Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 11-30-2006, 10:45 AM
  #31  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
subman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton,Canada
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Any word on an upgrade to run on four cell? I love it in my pan car and woul love a second one in my 1/12th scale
subman is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 02:34 PM
  #32  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

i saw a link on www.castlecreations.com about a new monster series. is that supposed to be a strong series? will it be good for a single motor monster truck? something like a converted revo possibly?
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 07:52 AM
  #33  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Works fine w/4 cells as long as you disable the BEC on the controller (lift the tab and pull the red wire out of the servo connector). Then use a jumper from the ESC side of the battery to ESC connection and plug directly into your receiver.

Much more power with a BL system than brushed...vid of a 7700 in a Lazer on 2s lipo doing a BACKFLIP. http://www.pfmdistribution.com/backflip.wmv
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 01:37 PM
  #34  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (136)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,815
Trader Rating: 136 (100%+)
Default

We tried a 5700 system in a T2 the other night with foams on carpet. The guy who put it in said he set it up right, yet the throttle felt like an "On/Off" switch with unreal power. Was something set up wrong? I checked it with the Castle Link and it was set stock with the throttle curve going diagonally up from o to 100. Any thoughts?
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 03:38 PM
  #35  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Gear it up a bit to smooth it out.
Mike Haynes is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 05:03 PM
  #36  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Joe Ford
Works fine w/4 cells as long as you disable the BEC on the controller (lift the tab and pull the red wire out of the servo connector). Then use a jumper from the ESC side of the battery to ESC connection and plug directly into your receiver.

Much more power with a BL system than brushed...vid of a 7700 in a Lazer on 2s lipo doing a BACKFLIP. http://www.pfmdistribution.com/backflip.wmv
Hi Joe, just a few more questions regarding running 4 cells:

1) I've read elsewhere on this forum that the 7700 is quite power hungry. Will the 7700 work well with 4 cells?
2) Regarding the rewiring to run 4 cells, do you have some pics or diagrams?
3) Again with the rewiring, if this something that can be included in your website and instruction manuals so that it is more "official" and therefore doesn't void any warranties, etc.

Sorry to be a pain but I was all set to buy... So just want to get a few things confirmed before I do.

Cheer,

Vincent
veecee is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 09:35 AM
  #37  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Joe...have the guy at your track make sure he has his endpoints on his throttle (both foward and reverse) at ~125% if he has a computer programmable transmitter. Even if he doesn't tell him the #1 thing to do is calibrate the controller...if he hasn't done this it would act just like that...very choppy throttle because you're not spreading the throttle range out with the entire travel of the trigger. The other thing to consider has already been mentioned....gearing.

Vincent...I ran the 7700 on 4 cells in a XXX-s to test and vented the GP3300 pack I used. Better to have IB3800/4200 or GP3700/4300. Turn timing to "lowest" using the included Castle Link software. Should work fine. Here's a quick drawing of proper wiring superimposed on our MM User Guide. I'll see what we can do about getting something official up.
Attached Files
File Type: zip
4cellMM.zip (101.2 KB, 206 views)

Last edited by Joe Ford; 12-03-2006 at 10:09 AM.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:20 AM
  #38  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the reply Joe. How would you rate the speed of a 7700 on 4 cells compared to 6 cells - eg 10T motor on 6 cells? Sounds like I might better off getting a 7700?
veecee is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:00 AM
  #39  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (136)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,815
Trader Rating: 136 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Joe....I have a feeling he only had his endpoint on 100%. I'm going to put it in my RDX this week and set my Throttle EPA as high as it will go to smooth it out.
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:44 PM
  #40  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Racer4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: W.V
Posts: 1,309
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Okay guys,

Maybe a silly question but is the Mamba Max a brushless only system or can it be used for Brushed motors too?

Thanks
Tom
Racer4Life is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:51 PM
  #41  
jaz
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

It works with brushed motors as well!
jaz is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 07:00 PM
  #42  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Racer4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: W.V
Posts: 1,309
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

In that case, which motor is most like a stock and/or a 19 turn?

Thanks
Tom
Racer4Life is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 07:11 PM
  #43  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
drew85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Is there a way to save profiles and share them with other people? Or do you have a a good starting point for truck with the 7700?

Thanks
drew85 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 09:50 PM
  #44  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Tom...the 4600 is the closest to a 19T...it's about a modified 12T.

Drew...click file, save settings, and save the file to your desktop so it's easy to find. Then email it to your buddies or post it on here by adding it to the email/post. Use the attach function in emails, use manage attachments on forums.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 10:39 PM
  #45  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
drew85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have a file they can share? Maybe some gearing? Its a xxx-t.


Thanks,.
drew85 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.