R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2007, 04:41 PM   #286
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Update for sensored motors?
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 05:29 AM   #287
Regional Moderator
 
rajS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manila, PI
Posts: 1,287
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rajS
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd
Pics of my touring car setup with Mamba Max setup for brushed high power setup. I could of jumped the three wires going to the negative but I didn't do that just because if I go brushless I have all my wires ready to just solder to the motor. Lazy I guess.
Wyd,

Looks good How do you compare the performance of the mamba with your previous "brushed" ESC?
__________________
...Living the RC Lifestyle since '85... :)
Team Associated * A123 * Spektrum AIR * Castle Creations * Futaba 4PK * * Tamiya 103RM * BAJA5ss * Losi 8B/TE 2.0 * Lots o' Planes
rajS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 06:14 AM   #288
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rajS
Wyd,

Looks good How do you compare the performance of the mamba with your previous "brushed" ESC?
To be honest it works just as we4ll as my Keyence Zero Extreme and my Hara Twister. Main difference other than it is a little bigger is it is easily programable thru the computer and it runs brushed /brushless.

The power and overall feel on the track is excellent for me. This is my first time with a speedo that can run both types of motors. I do like the adjustablity thru the computer. I have an old laptop that I can use at the track to really work with the settings if need be. Once I had it set though I didn't actually need to change it at the track, I just experimented.

Now when I use a brushless motor I will be experimenting alot more with different settings to learn how they affect the brushless side...........I'm experianced with the brushed side but brushless will be totally new for me this year.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 03:58 PM   #289
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Crash.. Ya got PM
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:01 AM   #290
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lancashire, England
Posts: 123
Send a message via MSN to Apexs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRASH
Jimmy,

If you between a 9 and 10 turn then you will want to go with either our 5700 or 6900 series.

I am currently running a 6900 in my XXX4-G+ and it has plenty of power.

I would say our 5700 is equal to the Novak 5.5 and that are 6900 is equal to their 4.5.

Hope this helps.
my 5700 seems slow compared to my friends Novak 5.5 im using default settings atm i will have a play
Apexs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:02 AM   #291
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apexs
my 5700 seems slow compared to my friends Novak 5.5 im using default settings atm i will have a play
You can most likely gear it up..the Mamba can push a lot.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:29 AM   #292
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Hey Mike you run the new 6900 yet or ar you using the big stick 7700. Looking for the ORL2 series for the summer and think the 6900 should be plenty for me and the tracks we will run on.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:36 AM   #293
Regional Moderator
 
rajS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: manila, PI
Posts: 1,287
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rajS
Default ballpark figure

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcracingkid
You can most likely gear it up..the Mamba can push a lot.
Mike,

I would like to ask what your final drive ratio is using your mamba 6900-preferably on a large track. I am trying to get a ballpark figure on gearing both the 5700 and 6900.

Thanks in advance



****

Anybody running sedans, please feel free to post some data.

__________________
...Living the RC Lifestyle since '85... :)
Team Associated * A123 * Spektrum AIR * Castle Creations * Futaba 4PK * * Tamiya 103RM * BAJA5ss * Losi 8B/TE 2.0 * Lots o' Planes
rajS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:22 PM   #294
Tech Fanatic
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Trying to contact Castle since yesterday afternoon. Left a VM last night and an email as well. Called all day today and only got the recording to leave a message.

I tried to update to 1.09 and it crashed. Now nothing will recognize the ESC. Widows says it's unrecognized and Castle Link doesn't acknowledge it's even plugged in.

After the 1.09 failure, I was able to tell it to roll back to 1.07 and it started that process and then shut the controller down and it never came back.

I'm going to have to run brushed now for an endurance race on Saturday and I'm guessing I have to send this one into Castle. Since I can't get anyone on the phone, how can I get an RMA ASAP since the East Coast Series starts in 2 weeks and I'd like to get this fixed?

Crash: Please email me or call me? carl @ ccrjsc.com and my phone # is on the VM from last night.

Thanks!
__________________
Carl Fisher
Team Xtreme RC
The Grove Racing Center
gndprx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:36 PM   #295
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Carl, does the ESC still work in the car? You said it won't communicate with the computer properly, but I can't tell if it will still power a motor properly.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:38 PM   #296
Tech Fanatic
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Unfortunately no. When you turn it on in the car, a solid green light comes on and it never initializes. Normally it would "chirp" the motor.

I expected to have to reset my end points and at worst program manually, but nothing is acknowledging at all.

Is there a way to more or less factory reset this without having to send it in?
__________________
Carl Fisher
Team Xtreme RC
The Grove Racing Center
gndprx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 05:33 PM   #297
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It sounds hooped.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 05:42 PM   #298
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Carl
Try two things.. Remove the CC programme off your PC and All Hiden Files firstly Then re-install the programme. This should fix that problem. Also Just do a simple manual setting on the ESC and everything should power up again as normal.

This has happened to me and both these fixes have solved the problem..Also recheck all connections on your ride as well

-Tony

Quote:
Originally Posted by gndprx
Unfortunately no. When you turn it on in the car, a solid green light comes on and it never initializes. Normally it would "chirp" the motor.

I expected to have to reset my end points and at worst program manually, but nothing is acknowledging at all.

Is there a way to more or less factory reset this without having to send it in?
__________________
Do you won't free Post on your items, PLEASE contact AUSTRALIA POST to confirm your eligibility and enter your code number here. Otherwise standard rates apply. Why don't people haggle or complain with o/s postage but always want local postage for free or moan like their left hand was cut-off, Come on guys Aus post do have set costs , it isn't the seller trying to rip you off.Items must be sold. All reasonable offers considered
addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 06:10 PM   #299
Tech Fanatic
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I've already tried starting over with 1.0 and then up to 2.22 software on a computer that has never had the software installed...same result.

As far as programming manually, if I keep the trigger pulled when I turn it on, it never even acknowledges that, so it's ignoring those inputs as well
__________________
Carl Fisher
Team Xtreme RC
The Grove Racing Center
gndprx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:22 PM   #300
jaz
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I had the hardest time getting the software to work at first. I have a desktop and a laptop. The software installed fine on my desktop but wouldn't recognize the ESC nomatter what I did, and I'm an IT director so I know what I'm doing with troubleshooting computers. When i installed the software on my laptop, it worked perfectly. The only thing I could come up with was maybe I had a Windows update on one of the PCs that never got applied to the second. This was all running on Windows XP Professional.


So my suggestion is maybe do a Windows update and make sure your computer is up to date. Other than that, I have no clue.
jaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net