R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2007, 04:10 PM   #376
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

any1 have any ideas for what causes these systems to stop workin 30sec into a pack. it just sits there and stutters. sometimes comes back after 4-5sec, other times 2min. speedo gets fairly warm quick (no body, 2wd losi)

7700 17/86 gearing (as small as 1 can go on the buggy). sometimes it'll run 5-6min after the 30sec mark stutter, then freak again. i havent altered the motor wires, i run new ip4200s, spektrum setup. gone thru full factory and custom settings, epa. everythin in book. the motor doesnt get over 130deg. body (when on) is vented for the speedo. but all it wants to do is sit there ja ja ja ja jah jah jah.



R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 04:18 PM   #377
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ulte, it could probably be cured by using a different radio system. I tried a Spektrum on my MM, and it glitched into a reset before I had finished programming the ESC.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 04:20 PM   #378
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

i had it setup, even tried the software to see if it did work (it does), but now it has an attitude, and now doesnt even chime when i wanna try and set it up.

ugh

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 04:23 PM   #379
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

now i went thru the setup w/o the tones. gas, after jitterin for a few sec, it finally kicked over. turned off, now i get tones. setup w/tones, runs now...but this is in front of computer. somehow i'll go out there in driveway to continue sortin it out and it'll quit after 30sec

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 07:02 PM   #380
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

i eliminated heat from the equation (lookin for any reason). it cuts at 30sec into pack when speedo is at 90-100deg (motor 110) and later in run when speedo is up near 150 and motor is near 140.

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:24 PM   #381
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default motor suggestion needed

hello,
I have a tamiya TB-02 (or am building one).
I have 2 options to run in town. The first track is run by nitro 1/10 scale touring cars. The long straight is 240' long. I may end up competing against the nitro cars. The other track is only about 90' in the main straight and will be run by electric 1/10 cars.
I have 2 6cell 3300 nimh batteries and 2 6cell 4200 nimh batteries. I also have 1 3S2100 thunder power pro-lite and 1 3S2200 thunder power extreme lipo.

Which motor would be the best choice to run on both tracks?
Any recomendations on gearing?
Any idea on how many amps are being drawn?
How long of runtime will I get?


thanks,
tim
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:03 AM   #382
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Tim run time always depends on the batteries, gearing and how you throttle while driving. With what your packs it could range from 50 to maybe 10 minutes and again that really depends on gearing. I would think at a racing gearing you would be getting 5 to 7 minutes and could be less if you put in like a 7700KV system.

Use to have a TB02 and I don't think I would want to run much more than the 5700KV setup. I think if you go to the 6900 or 7700 setup it might be too much power and start tearing things up on the TB02. Plus the ore power you put into it the harder it will be to drive and shaft drive cars do tend to be harder to drive that belted cars.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 09:30 AM   #383
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Any idea what kind of amp draw this motor will have at max gearing (ie max gear ratio that will not exceed the 200 degree temp limit)?

this will help me decide if I need to get any new batteries.

thanks,
tim
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 02:05 PM   #384
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I talked to castle creations tech support this morning.

They said that I should us the 5700 motor and then run a 3S lipo. My current lipos are too small. I need at least a 4000 or even bigger to handle the amp draw. They said that for the large track I run on, to gear the car as high as it would go. then reduce the gearing if the motor temp exceeds 200. He said I should be able to get 60-70mph out of this car and runtimes will vary buy I may get anywhere between 7-15 or more minutes.

Now I have to figure out how many battery packs I need.

thanks,
tim
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 06:39 AM   #385
Regional Moderator
 
rajS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manila, PI
Posts: 1,287
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rajS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_speed
Any idea what kind of amp draw this motor will have at max gearing (ie max gear ratio that will not exceed the 200 degree temp limit)?

this will help me decide if I need to get any new batteries.

thanks,
tim

The 3s 4000mah combined with the 5700kv pulls max 56 amps on the straights and averages 12 amps when used with my Touring Car.

My final drive is 10.8 with temps between 130-180F

***
__________________
...Living the RC Lifestyle since '85... :)
Team Associated * A123 * Spektrum AIR * Castle Creations * Futaba 4PK * * Tamiya 103RM * BAJA5ss * Losi 8B/TE 2.0 * Lots o' Planes
rajS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 03:03 PM   #386
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

any help?

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 08:30 PM   #387
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Joe Ford
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunktothenutz
Hi,
I have the mamba max 7700 combo,and am very happy with it,apart from when i start to rev it ,as i move the throttle from start,it starts smooth then jumps up to more revs,so the throttle response is not smooth.I have tried adjustments on my handset ,Futaba 3VC,and on the esc,also through the computer,but still cannot smooth out the throttle response....any idea,s??

Thanks,simon
99% of the time this is the transmitter. ESC's are slaves to the receiver/transmitter. They only do what they're told. We can adjust this in the software, but if you're using a linear throttle curve on the tab in the CL software, you've got the most linear throttle we can possibly provide. 2048 steps in the band...what Futaba's $2,000 14 channel, touchscreen aircraft transmitter uses.

Remove the gold connectors from the equation, and double check you're pack. If you can, swap out components...either put the motor on another ESC or the ESC on another motor. If one of them ends up being the problem print out a copy of my post and send it in. We'll take care of you.
__________________
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations
Joe Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 12:08 PM   #388
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 97
Default

Hi Joe,
Thanks for the reply.............you were right!!!!!........it was my transmitter!
made a few adjustments and its great!!

Thanks again,Simon.
sunktothenutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:14 PM   #389
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Just ordered my 6900 motor and hope to try it out next weekend.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:54 PM   #390
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

bought a 5700 motor. and it runs like clockwork. not sure if there's anythin wrong w/the 7700 or that its too much of a juice hit. not sure. but...for now, things appear normal finally. work hard all wk, its nice to come home and run a pack around the yard to blow off some stress.

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:27 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net