AM
  #991  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,196
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

My new packs are sent out. Got a confirmation email today.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 08:49 AM
  #992  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Great .. You'll enjoy the quality of the cells along with the packaging and care that are put into Fukuyama cells Post here or PM us if you have any questions.
John Fontaine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 08:52 AM
  #993  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So when you guys say to tray the pack that would mean bring them down to 0V?
Blue Sky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 08:55 AM
  #994  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

No, most trays will cut off. All the tray does is equalize the cells.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 08:57 AM
  #995  
Tech Regular
 
dpaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 283
Default

Originally posted by Blue Sky
So when you guys say to tray the pack that would mean bring them down to 0V?
I like 0.9v/cell personally.

-dave
dpaton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:23 AM
  #996  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I dont have any fukuyama packs, (yet) but i charged my GP3300's at 50mv for the pack and they seemed fairly hot, this is the recomended for the fukuyama packs, im using a lrp pulsar comp, anyone?
berger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:31 AM
  #997  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you're concerned about the heat than drop your threshold down a bit. I use .03 and .04 on my gfx and they come out nice and toasty around 140-150. Perfect for racing
John Fontaine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:31 AM
  #998  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,196
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

John Fontaine I'm already looking to see if I can find some more cash to buy a few more packs while they are offering such a good deal on those 1.165 to 1.169 packs that are upgraded to 1.17's. The price is unreal on those things. I really beleive these packs will run great. I have been watching this forum for a couple of weeks now and have read nothing but good things. I also saw Randman purchased a pack or two and he was saying how good they ran. Plus you have mentioned how good they ran as have many others. You guys can't all be making this stuff up.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:38 AM
  #999  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

WYD - I really and truely believe that these are the best cells on the market right now and for the price you know you can't beat them.

The Fukuyama crew is awesome what they do and you can see on this thread along with racers around the world how awesome they truely are. I dont know what your current cells are like, but watch out. The punch is awesome, and it only gets better the more you race them. 2nd run on them are truely amazing. The cells never bottom out over a 5 minute qual/main cause they go strong the whole time. You'll think its nuts that its charging so long say on 8.5-8.7 but that means you have a great pack! My cells peak between 8.80 and 9.05 cause they have such low IR's.

Can't wait to meet you at the first ORL race.

John
John Fontaine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:53 AM
  #1000  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As soon as i can afford, hopefully before the end of Oct so i can get the upgrade, im going to go for 2-3 packs of the 1.70~4 ones, with my current unmatched 3300's i was only 0.6 off the back of the A main, if the Fukuyama cells can give me that edge then its worth it. Excellent price too!
berger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 10:26 AM
  #1001  
Tech Addict
 
holycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SoCal Raceway
Posts: 511
Default Discharging

Guys.. I bring my packs down to 5.4 volts when I am done with them, using my 16x7 (30 amps). Now, If I stick the pack on my EQ tray, isn't that bringing the voltage down below .9 volts/cell?

I have an older (1999) Integy EQ tray, with 8 posts that squeeze the (+) and (-) terminals of the pack, with 6 tiny lightbulbs. There are also some resistors laid out and such. It says for "NiCad only" but this was purchased before NiMHs were released.

Should I EQ my pack after my 5.4 discharge? or only before charging? Wont these bulbs take the cells to 0 volts?
holycow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 10:52 AM
  #1002  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Holycow - yes a tray brings the cells below .9 volts. You dont keep NiMH's on very long, if you do then they will be 0.00 volts. I use a trinity runtime 2 tray and pull when the bulbs are very dim. I then know all the cells are at the same voltage so they are evenly getting a charge throughout. If you dont do this, you may over charge one cell as it was not discharged the equal amount when you discharged the whole pack at 5.4 volts. You can put a multimeter up to the cells when they're being trayed so you can tell their voltage.

That brings me to a question that I have....instead of using bulbs, why dont tray manufactures use a voltage meter with digital display for each cell instead of bulbs. Then you really know what the discharge voltages are and you can put it when you reach a certain voltage? Too costly to do?
John Fontaine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 11:16 AM
  #1003  
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

If you discharge down to .9 volts per cell at 30 amps, when there is no load, the voltage is going to jump right back up to 7.2+ for the pack. NiMH seem more suseptable to this than Nicd. When at a high discharge rate, they lose the ability to maintain voltage output but still have charge left in them. I will take my packs down on the lights (20 amps), then put them in a tray (an Itegy tray with resistors and LED's) the LED's flash FOREVER before they go out, whereas nicads don't last as long. I am not refering to total capacity!!

If you take the pack down to 5.4 volts at 30 amps, you have not completly discharged the cells down to .9 each. The only way to effectively do this is at a LOW amperage discharge for each cell.
PitCrew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 11:22 AM
  #1004  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Cool! Thanks for all your replies.
R
Blue Sky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 11:26 AM
  #1005  
Tech Addict
 
holycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SoCal Raceway
Posts: 511
Default

Originally posted by John Fontaine
Holycow - yes a tray brings the cells below .9 volts. You dont keep NiMH's on very long, if you do then they will be 0.00 volts. I use a trinity runtime 2 tray and pull when the bulbs are very dim. I
But that doesn't do anybody any good if one cell discharges before another. If you pull when one bulb gets dimm, but another is fully bright, then you haven't used the tray like it was intended.

normally 1 or 2 or 3 bulbs go out before the others. My question is, is if one bulb is out, and one bulb is lit, is the cell with the "out" light getting drained below .9 volts?
holycow is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service