R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2008, 09:37 PM   #1336
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Try setting the throttle adjustment all the way to maximum before starting the endpoint detection process.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:00 PM   #1337
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the reply, but I did try that already.

Whenever I pull the throttle and then turn it on, no matter what dial position it is in, I cannot get it to calibrate.
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:02 PM   #1338
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Have you hooked it up to a PC and tried using the Castle Link software yet? You might want to check that it has the latest firmware and then reset all of the settings to factory defaults using the software.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:04 PM   #1339
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I forgot to also mention that for some reason, it calibrates the first step fine if I am going backwards with the throttle.

If I leave the throttle dial turned all the way up, and stay in neutral, it calibrates to that, and the process ends. Then, I just get a straight forward to reverse, only it is backwards from what I want.
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:06 PM   #1340
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you need to reverse the direction of the throttle on your radio. Even basic radios have this function. There should be a switch or something on your radio to reverse the throttle channel. Reverse it and try the setup again. Now that I think about it, I believe I had to reverse the throttle channel on my radio when first setting up my Mamba Max as well.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:08 PM   #1341
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

New software up, but no details in the web documentation on the changes. Same MM firmware, that I've checked.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:10 PM   #1342
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the help Jazz-- I updated the firmware and such earlier today, but I will do it again and reset it.

This radio only has steering reverse.
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:15 PM   #1343
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Doh! I'm almost certain the throttle reverse is your problem, but you could always try borrowing a friend's radio and setting the endpoints with that to double check.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:19 PM   #1344
Tech Fanatic
 
Mooshu Beef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 790
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

That's what I thought too. Too bad none of my friends do 1:10 racing...

I might have to hit up the LHS then.

Admange, that's really funny that they have an update today...the first day I install the program. I have reinstalled it and will see what happens.

I will definitely be testing this tomorrow--but I am definitely open to suggestions, and I definitely (I had to use it a 3rd time ) want to get this working asap. But thanks for all the help guys!
__________________
I am a man of few words.
Mooshu Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 04:18 PM   #1345
Tech Addict
 
FOXY923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 549
Default

I recently got back to my T4 after about a month of letting it sit. Last time I used it it worked great. I've got the Mamba Max with 5700 motor. I hooked it up to my PC and installed the updates. I now have a motor that will not work at all. When i plug the battery in and turn on the esc it powers up like usual, the servo works fine but not the motor. I pull the trigger and the green light comes on but no motor movement at all. I've check the connectors and short of taking the shrink wrap off they seem fine. What can I do? Am I missing something? This worked fine a month ago and all I've done is changed a few settings on the esc. I went back to my old settings and still had the same problem. Could it be the new updates? Seems I skipped a firmware update, should I install the middle one? Please help. Thanks
__________________
Paris Junction Hobbies ~ RROL.ca ~ Lou's Speedway ~ SCAR
XRAY X10 Link ~ CVTA Sakura Zero S ~ XRAY X10 Custom Oval ~ Caster Fusion F18
RACE 4FUN
FOXY923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 05:30 PM   #1346
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mine lost settings after the update and I had to reset the endpoints again.
plumslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 09:19 PM   #1347
Tech Addict
 
FOXY923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 549
Default

ok, I've reset all radio settings including re-binding my spektrum. Motor still does not work. I'm thinking it could be in the connections, so short of taking the heat shrink off, is there anyway of checking the connectors? Voltmeter or something? They seem fine but one on the esc has a somewhat major bend right at the end of the heat shrink. Could it be faulty there?
__________________
Paris Junction Hobbies ~ RROL.ca ~ Lou's Speedway ~ SCAR
XRAY X10 Link ~ CVTA Sakura Zero S ~ XRAY X10 Custom Oval ~ Caster Fusion F18
RACE 4FUN
FOXY923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:55 AM   #1348
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Did you also reset the speedo after downloading the info? For the motor not working you can let a buddy run it if any of your friends are running Castle stuff.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:16 PM   #1349
Tech Addict
 
FOXY923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 549
Default

Yes, I reset the esc after the download.
__________________
Paris Junction Hobbies ~ RROL.ca ~ Lou's Speedway ~ SCAR
XRAY X10 Link ~ CVTA Sakura Zero S ~ XRAY X10 Custom Oval ~ Caster Fusion F18
RACE 4FUN
FOXY923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 07:21 AM   #1350
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a 7700 that I ran all last summer, I never ran the temp over 200* but I had a hard time keeping up with the 3.5's in the straits. I will be running the temp at 220* this year so I can stay in front.


Should I get a new 7700 for this summer because I may have lost some rotor magnetism or will it be at it's best for this year ???



Thank you for making what I believe is the best BL system in the world and the smartest software as well.



7700MambaMax
4600MambaMax
6000MaxAmps
HB Cyclone
HPI pro4
Lazer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:42 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net