Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 02-16-2008, 06:59 PM
  #1246  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Hello, I have a problem with my MM 7700 powered TC3 on road car. I have swapped batteries, remounted the esc, and updated the firmware. The car has had 7cell 3300's, and I have a new 11.1 Maxamp lipo pack. It still does the same thing. The car unloaded spins fine, but when on the ground it cuts out bad, especially when going down hill. Going up hill seems to run better. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks Scott
deviousz28 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 10:08 PM
  #1247  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ultegrasti - Do you have another computer you can try, to see if that resolves the issue?

It does sound like the issue is your computer like mooony said.


deviousz28 - Can you give any more information like esc settings and gearing?

Did you recalibrate the radio with the esc after updating the firmware?

Also refer to the Castle speed and gearing chart with regards to running the 3S with the 7700 motor (http://www.castlecreations.com/suppo...ring_chart.pdf), I think the words DO NOT USE is what it says.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 10:22 PM
  #1248  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Super_Roo - The gear is 28/72 The brake is 50%, reverse 50%, timing 5, punch or TC 100%, auto lipo, start power I have tried all three no luck, set on high now. I have not reset my radio. I'll try that next.


Thanks Scott
deviousz28 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 10:57 PM
  #1249  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

100% punch control on 7cell 7700? That just doesn't make any sense. Why buy such fast equipment and then put a teeny weeny nozzle on it?
adamge is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 11:49 PM
  #1250  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by deviousz28
Super_Roo - The gear is 28/72 The brake is 50%, reverse 50%, timing 5, punch or TC 100%, auto lipo, start power I have tried all three no luck, set on high now. I have not reset my radio. I'll try that next.


Thanks Scott
OK, something that I have found to be a little problem is running 7 or 8 cell packs with auto-lipo mode. The reason is because the sensing for auto-lipo is not going to count the cells and say you have 7 cell, it will only see the voltage and then try to decide if you are running a discharged 3S pack (9.0v cut-off) or a charged 3S pack (12.6v) rather than seeing a charged 7 cell pack which will be resting at around 8.5 - 9.5 volts.

Try running the 7 cell pack with auto-lipo mode switched off and see if that helps. Another thing to try is reducing your timing to lowest setting and as adamge said reduce your punch control.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 12:11 AM
  #1251  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by deviousz28
Super_Roo - The gear is 28/72 The brake is 50%, reverse 50%, timing 5, punch or TC 100%, auto lipo, start power I have tried all three no luck, set on high now. I have not reset my radio. I'll try that next.


Thanks Scott
Something else to add, the gearing seems a little high. Are you using the car for racing or just for fun?

Even the recommended gearing on the chart I posted before suggested 8 teeth down on the pinion your running now for a starting point and your not even running the largest spur as recommended by Castle. So maybe your just a little over geared.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 08:09 AM
  #1252  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

It has the 3S 11.1 Maxamp pack on it now. I haven't had a chance to run it outside, but it seems better after I recalibrated the radio. I only us the car to street race in a straight line, so thats why I have a 7700 with a 3S pack. The car spins so bad it does a helicopter style spinout when the power comes on. I set the punch to 100% so I could roll out a few feet and then feather back the throttle until it hooks. We race on a count so its hard to only squeeze the trigger to 20% when they say go. Here are a couple pics of the car.



deviousz28 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:29 AM
  #1253  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

An update for you all on the Monster Max. Pass the word along. We are only going to have one motor kv available for the Monster Max. We found that during testing you could get anywhere from 30-65mph+ by just changing voltage or gearing. The motor is 2200kv, and should suit everyone's needs. Sorry to those who were hoping for the 1750 and 1550...I wanted the 1550 myself.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 03:35 PM
  #1254  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 259
Default

This should not be a real problem if people can buy the ESC alone, there is already a large choice of motor on the market.

I have 4 question.

Mr Ford I would like to know if CC plan to release a "serviciable" version of CM36 motor.

What type of motor is provided with Monster Max slotted or slotless ?

The (in)famous update for mamba is now available, is there any plan for even better perfomance update (there is still room for improvement) or will the future update will be just bug fix ?

What about a truly competitive "legal" setup for 1/10 racers ?
Mister-T is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 04:59 PM
  #1255  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

what speeds would i see in a revo on 3s with the monster max? what about on 4s/12 cell? what size motor could compare to the system? whats the price tag gonna be? WHENS IT COMING OUT I WANT ONE!!!? haha
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 05:33 PM
  #1256  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mister-T
This should not be a real problem if people can buy the ESC alone, there is already a large choice of motor on the market.

I have 4 question.

Mr Ford I would like to know if CC plan to release a "serviciable" version of CM36 motor.

What type of motor is provided with Monster Max slotted or slotless ?

The (in)famous update for mamba is now available, is there any plan for even better perfomance update (there is still room for improvement) or will the future update will be just bug fix ?

What about a truly competitive "legal" setup for 1/10 racers ?
I can answer the last question. They are always working on trying to improve overall performance so over time we will see more updates. Castle is constantly working on improving the products they have.
wyd is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 11:28 PM
  #1257  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
stickman310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Townsville, QLD (TMORC)
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wyd
I can answer the last question. They are always working on trying to improve overall performance so over time we will see more updates. Castle is constantly working on improving the products they have.
Lol that's an answer to the second last question... I'd like to see you answer the last question.
stickman310 is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:48 AM
  #1258  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stickman310
Lol that's an answer to the second last question... I'd like to see you answer the last question.
Hmmm. I know talks are going on about that but don't know what the decision is and or if anything has been finalized about that. My best judegement would be it is still being looked into.
wyd is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:55 AM
  #1259  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mister-T
What about a truly competitive "legal" setup for 1/10 racers ?
I dont understand why the manufacturers (like Castle Creations) need to change their ways to suit the old and outdated nROvARk motor rules.

However I do understand that it would leave the one (or two) manufacturer(s) that the ROAR motor rules were designed around out in the cold.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 08:06 AM
  #1260  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Super_Roo
I dont understand why the manufacturers (like Castle Creations) need to change their ways to suit the old and outdated nROvARk motor rules.

However I do understand that it would leave the one (or two) manufacturer(s) that the ROAR motor rules were designed around out in the cold.
Exactly.
wyd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.