Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 11-19-2007, 11:12 AM
  #961  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

All questions warrant answers...I just didn't see yours.

If you splice a new switch into the wires that are attached to the controller you will not void the warranty. If you do any soldering on the ESC itself you DO void the warranty. If you'd like a new one put on send it in and we'll get you fixed up under warranty.

Re the Monster Max...there are sneak peek pics from the IHobby Show in Chicago. See here.

http://rctech.net/forum/showpost.php...postcount=1718
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:50 PM
  #962  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Joe. I kinda need it for a race this weekend, hence my desperation for a answer. I wont be sending it in for repair as it was clearly my fault and for the $20 each way postage and 3+ weeks turn around time waiting on US and Aust Post its not worth it for a $0.70 switch.

Do you find that heat sink design is better on the Monster Max and Sidewinder? I guess it gives more choices for users to mount the esc in a direction where the air will flows through the heat sink and obviously offers greater heat sink area which will give it greater heat dispersion. Will we be seeing the same design on the Mamba Max?
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 07:17 AM
  #963  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Yes, the heatsinks on the Sidewinder and Monster are different to allow for mounting in any orientation without sacrificing cooling ability. I won't know if they'll be adding it to the MM unless it arrives on my desk with one on it. The engineers generally don't tell us these things until just before release...
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 03:39 PM
  #964  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default

Hello there

i recently purchased a mamba 25 and it was working ok but today its not

the receiver and bec are working, but not the throtle , when i move the gun on transmiter i can see the green light flashing but the motor is not moving at all , same for reverse with red light flashing but motor is not doing anything

i revised conectors , did the calibration again , and the programing again , both process finished ok but motor is still not moving

then i thought the motor was broken , so i conected it to my touring car with mamba max installed, (not geared to transmision, just conected the wires ), well , the mamba max did moved the motor , so the motor is fine and shoould be a problem with the mamba 25 ESC ...

any ideas?
DrKucho is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:20 AM
  #965  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Is it finding neutral after you plug the battery in? Meaning...when you plug in do you get all the tones and then the ESC shows a yellow LED? If it's any other color or combination of colors the throttle trim may be off. If you have a Castle Link USB programmer you may want to plug into it, go to the software tab, and click "update firmware" to flash the controller again. Re-calibrate after doing that though.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:33 AM
  #966  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Something is going on with this forum/thread...keep getting reposts and why the heck did it post my reply to your message BEFORE yours Bri?

Last edited by Joe Ford; 11-21-2007 at 10:57 AM.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:33 AM
  #967  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Joe the video is very cool. I will keep working on finding a lid that fits that thing.
wyd is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:35 AM
  #968  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stockton, Ca
Posts: 1,480
Default MambaMax 7700

Joe- we talked on the phone awhile ago about me not being able to change setups on my PC, remember? My HP-XP Home does not read the Mamba. any suggestions?
Pls contact me via e with instructions: [email protected]
Thanks
bowl806 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:35 AM
  #969  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stockton, Ca
Posts: 1,480
Default MambaMax 7700

Joe- we talked on the phone awhile ago about me not being able to change setups on my PC, remember? My HP-XP Home does not read the Mamba. any suggestions?
Pls contact me via e with instructions: [email protected]
Thanks
bowl806 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:35 AM
  #970  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stockton, Ca
Posts: 1,480
Default MambaMax 7700

Joe- we talked on the phone awhile ago about me not being able to change setups on my PC, remember? My HP-XP Home does not read the Mamba. any suggestions?
Pls contact me via e with instructions: [email protected]
Thanks
bowl806 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:35 AM
  #971  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stockton, Ca
Posts: 1,480
Default MambaMax 7700

Joe- we talked on the phone awhile ago about me not being able to change setups on my PC, remember? My HP-XP Home does not read the Mamba. any suggestions?
Pls contact me via e with instructions: [email protected]
Thanks
bowl806 is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:50 AM
  #972  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Originally Posted by bowl806
Joe- we talked on the phone awhile ago about me not being able to change setups on my PC, remember? My HP-XP Home does not read the Mamba. any suggestions?
Pls contact me via e with instructions: [email protected]
Thanks
Give our tech dept a call and we'll see what we can do. Have everything in front of you...computer, link, ESC.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:50 AM
  #973  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Originally Posted by wyd
Joe the video is very cool. I will keep working on finding a lid that fits that thing.
Thanks man...she's even faster now...that video was only 2s 3200mah lipo on a 5700. Now she's 2s 5000mah, and about 5mph faster than in the vid. On 3s she's over 90mph...clocked 94mph last time I ran it. You can't run out the whole pack though or the motor will overheat.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 11:14 AM
  #974  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default

Originally Posted by Joe Ford
Is it finding neutral after you plug the battery in? Meaning...when you plug in do you get all the tones and then the ESC shows a yellow LED? If it's any other color or combination of colors the throttle trim may be off. If you have a Castle Link USB programmer you may want to plug into it, go to the software tab, and click "update firmware" to flash the controller again. Re-calibrate after doing that though.
not sure about if it finds neutral , will check this later, but in any case

i have the usb link and software coming with my mamba max, can i use this with mamba 25? i mean , there is no USB port in mamba 25
DrKucho is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:05 PM
  #975  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

No, there's a separate board for the Castle Link that plugs into the receiver plug on the Mamba 25...you'd need it to plug the Mamba 25 in. It doesn't come with the Max.
Joe Ford is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.