R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2012, 11:10 AM   #2341
Tech Regular
 
IH8VTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WLV, CA
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default mmp sudden acceleration

I saw the question asked earlier but couldn't find any info on it.

When accelerating slowly and driving around slowly with a MMP/3800 4 pole combo there is a little boost that kicks in. The vehicle jumps from lets say 1mph to 2mph. This isn't a huge amount of speed but it is annoying and sometimes troublesome. When I am going that slow it's usually because I'm navigating in tight quarters or around obstacles. I went through all the settings and didn't find anything that helped. I updated to the latest beta firmware and back to the last non beta. no luck. Any suggestions? It's gotta be something easy I'm over looking. Thanks for any help!
__________________
HPI RS4 PRO1, HPI RS4 Rally
HPI Super Nitro Rally, WR8 3.0 flux Abu Dhabi
HPI Savage X SS, X SS FLUX, ERCM LRP, xs ss
HPI RS4 micro, Losi Mini SCT
AE SC10 FT, SC10 4x4 FT, Axial Exo Terra
IH8VTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:17 AM   #2342
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Mamba monster esc

Hey guys new to the forum I was wondering if any one has soldered motor wires to the inside of the cups on the mm esc, the reason I ask is this is thesecocond time in a main that one of my wires popped out. Also does it void warranty?
Slimshamis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:19 AM   #2343
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IH8VTEC View Post
I saw the question asked earlier but couldn't find any info on it.

When accelerating slowly and driving around slowly with a MMP/3800 4 pole combo there is a little boost that kicks in. The vehicle jumps from lets say 1mph to 2mph. This isn't a huge amount of speed but it is annoying and sometimes troublesome. When I am going that slow it's usually because I'm navigating in tight quarters or around obstacles. I went through all the settings and didn't find anything that helped. I updated to the latest beta firmware and back to the last non beta. no luck. Any suggestions? It's gotta be something easy I'm over looking. Thanks for any help!
I'm pretty sure that's were a sensored system comes into play with a non sensored system you get that with a sensored system all that goes away hope this helps
Slimshamis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 02:15 PM   #2344
Tech Regular
 
IH8VTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WLV, CA
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimshamis View Post
I'm pretty sure that's were a sensored system comes into play with a non sensored system you get that with a sensored system all that goes away hope this helps
I've never run any sensored systems. My frame of reference is the Castle SCT/3800kv and SV2/3800kv/4600kv combos in my rally and touring cars. While they may not be the smoothest it is nowhere near this bad.

I did notice I had a flashing yellow light on the controller at neutral. Could either mean C.H.E.A.T. on or a problem with the controller.

I went to firmware version 1.25 beta. That stopped the light issue and toned way down the slow speed jump. I went as low as v1.24, it was the same. V1.26 is not beta and the lurch starts there as does the blinking yellow.
__________________
HPI RS4 PRO1, HPI RS4 Rally
HPI Super Nitro Rally, WR8 3.0 flux Abu Dhabi
HPI Savage X SS, X SS FLUX, ERCM LRP, xs ss
HPI RS4 micro, Losi Mini SCT
AE SC10 FT, SC10 4x4 FT, Axial Exo Terra
IH8VTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:33 PM   #2345
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Low_E
Default

Chaps, can someone explain why and if it is possible and / or advisable or not to run a sensored brushless motor without the sensor-cable with my sidewinder sv2
Thx in advance
__________________
thou shall think twice or trice before hitting thee SEND-button
Low_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:27 PM   #2346
Tech Rookie
 
rcdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

hi, yes its fine to use a sensored motor with sensorless esc , it just wont be as smooth at very low speed, it may seem a bit 'coggy' ,
have fun
rcdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:48 PM   #2347
Tech Rookie
 
rcdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

hi guys, i really NEED your help, i recently got a sidewinder sv2 , done about 10 runs, 3 times i have had the esc shut down and beep with a flashing yellow LED, how do i stop this happening??
i have tried 8 spektrum sr3100 receivers , 3 motors, 15.5t 8.5t 7.5t , and 3 li-po packs , still the esc does the shut down thing , its odd as i can get a full run and its fine then in the next run it does it again , very random but i do really need this fixed or replaced, also noticed that i cant seem to find the UK distributer ? anyone know who takes care of castle stuff in the UK???
thanks
rcdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:24 PM   #2348
Tech Rookie
 
rcdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

its ok folks, finally found the uk distributer 'logic rc' , they want it back to test and check data log , lets hope they can find me a solution or i will forever be the guy that DNF's ,thanks to castle creations for not answering any of my emails and lack of support!!
rcdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:32 PM   #2349
Tech Adept
 
redbarton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdriven View Post
hi guys, i really NEED your help, i recently got a sidewinder sv2 , done about 10 runs, 3 times i have had the esc shut down and beep with a flashing yellow LED, how do i stop this happening??
i have tried 8 spektrum sr3100 receivers , 3 motors, 15.5t 8.5t 7.5t , and 3 li-po packs , still the esc does the shut down thing , its odd as i can get a full run and its fine then in the next run it does it again , very random but i do really need this fixed or replaced, also noticed that i cant seem to find the UK distributer ? anyone know who takes care of castle stuff in the UK???
thanks
Are you using a power hungry digital servo with the Sidewinder? Spektrum receivers are known for browning out when used with digital servos and ESC's with 2A (or less) internal BEC's.
redbarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:18 PM   #2350
Tech Rookie
 
rcdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

thanks to Dan at castle for getting back to me, its much appreciated!!
@RED , thanks for the reponse , i am using a very fast but cheap and efficient digital servo , i have also tried a few old futaba 3003 s148 servo's , i dont think its that but i have been asked by the UK agent to return it ,they are going to check the data log , fingers crossed that it isnt going into thermal shut down with a mild 8.5 with 2s in a 2wd buggy ! my 60a hobby wing gets luke warm with this set up and i was under the impression that the Sv2 was way more robust than the HW.
best regs
rcdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:44 PM   #2351
Tech Adept
 
redbarton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

@rcdriven...before you go through all that hassle, try it out with a non-digital servo. Browning-out Spektrum receivers is VERY common. I had a similar issue with my Mamba Max Pro and a Savox digital servo. A glitch buster helped a little, but I finally added a Castle 10A BEC to totally correct the problem. I had other issues with Spektrum. So, I recently switched to Airtronics. A glitch buster was still necessary, but the issue was much less noticeable using Airtronics RX's.
redbarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:54 AM   #2352
Tech Rookie
 
rcdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

thanks again RED , as i mentioned i have tried a few old analogue futaba servos , still did it, it wasnt the receiver , the 2wd buggy with pretty forgiving servo saver means that there is very little load stress from steering ,
HUGE THANKS to logic rc(dealt with Stewart, top man) and Castle creations (dealt with Dan another top man) , replacement ESC received with a little tab on the control cable saying 'new stock'! , will be out with it this afternoon to do a bit of practice with a few mates ,
thanks again fella's
rcdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:22 AM   #2353
Tech Rookie
 
rcdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Default

just did my first 8 minute run with the new ESC, geared 7.5-1 , everything on the ESC was at full power , ESC and motor are luke warm compared to hot with the last ESC , huge improvement , zoooom!
rcdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 11:43 PM   #2354
Tech Regular
 
nofxnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 352
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Deleted
__________________
Current: 2x HB D8E Hara Tekno V4 Tekin RX8 T8 1900 4S - HB D8 Hara Tekno LCG O.S XZB Speed - HB D8T Tekno V4 Tekin RX8 T8 2000 4S - Blade Nano CPX
Past: HPI Vorza - HPI Savage - HB Cyclone TC Andy Moore Edition - AE TC3 LRP Carbon - Walkera V120DO2S

Last edited by nofxnz; 01-08-2013 at 04:41 PM.
nofxnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:36 PM   #2355
Tech Regular
 
Blown up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ma.
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

someone here may kno what my MMM 2200 is doing in a MP777 RCPD spektrum 6090 w/bec set @7.4, I've been running 1/10 sensored indoor but decided to break out the 1/8 to run indoor and I know it's not sensored but it seems to Break Up or Stutter if u kno what I mean. It's not like a bec/rx cut out. It hesitates or breaks up mid to wo throttle. gearing is 13-46 and I tried it w/3 different 4s packs. The last time I ran my RC8Te outdoor this summer I think it was doing the same thing,obviously 2 different CC systems. It's driving me nutz!
__________________
XB4 RSpro/LRP 7.5 JR9000s, SCTE 2.0 RX8/Pro46 DS1015, SC10.2 RS/D3.5 17.5 DS1015,
Blown up is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net